[Ext] PrefBar - The all in one button container

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
Post Reply
morat
Posts: 6404
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Re: [Ext] PrefBar - The all in one button container

Post by morat »

Did the nsILocalFile interface and nsIFilePicker.show() also get removed in Fx 57? I noticed other devs patching these.
dickvl wrote:removing one character
You can also fix it like so...

Code: Select all

var PrefBranch = Components.classes["@mozilla.org/preferences-service;1"]
  .getService(Components.interfaces.nsIPrefBranch2 || Components.interfaces.nsIPrefBranch);

Code: Select all

var executable = Components.classes["@mozilla.org/file/local;1"]
  .createInstance(Components.interfaces.nsILocalFile || Components.interfaces.nsIFile);
Removal of nsILocalFile and other interfaces
http://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/ ... bQIuLNv_2s

Alternatives...

I can still use the mozilla.cfg file in Fx Beta 57.

Example: http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic ... #p14752460

Infocatcher got the Custom Buttons extension working in Fx Nightly 57.

http://custombuttons.sourceforge.net/fo ... 3&start=40
http://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/user/Infocatcher/

I didn't test the extension in Fx Nightly 57. I can't get extensions installed in Fx Beta 57.

Foxy Gestures is a WebExtension. It can execute user scripts.

http://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/addon/foxy-gestures/
http://github.com/marklieberman/foxygestures
http://github.com/marklieberman/foxyges ... er-Scripts

Examples: http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic ... &t=3033676

Foxy Gestures only has a few permissions.

http://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/Add- ... PI/cookies
http://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/Add- ... /downloads
http://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/Add- ... I/sessions
http://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/Add- ... PI/storage
http://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/Add- ... s/API/tabs

Foxy Gestures has no host permissions so I can't use methods like the following. I can't inject css into all frames without host permissions.

http://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/Add- ... VisibleTab
http://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/Add- ... cuteScript
http://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/Add- ... /insertCSS

I hope someone creates a similar extension for buttons inside the browser action popup.
cabriolet2
Posts: 26
Joined: June 5th, 2013, 11:55 am

Re: [Ext] PrefBar - The all in one button container

Post by cabriolet2 »

First of all thank you. I only use Colors, Fonts, Min. Font Size. There are millions of us that can't look at bright-white backgrounds for more than a few seconds because it hurts the eyes. So I set my own font & color, but some pages are not usable without color. FF settings are there but many clicks away, so this is a one-click toggle, without it FF is useless for me.

As for alternatives, they've all stopped working. Prefbar works in FF 56.0 since your last update, after that I'm putting FF on Ignore in Update Manager.
M-Reimer
Posts: 76
Joined: July 2nd, 2013, 4:29 am

Re: [Ext] PrefBar - The all in one button container

Post by M-Reimer »

I've created an addon to replace this feature:
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... itecolors/
The possibility to change the colors is already available on my GIT repo.
So far this is fixed to "default disabled", but actually it would be pretty easy to make this a choice in the settings page to modify all website colors by default and disable this effect if needed...
cabriolet2
Posts: 26
Joined: June 5th, 2013, 11:55 am

Re: [Ext] PrefBar - The all in one button container

Post by cabriolet2 »

Toolbar buttons are the most convenient. I've moved Prefbar widget to the menu bar so it looks like this, always visible & accessible with a single click:

File Edit View History Bookmarks Tools Help | [ ] Colors [ ] Fonts [v] Min Font Size

I'm surprised that FF devs don't understand basic usability/accessibility in app design. Instead they're just copying Chrome and adding more useless bling. All apps must comply with users' OS global settings. Who wants to look at bright white backgrounds with tiny unreadable fonts and ugly colors? All my tabs have the same background & font of MY choice, I'm interested in page content, not some web designer's idea of art. Thanks again.
M-Reimer
Posts: 76
Joined: July 2nd, 2013, 4:29 am

Re: [Ext] PrefBar - The all in one button container

Post by M-Reimer »

It wouldn't be that difficult to add an (optional) toolbar button to the "Toggle Website Colors" Addon. I'll have a look at this.
rocco.xyz
Posts: 31
Joined: December 28th, 2015, 10:54 pm

Re: [Ext] PrefBar - The all in one button container

Post by rocco.xyz »

