MozillaZine

surfingdefenderext + Must update to FF 57

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
petergo
 
Posts: 946
Joined: January 21st, 2005, 7:34 am

Post Posted December 24th, 2017, 1:46 am

hi
past few days when I open FF I am getting a new window opening, that I can't close without using the Task Manager, and ending FF.
I believe it is a false or maybe a virus, because I am sure Mozilla would not push or insist that I upgrade if I didn't want to and go so far that I can't close that window.
Irregardless how I try and close the window directly, clicking on the 'X' or resend or cancel just repeats the process.

I am running FF Ver 52.3.0 ESR, and win 10

I run Avast and Malwarebytes and Malwarebytes Antiexploit
I am going tun eSet next

any suggestions please
MERRY XMAS
peter

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3799
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted December 24th, 2017, 2:02 am

"surfingdefenderext" is complete unknown.
your trouble is coming from system or avast, or both. Malwarebytes is not locking.

btw there is no need for avast (free or paid) - use windows defender and all will be fine.

Vitesse
 
Posts: 1237
Joined: April 21st, 2011, 6:03 pm

Post Posted December 24th, 2017, 3:07 am

Smells nasty to me:

https://www.ipaddress.com/websites/surf ... derext.biz

If eSet doesn't clear it up, try adwcleaner:

https://www.malwarebytes.com/adwcleaner/

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3799
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted December 24th, 2017, 6:01 am

oh, its a domain with "other" purpose...

concerning "Must update to FF 57" in that matter - could be like this one:
https://www.camp-firefox.de/forum/viewt ... 8&t=121592
(look images)

those malicious sites wants you to update firefox and you were trapped in a loop whatever you do. this issue is solved with firefox 58. but eg uBlock as a decent ad+script-blocker is blocking such crap. ebay also had this problem because its advertisement (scripts) from partners they cannot control.

sorry for being wrong because your unclear description. avast nor malwarebytes cant help you out, you need a better ad/script-blocker.

petergo
 
Posts: 946
Joined: January 21st, 2005, 7:34 am

Post Posted December 24th, 2017, 6:19 am

g'day Vitesse

ran eSet, it found nothing
I then ran the adwcleaner, and it said it found no malicious tasks or entries, and it did not clean or delete anything

the strange thing also with this issue is it only happens once a day when I crank up FF in the morning
Once, I close it with the task Manager, I am good for the rest of the day

fingers crossed it doesn't return for Xmas <smiles>

thanks again, and best wishes for Xmas
peter

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19109
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted December 24th, 2017, 6:21 am

Do you still get it if you restart FF in Safe Mode?


(There is a coin miner out there that "hides" itself behind the Windows taskbar clock, but from what I heard it was only affecting Chrome?)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

petergo
 
Posts: 946
Joined: January 21st, 2005, 7:34 am

Post Posted December 24th, 2017, 6:27 am

Fortunately it appears that this pesky thingy only strikes once a day at the time I start FF each morning.
Once I shut it down with Task Manager, it does not reappear all day, irregardless how many FF windows I open , new tabs etc etc
I did not try to run Safe mode yet
thanks, cheers
peter

Reflective

User avatar
 
Posts: 2283
Joined: February 15th, 2007, 11:13 am

Post Posted December 24th, 2017, 2:32 pm

Can you post a screenshot of it? It might provide a clue as to what's causing it.

Don't upload the screenshot on the forum but rather to a free image hosting site such as imgbox.com for example and then post the link to it on here.

petergo
 
Posts: 946
Joined: January 21st, 2005, 7:34 am

Post Posted December 25th, 2017, 1:41 am

Merry Xmas

sadly, it resurfaced again this morning.
I'm sorry Mr reflective, but I shut FF down using Task Manager and forgot to do the screen shot thingy.
But it appears the Malwarebytes adwcleaner didn't work

what can I do next please?
thanks everyone, have a Happy, Healthy and safe Xmas
peter

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38423
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted December 25th, 2017, 1:55 am

Hi Peter,
Just an idea here...
You say that you're closing Firefox, BUT...
Are you shutting down your PC overnight, eg; when finished?
If so, then try that route now & see if the error occurs again.
Take a screen shot if it does.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

petergo
 
Posts: 946
Joined: January 21st, 2005, 7:34 am

Post Posted December 25th, 2017, 2:02 am

Mr.L
great to hear from you m8!
I have opened quite a few new browser windows and no problems., since it appeared first thing this morning
I can conclude with almost 100% certainty it only appears once a day, the first time I open up FF for the day.
After I shut down FF using the Task Manager, it does not reappear for the day
When I go to bed, I close everrything down and power of the computer.
Tomorrow morning I will remember to take a screenshot of the bugger before I forget and shut FF down
happy radio sailings and for 2018
peter

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38423
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted December 25th, 2017, 2:09 am

Hi Peter,
Could you not do a re-boot now, just as a test?

&...
D/L & install this free program from Sysinternals,
called Auto Runs.
> https://docs.microsoft.com/en-au/sysint ... s/autoruns

Please take a few minutes to read what it does & what to select to ignore.

Let it complete the 1st "Complete scan" & then select the "Logon" tab.
Anything that you do NOT recognize, just UN-Check the box.

Close it/everything down & re-boot your PC.
See if the beastie re-appears.

Don't forget the screen shot. :)
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

petergo
 
Posts: 946
Joined: January 21st, 2005, 7:34 am

Post Posted December 26th, 2017, 12:14 am

mr. L et al

this morning the pesky beastie has not appeared.
Thank you all for your effort and time helping me to resolve his issue.
In preparation for this morning, I spent a bit of time last night learning how todo the screen shot if needed, and uploading it ( well I'll be ready next time a screen shot is needed )
Mr. L, I tried that sysinternals, but beyond my paygrade, sorry
here's hoping that beastie never returns, anbd wish everyone a super 2018

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38423
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted December 26th, 2017, 2:11 am

Hi Peter,
Well, that's good to know that it did not show up on start-up.....this time.

I'd still recommend that you D/L that sysinternals "Auto Runs" free program & just see
what it does show you.
You do NOT have to change anything in there, just check each tab, especially that Logon one.

Anyway, I hope you have a great, safe New Year.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

petergo
 
Posts: 946
Joined: January 21st, 2005, 7:34 am

Post Posted December 27th, 2017, 4:01 pm

g'day Mr.L et al

drat!!
it happened again this morning, that pesky beastie thingy.
I did as you suggested and went through all the tabs on that program,only thing I thought was a bit fishy was some Avast thingy, but I was to chicken to do to much else as they were services etc etc that I never heard of and no idea what they do

what now sunshine
cheers
have u started celebrating, being 16 hours ahead of us <smiles>
peter

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], dazco and 12 guests