MozillaZine

Firefox v56 Refresh/Stop Button

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
johnpd
 
Posts: 26
Joined: November 1st, 2004, 8:06 pm

Post Posted November 6th, 2017, 5:18 am

I noticed something very strange occurring which I have never seen before. I recently upgraded to v56.0.2. When I go to some web pages and the page appears to completely load, I see the "x" "stop loading indicator" on the address bar instead of the circular arrow indicating to refresh the page. It stays that way. It also causes all the other pages I have open to display the same issue even though they may have displayed the proper reload page indicator previously. Even if I close the page that initially caused the problem, the other pages still display the "x". Another system that I have which has FF 54.0.1 installed does not exhibit this issue. Any suggestions?

JohnD

Reflective

User avatar
 
Posts: 2201
Joined: February 15th, 2007, 11:13 am

Post Posted November 7th, 2017, 6:17 am

Clear cache and cookies for the site(s) which exhibit that behaviour.

Happy112

User avatar
 
Posts: 409
Joined: April 15th, 2017, 10:25 am
Location: Never-Never-Land

Post Posted November 7th, 2017, 9:03 am

Just in case the above doesn't do the trick, would you try this and see if maybe one of your extensions (if you have any) is the culprit :

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/tr ... -safe-mode
You can keep your diamonds - they're just shiny stones; love is the only precious thing and doesn't cost a dime.

johnpd
 
Posts: 26
Joined: November 1st, 2004, 8:06 pm

Post Posted November 8th, 2017, 1:35 am

I tried both methods and it did not make any difference. It does primarily seem to occur on one site: "tenforums.com" only under certain circumstances. If I start in the primary forums page, then select one of the forums in a "new tab", then select one of the threads in another "new tab", it will occur. If I do the same process while remaining in the original tab, it works ok and will continue ok. If I close all the related tenforums tabs, and repeat the multiple tab process, I get the problem again. So it appears to be related to starting up in a series of new tabs. Very strange.

JohnD

Happy112

User avatar
 
Posts: 409
Joined: April 15th, 2017, 10:25 am
Location: Never-Never-Land

Post Posted November 8th, 2017, 1:45 am

Have you tried posting this on their site (tenforums.com ) ?
You can keep your diamonds - they're just shiny stones; love is the only precious thing and doesn't cost a dime.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 117701
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted November 8th, 2017, 10:55 am

That site does have 57 HTML coding errors (as reported by the W3C Validator tool) as well as a larger number of CSS errors and warning conditions.

http://validator.w3.org/unicorn/check?u ... nformance#

johnpd
 
Posts: 26
Joined: November 1st, 2004, 8:06 pm

Post Posted November 11th, 2017, 12:04 am

I posted a message on tenforums.com. One person responded that he has seen a similar issue at that site as well as on some other sites. We both suspect an issue with FF v56.

JohnD

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 117701
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted November 11th, 2017, 5:05 am

Well, I can't test anything with that site right now as it seems to be down. That's confirmed by http://downforeveryoneorjustme.com

johnpd
 
Posts: 26
Joined: November 1st, 2004, 8:06 pm

Post Posted November 12th, 2017, 4:38 am

Another thing I noticed: The "x" appears on the new tab when I first move to it. However, before moving to the new tab, the current tab I am in is ok. Once I move to the new tab, its button displays the "x" and when I go back to any other open tab, they also now display the "x".

JohnD

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JonnyOne and 18 guests