MozillaZine

2 Questions on Cache Size

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
killz
 
Posts: 86
Joined: August 6th, 2017, 6:49 pm

Post Posted December 29th, 2017, 9:01 pm

Got 2 questions on cache....

1) Whats the default value for the cache in v56?

2) What cache size is best for performance?

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3530
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted December 30th, 2017, 2:13 am

same as all - leave it untouched, firefox knows best!

>> Whats the best size for my cache for watching videos like YT with as little load times?

out of your reach, server depending. not in firefox cache.

come back, when using firefox
>> Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; WOW64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/64.0.3278.0 Safari/537.36 OPR/51.0.2809.0 (Edition developer)

killz
 
Posts: 86
Joined: August 6th, 2017, 6:49 pm

Post Posted December 30th, 2017, 3:26 pm

Brummelchen wrote:same as all - leave it untouched, firefox knows best!

>> Whats the best size for my cache for watching videos like YT with as little load times?

out of your reach, server depending. not in firefox cache.

come back, when using firefox
>> Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; WOW64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/64.0.3278.0 Safari/537.36 OPR/51.0.2809.0 (Edition developer)


I changed the cache size so I don't remember the default value. Do you know what it is so I can change it back?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 119765
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted December 30th, 2017, 3:28 pm

The default seems to be 350MB.

killz
 
Posts: 86
Joined: August 6th, 2017, 6:49 pm

Post Posted December 30th, 2017, 4:39 pm

DanRaisch wrote:The default seems to be 350MB.


Appreciate it. FF seems to be slowing down. I already cleared cache and cookies but it doesnt help. Is there a way to fix it?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 119765
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted December 30th, 2017, 5:20 pm

Have you tried starting Firefox in Mozilla Safe Mode? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode
If no improvement using Safe Mode, do you have the same problem if you create a new profile and test it with no extensions or non-default themes installed?
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_Manager
and
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Creating_a_ne ... on_Windows

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18805
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted December 31st, 2017, 7:03 am

What version of FF?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests