MozillaZine

legacy add-ons

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
zivshosh
 
Posts: 38
Joined: December 28th, 2011, 7:16 am

Post Posted December 3rd, 2017, 9:01 am

Greetings
Still working with Firefox 56, refusing to update.
If ReminderFox and RoboForm are marked as Legacy, will they work on Firefox 57?
thank you
Ziv

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20041
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted December 3rd, 2017, 9:03 am

zivshosh wrote:If ReminderFox and RoboForm are marked as Legacy, will they work on Firefox 57?

No.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

zivshosh
 
Posts: 38
Joined: December 28th, 2011, 7:16 am

Post Posted December 3rd, 2017, 9:06 am

Frank Lion wrote:
zivshosh wrote:If ReminderFox and RoboForm are marked as Legacy, will they work on Firefox 57?

No.


thanks for your very quick reply
I'll wait

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 119930
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted December 3rd, 2017, 9:24 am

You may have to wait a very, very long time. Some legacy extensions will never make it to version 57 because they required elements that were removed from the base code of the program.

morat
 
Posts: 2762
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted December 3rd, 2017, 9:48 am

Isn't RoboForm compatible with Firefox 57? The classic site says it's compatible.

http://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/roboform/
http://help.roboform.com/hc/en-us/articles/115000413812

Alfred Neuman

User avatar
 
Posts: 1926
Joined: January 19th, 2005, 10:52 am

Post Posted December 3rd, 2017, 10:40 am

If you use Thunderbird, ReminderFox works with it. That's what I did.
Do you often feel that you must be from another planet, or wish you were?

Vitesse
 
Posts: 1237
Joined: April 21st, 2011, 6:03 pm

Post Posted December 3rd, 2017, 10:54 am

Reminderfox is dead as far as Firefox is concerned. They announced that back in January. So in due course it may disappear completely.

wirefox

User avatar
 
Posts: 65
Joined: November 29th, 2002, 12:51 pm
Location: Canada

Post Posted December 7th, 2017, 4:58 am

morat wrote:Isn't RoboForm compatible with Firefox 57? The classic site says it's compatible.

http://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/roboform/
http://help.roboform.com/hc/en-us/articles/115000413812
Yes it's working fine here
THE STONES

spilparc

User avatar
 
Posts: 195
Joined: January 3rd, 2006, 4:31 pm

Post Posted December 8th, 2017, 12:53 am

How can you switch back to version 56?

Energise

User avatar
 
Posts: 274
Joined: January 4th, 2008, 3:11 pm
Location: Suffolk, UK

Post Posted December 9th, 2017, 2:50 pm

Hi spilparc

I've temporarily gone back to v56 because of not being able to use ReminderFox but I have just moved it over to Thunderbird so I'm hoping it will work in a very similar way to how it did in Firefox 56. If so, then I can go on to v57 again.

I got v56 from this link, although I can only see v55 on it now. Don't forget to switch off automatic updating otherwise you'll get v57 back again by tomorrow ;)

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/in ... of-firefox

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20041
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted December 9th, 2017, 3:20 pm

Energise wrote:I got v56 from this link, although I can only see v55 on it now.

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/in ... of-firefox

?

- the link links to - https://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/

How can you only see v55 there?
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 43495
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted December 9th, 2017, 3:43 pm

There Are None So Blind
As Those Who Will Not See
:P
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27356
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted December 9th, 2017, 11:31 pm

Energise wrote:I got v56 from this link, although I can only see v55 on it now. Don't forget to switch off automatic updating otherwise you'll get v57 back again by tomorrow ;)

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/in ... of-firefox

In below the "I still want to downgrade — where can I get the previous version?" part of article it links to previous version if you are using Firefox. If you view the article with a Firefox 56 useragent (say Fx 56.0.2) it will give you a link to 55.0.3 en-US version. There is still the https://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/firefox/releases/ below this link.

You can also look on left in editing tools panel to customize article for a Firefox version and OS.

Energise

User avatar
 
Posts: 274
Joined: January 4th, 2008, 3:11 pm
Location: Suffolk, UK

Post Posted December 10th, 2017, 4:34 am

Thanks so much, James

I couldn't understand why, when I went back to the link, I could only see v55 and not v56. I've just checked the link from my laptop, which has v57 and now understand what you are saying.

Have found where to customize the article too :)

Thanks very much for the explanation.

... and I'm still not sure what Frank Lion and Malliz are inferring ;) but I'll not worry about it :)

spilparc

User avatar
 
Posts: 195
Joined: January 3rd, 2006, 4:31 pm

Post Posted December 12th, 2017, 8:58 pm

Energise wrote:Hi spilparc

I've temporarily gone back to v56 because of not being able to use ReminderFox but I have just moved it over to Thunderbird so I'm hoping it will work in a very similar way to how it did in Firefox 56. If so, then I can go on to v57 again.

I got v56 from this link, although I can only see v55 on it now. Don't forget to switch off automatic updating otherwise you'll get v57 back again by tomorrow ;)

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/in ... of-firefox
On my second computer I disabled upgrades for Firefox. Rebooted. Lo and behold it upgraded to Quantum without even asking me.

Return to Firefox General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: derekhunter and 1 guest