No SourceURL with drop Fragment

Talk about add-ons and extension development.
Post Reply
jimekus
Posts: 2
Joined: November 18th, 2017, 12:24 pm

No SourceURL with drop Fragment

Post by jimekus »

My software schedules the scrapping of effective text and monitors for duplicates from numerous websites before pasting articles to TextAloud. When my startup macros DragDrop a small fragment from the Quantum browser to my software I previously got the actual SourceURL. The actual extraction of the fragment's data is:-

Site = StrConv(data.GetData(RegisterClipboardFormat("HTML Format")), vbUnicode)

All I get now is:-
SourceURL:chrome://browser/content/browser.xul

In fact this may not be a bug at all and just another in a long list of speed gains by wholesale deprications in which case i must investigate a lot of other browsers to find one that supports this function. Edge certainly doesn't as it doesn't have a drop pointer to see where it should go.

I can't use Firefox Quantum because of this.

What I get with Quantum is : -

Version:0.9
StartHTML:00000145
EndHTML:00000232
StartFragment:00000179
EndFragment:00000196
SourceURL:chrome://browser/content/browser.xul
<html><body>
<!--StartFragment-->November 16, 2017<!--EndFragment-->
</body>
</html>

What I used to get with 56.0.2 is:-

Version:0.9
StartHTML:00000147
EndHTML:00000234
StartFragment:00000181
EndFragment:00000198
SourceURL:https://www.counterpunch.org/articles/
<html><body>
<!--StartFragment-->November 16, 2017<!--EndFragment-->
</body>
</html>
Brummelchen
Posts: 4480
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Re: No SourceURL with drop Fragment

Post by Brummelchen »

no bug - its a feature.

now you experienced the trouble why some extensions authors dropped the towel because of webextensions.
extensions are not from mozilla - it falls to author himself to update his code - so you do.
https://developer.mozilla.org/
User avatar
DanRaisch
Moderator
Posts: 127185
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Re: No SourceURL with drop Fragment

Post by DanRaisch »

Moving to Extension Development where those with knowledge on the subject may be more likely to see this and respond.
morat
Posts: 6403
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Re: No SourceURL with drop Fragment

Post by morat »

I tested the copy feature with the InsideClipboard utility. It works correctly with Firefox 57.

http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/inside_clipboard.html

I guess the DragDrop feature uses different code.

Bug writing guidelines
http://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs ... guidelines
jimekus
Posts: 2
Joined: November 18th, 2017, 12:24 pm

Re: No SourceURL with drop Fragment

Post by jimekus »

morat wrote:I tested the copy feature with the InsideClipboard utility. It works correctly with Firefox 57.

http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/inside_clipboard.html

I guess the DragDrop feature uses different code.

Bug writing guidelines
http://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs ... guidelines
Windows Defender blocks InsideClipboard.exe as a threat. After getting it running there's no way to drag and drop the selection. You may have some classic extension or plugin that I don't to enable the OLE Drag Drop function. I already figured it may not be a bug at all and just another in a long list of speed gains by wholesale deprications, Yesterday i investigated a lot of other browsers and found Chrome supports my needed function. I've programmed around Mosaic to Netscape to Firefox. I'm sorry, but now it's time to say, "Goodbye".
Post Reply