Hi friends
Could you help me create two buttons for the PrefBar? [-o< one to show the window "Exceptions..." and another one for the window "Saved Logins...", those that are in "about: preferences#security" honestly I have no idea how to create this type of buttons... I could barely create some checkboxes for some options of "about: config"... :oops:
I would also like to know if it is possible to create a checkbox to toggle activate/deactivate an extension, specifically: uBlock Origin (it is restartless)
I know that extension has a huge button to "disable on this site" but in some web pages Firefox becomes "unresponsive" and it is impossible for me to disable uBlock for that site at that moment (and I am forced to kill the process with Win+R "cmd /k taskkill /f /im "Firefox.exe"), so I would like to try if disabling it "from the root" (before the page load) Firefox feels more stable.
Im using Firefox 55.0.3 x64 and PrefBar 7.1.1.
Thanks in advance. :)
M-Reimer
Posts: 76
Joined: July 2nd, 2013, 4:29 am

Re: [Ext] PrefBar - The all in one button container

Post by M-Reimer »

The "windows" inside the preferences page are no "windows". They are "overlays" that are embedded within this page. Even with PrefBar there is no way to open them separately.

And about you uBlock Origin problem: Maybe you should better file a bug for uBlock asking them for a "global disable" switch.

Just to update the current progress about migrating PrefBar to separate Addons: The "referrer toggle checkbox" is ported
https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/addo ... ereferrer/

Current progress:
http://prefbar.tuxfamily.org/migration.html
User avatar
dickvl
Posts: 54145
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Re: [Ext] PrefBar - The all in one button container

Post by dickvl »

You can consider to open these pages as their chrome URI via a bookmark.
Are exceptions the password exceptions?

chrome://browser/content/preferences/permissions.xul
chrome://passwordmgr/content/passwordManager.xul

Note that you can open a standalone window to show the passwords via "Tools -> Page Info -> Security", also accessible via the Control Center 'i' icon.
M-Reimer
Posts: 76
Joined: July 2nd, 2013, 4:29 am

Re: [Ext] PrefBar - The all in one button container

Post by M-Reimer »

To everyone who uses the "Toggle Website Colors" Addon.

With version 2.0 it is now possible to automatically disable colors on every new tab and to have a toolbar button for fast access. It is also possible to set your own colors.
cabriolet2
Posts: 26
Joined: June 5th, 2013, 11:55 am

Re: [Ext] PrefBar - The all in one button container

Post by cabriolet2 »

Can't you just toggle Firefox "Colors" setting, "Override the colors specified by the page with your selections above"?

When toggling FF global setting, images and other elements usually appear/disappear as well, which is desirable. But this only toggles bkg color.
M-Reimer
Posts: 76
Joined: July 2nd, 2013, 4:29 am

Re: [Ext] PrefBar - The all in one button container

Post by M-Reimer »

The Firefox setting can't be toggled by Addons.

And it is also not what I wanted to do with my small Addon. If I only want to fix one badly designed website, then I don't want to toggle something globally, which also affects all my other tabs.
cabriolet2
Posts: 26
Joined: June 5th, 2013, 11:55 am

Re: [Ext] PrefBar - The all in one button container

Post by cabriolet2 »

Thank you, I see. FF57 doesn't allow addons to modify settings for security reasons.

There must be some way to quickly toggle colors & fonts. Can the user toggle settings by using sed to edit prefs.js ?
M-Reimer
Posts: 76
Joined: July 2nd, 2013, 4:29 am

Re: [Ext] PrefBar - The all in one button container

Post by M-Reimer »

Even the chrome addon doesn't "disable" fonts by default.
The big problem is, that there may be fixed-pitch and proportional fonts on websites. I don't know of any way how to efficiently detect this to decide which font to use to override the webdesigner's choice.
If you force a font, then all looks the same and there is no difference between fixed-pitch and proportional.
The only reasonable way would probably be to just block loading of font files, but this won't disable font-changes between the fonts, installed on the local system.
cabriolet2
Posts: 26
Joined: June 5th, 2013, 11:55 am

Re: [Ext] PrefBar - The all in one button container

Post by cabriolet2 »

Yeah I can see that, thank you. Ctrl+ +/- will get a readable font size, though it's not persistent, so font is not a huge usability problem. Background color is a problem, as you have so diplomatically pointed out : )

Your "colors" addon solves the problem in pre-57 FF, it lets the user read page CONTENT without all the funky backgrounds (as I posted above on October 5th, 2017, 5:01 am). But it also may hide images & other elements, so the quick toggle in toolbar is perfect. So, back to FF56.
Post Reply