MozillaZine

Setting the home page

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
TDV
 
Posts: 151
Joined: January 27th, 2012, 4:37 pm

Post Posted December 26th, 2017, 3:22 pm

Hello

I have set my home page in 57.0.2 to: moz-extension://3fad268d-3f3e-4284-a660-d24bcb6d0cae/newtab.html

Why does it show an empty page instead when opening Firefox?

What else do I have to set?

Thanks

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52311
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted December 26th, 2017, 8:45 pm

A moz-extension:// link is used by extensions and newtab.html suggests that this is coming from a new tab related extension.

You can try to uninstall and reinstall this extension if it isn't working properly.
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_Mode

TDV
 
Posts: 151
Joined: January 27th, 2012, 4:37 pm

Post Posted December 28th, 2017, 6:53 pm

dickvl wrote:A moz-extension:// link is used by extensions and newtab.html suggests that this is coming from a new tab related extension.

You can try to uninstall and reinstall this extension if it isn't working properly.
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_Mode


Will it keep the settings of 20 websites I have on the Bookmark Dial site?

morat
 
Posts: 2535
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted December 28th, 2017, 8:18 pm

Omit.
Last edited by morat on December 30th, 2017, 4:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

Scribe_uk

User avatar
 
Posts: 32
Joined: April 15th, 2014, 9:16 am
Location: West London, England.

Post Posted December 29th, 2017, 7:05 am

Are you using New Tab Tools by any chance, because that happens to me occasionally. I find it opens normally once the '+' for a new tab has been clicked. There is an explanation by its developer here https://github.com/darktrojan/newtabtools/issues/365

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18202
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted December 29th, 2017, 7:30 am

A home page & the page that opens when you start FF need not be the same.
They could be.
Check your settings for your home page & separately for what FF does (loads) on program start.

Also check your desktop shortcut as that may have some bearing too.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

TDV
 
Posts: 151
Joined: January 27th, 2012, 4:37 pm

Post Posted December 29th, 2017, 7:36 pm

When I open Ff Options then „General“ appears.
Second item from the top is: When Firefox starts.
Chosen as option is: “Show your home page” with a big blue dot
NOT chosen is the second option: “Show a blank page”, which however it DOES show.

Below that is “Home Page” in fat print, and in the line is pasted:
moz-extension://3fad268d-3f3e-4284-a660-d24bcb6d0cae/newtab.html

and YES when clicking on the ‘+’ it goes to the wanted home page.

I suppose I will survive having to click twice, but I was wondering why….. So thank you all who tried to help

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52311
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted December 30th, 2017, 2:05 am

See also this pref on the about:config page:
extensions.webextensions.uuids

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18202
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted December 30th, 2017, 6:15 am

Go to about:support.
In the 'Extensions' section (I wonder why it's not named 'Addons' ;-)), what is the name of the extension that corresponds to "3fad268d-3f3e-4284-a660-d24bcb6d0cae"?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 118421
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted December 30th, 2017, 8:13 am

(I wonder why it's not named 'Addons'

That would probably be because it only lists installed extensions and not plug-ins (like Flash Player), which of which are both lumped together under the term "Addons".

TDV
 
Posts: 151
Joined: January 27th, 2012, 4:37 pm

Post Posted December 30th, 2017, 2:09 pm

Thank you, but I thought there is a simple mistake in my settings. I just click twice, it is less effort and my and your time wasting.....

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52311
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted December 30th, 2017, 11:52 pm

Since Firefox uses a random GUID to link to WebExtensions then this can easily get broken if you set the home page to a page provided by an extension because Firefox uses a pref to map the URI used by the extension and no longer uses the name of the extension like previously set via the manifest file.
You can open the new tab page in a tab and drag the tab to the toolbar Home button to restore the home page setting if it is broken.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests