MozillaZine

Firefox 57 - Remove icons from the bookmarks toolbar?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
flimbo
 
Posts: 34
Joined: April 29th, 2011, 4:43 am

Post Posted November 15th, 2017, 12:57 am

Just upgraded to FF57.
Use to rely on Roomy Bookmarks toolbar but this doesn't work with the new FF57.
Is there any way to remove the icons/favicons from my bookmarks toolbar so I'm just left with the text?
Thanks.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38454
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted November 15th, 2017, 2:23 am

Hi,
As I haven't installed v57 yet, all I can say is...(These are in v56.)
Try the "Customize" UI & look at the bottom left for the option buttons.
You should be able to select "Text only."
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

flimbo
 
Posts: 34
Joined: April 29th, 2011, 4:43 am

Post Posted November 15th, 2017, 2:53 am

I cant see anything in the customise UI options that says "text only". There doesn't seem to be any options to customise the bookmarks toolbar.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38454
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted November 15th, 2017, 3:19 am

Sorry. Cannot assist any further.
Maybe wait for someone with V57 to come along?
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

tomatoshadow2

User avatar
 
Posts: 355
Joined: May 11th, 2017, 9:52 am

Post Posted November 15th, 2017, 3:52 am

You want to remove the favicons?

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38454
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted November 15th, 2017, 4:27 am

Apparently, the OP only needs the Text & nothing else.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

flimbo
 
Posts: 34
Joined: April 29th, 2011, 4:43 am

Post Posted November 15th, 2017, 5:28 am

Yep remove the favicons but keep the text.

flaneurb
 
Posts: 619
Joined: December 10th, 2011, 3:50 am

Post Posted November 15th, 2017, 5:30 am

cor-el's code posted in https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/quest ... wer-432466 works for me:
Code: Select all
@namespace url("http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul"); /* only needed once */

#personal-bookmarks .bookmark-item:not([container]) .toolbarbutton-icon{
display:none!important;
}

flimbo
 
Posts: 34
Joined: April 29th, 2011, 4:43 am

Post Posted November 15th, 2017, 8:28 am

cor-el's code doesn't work.
That thread is 4 years old, should that still work in FF57?

flaneurb
 
Posts: 619
Joined: December 10th, 2011, 3:50 am

Post Posted November 15th, 2017, 8:37 am

It works for me. That's why I posted it.

Does your code look like this?
Code: Select all
@namespace xul url(http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul);

@-moz-document url(chrome://browser/content/browser.xul){
#personal-bookmarks .bookmark-item:not([container]) .toolbarbutton-icon { display: none !important; }
}

flimbo
 
Posts: 34
Joined: April 29th, 2011, 4:43 am

Post Posted November 15th, 2017, 8:41 am

Sorry, just tried some more and got it working.
I had trouble creating a userChrome.css file from scratch. Now it's recognised as a .css file and not a .txt file.
Many thanks for the help! Brilliant.

Ed1
 
Posts: 914
Joined: January 30th, 2005, 2:33 pm

Post Posted November 15th, 2017, 11:34 am

How would I remove the Text from Bookmark Toolbar items, leaving only the Icons showing (with the tooltip still providing the text on mouseover)?

Thanks.

Ed1
 
Posts: 914
Joined: January 30th, 2005, 2:33 pm

Post Posted November 15th, 2017, 11:49 am

flimbo wrote:Sorry, just tried some more and got it working.
I had trouble creating a userChrome.css file from scratch. Now it's recognised as a .css file and not a .txt file.
Many thanks for the help! Brilliant.



flimbo, how did you save the Notepad .txt file to the .css format? I can't seem to get it to work.

flimbo
 
Posts: 34
Joined: April 29th, 2011, 4:43 am

Post Posted November 15th, 2017, 11:51 am

I pasted the code into wordpad and saved it as a plain text file named userChrome.css
Notepad didn't work for me.

Ed1
 
Posts: 914
Joined: January 30th, 2005, 2:33 pm

Post Posted November 15th, 2017, 12:03 pm

Thanks, flimbo. I figured out another way to do it. After file was saved as a text file by Notepad, I opened Windows Explorer, made sure to uncheck Hide File Suffix for Known File Types in Windows Explorer settings. Then within Windows Explorer, I was able to change the file name by deleting the .txt suffix, leaving only userChrome.css. That worked.

Also, to display Icons only, in that code just change the word "icon" to "text". I'm trying to get back what Roomy Bookmarks Toolbar gave me - a toolbar with just icons and, hopefully, multiple rows. I'll post separately for that.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 15 guests