MozillaZine

[Ext] Classic Theme Restorer (Fx29-56/Waterfox/Basilisk)

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
avada
 
Posts: 1789
Joined: February 10th, 2008, 6:30 am
Location: Hungary

Post Posted January 22nd, 2018, 10:46 am

Aris wrote:Sure, I just tried it in Fx56.

userChrome.css (browser ui)
Code: Select all
* {
   font-family: serif !important;
   font-size: 8px !important;
}


userContent.css (web content)
Code: Select all
* {
   font-family: cursive !important;
   font-size: 16px !important;
}


This however overwrites mono and proportional fonts with the same one. Firefox settings allow a distinction so that text that's supposed to be monospace will remain as such. (if you replace with a monospace font)

PS: Though it doesn't work everywhere. At least not here on mozillazine for some reason. (Maybe a website issue, or a case not covered by mozilla's implementation.)
But on all other websites I checked so far monospace (typically "code" text ) text is replaced to what I set in the FF settings for the monospace font.

max2
 
Posts: 247
Joined: September 17th, 2011, 5:37 pm

Post Posted January 24th, 2018, 1:31 am

Thanks Aris for trying to extend CSS code (I think it is called) to Firefox 57+ even though we know Classic Theme Restorer will never work with Firefox 57+

Sadly this forum in general has gone downhill.

Not so much this section but the other sections.

Mudder

User avatar
 
Posts: 43
Joined: July 7th, 2013, 4:14 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Posted January 25th, 2018, 2:38 am

Ok, got the v58 update and it did something weird to my Firefox by adding some kind of strange dividing line between the Menu bar and Navigation bar.

I can live with it if I can't change it, but did anyone else experience visual changes with the update to v58?

BEFORE & AFTER:
Image Image

Anybody got any ideas to restore it to 'before' ? Aris?
Remember, I'm still not too savvy on the userChrome.css .

EDIT: Had a look at my file and cripes I can't remember what I did back in November.
{I hate getting old}

Aris

User avatar
 
Posts: 3174
Joined: February 27th, 2011, 10:14 am

Post Posted January 25th, 2018, 3:38 am

Mudder wrote:Ok, got the v58 update and it did something weird to my Firefox by adding some kind of strange dividing line between the Menu bar and Navigation bar.

I can live with it if I can't change it, but did anyone else experience visual changes with the update to v58?

BEFORE & AFTER:
http://i66.tinypic.com/2zgf18y.jpg http://i66.tinypic.com/24oosxc.jpg

Anybody got any ideas to restore it to 'before' ? Aris?
Remember, I'm still not too savvy on the userChrome.css .

EDIT: Had a look at my file and cripes I can't remember what I did back in November.
{I hate getting old}



Try to add this code to userChrome.css:
Code: Select all
#nav-bar {
  box-shadow: unset !important;
  border: unset !important;
}

Mudder

User avatar
 
Posts: 43
Joined: July 7th, 2013, 4:14 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Posted January 26th, 2018, 3:00 am

Thanks Aris...
Location within the file seems important though. On the first attempt the line just got thinner when placed on top but when placed within the paragraph for the toolbar arrangement, it corrected.

First attempt:
Image
Second attempt:
Image
Though its a PITA when dealing with the portable apps,
as loading and re-loading seems to slow the browser down with increased
incidents of 'not responding' perhaps one day I'll do another save data and start fresh
with a new PA suite and new copies/profiles of the browsers etc then import the data
on new medium. To me, the weak link, even on the card reader is USB2 as opposed to running of a dedicated SSD, then just copy to a thumb drive when I go mobile.
However this incarnation of Fx also tells the user when the ISP or should I say the web site is causing the slowdown.
Again, Thank You.

Aris

User avatar
 
Posts: 3174
Joined: February 27th, 2011, 10:14 am

Post Posted January 26th, 2018, 10:18 am

If you are using code from CustomCSSforFx project, I suggest to "enable" Fx58 fixes present in the latest updates.
Mozilla broke (or disabled intentionally) some @media rules causing OS/theme specific code to be ignored when inside such a rule. That for I moved code required by some options to separate files (*_fx58_fix.css). Windows 7 classic theme took the biggest hit and requires "fixes" for many options/features. Alternatively I suggest to ignore Firefox 58 and directly move to Firefox 59 beta (4). Fx58 issues are not present on Fx59-60. Mozilla devs refused to uplift the fix, that is present for a long time in Fx 59, because Fx58 release was immanent.

Mudder

User avatar
 
Posts: 43
Joined: July 7th, 2013, 4:14 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Posted January 26th, 2018, 4:20 pm

Yes I am using code from the project but I'll wait and see until John Haller of Portable Apps has v59 ready
but I'll look at your updates at github? for these fixes you speak of and ignore/leave v58 as is.
That is what I detest in the other browsers, except for IE, they all ignore my chosen desktop theme.

EDIT: I get what you're saying, you want me to replace my current .css file with your update, select my
preferences, ie tabs on bottom,...but I'll wait and see what PA does with 59, I need a good weekend.
As for now I only have the bits and pieces I needed from November to get the desired effects in 57+.
Not the whole file. I don't have any of the @media lines present.

If I have to make "repairs" after that [after 59] I'll download your latest and spend a weekend tweaking,
though my only requirement was to have the tabs on the bottom. Glad I donated, worth every cent.
Saves me from having to migrate to another browser.
Last edited by Mudder on January 26th, 2018, 4:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

FineWine

User avatar
 
Posts: 194
Joined: July 16th, 2004, 12:21 am

Post Posted January 26th, 2018, 4:45 pm

OK I believe I am being very thick here but I can not for the life of me get the close_alt.png image to show.
Code: Select all
 list-style-image: url("./../../image/close_alt.png") !important;

The image is located in: Library/Application Support/Firefox/Profiles/65dkbjtj.Quantum/chrome/image/close_alt.png


Also the text of the focused Tab is blurry. I have the /* tab_titles_remove_blur */ code but with no effect.

Cheers, Thx

Aris

User avatar
 
Posts: 3174
Joined: February 27th, 2011, 10:14 am

Post Posted January 26th, 2018, 5:01 pm

@Mudder
You don't need for someone to make Fx59 a portable app. Just setup PA Fx 58, remove App/firefox folder and replace it with the one from Fx59.

@FineWine
If you are using CustomCSSforFx releases, you only have to import "close_icon_red.css" inside userChrome.css.

FineWine

User avatar
 
Posts: 194
Joined: July 16th, 2004, 12:21 am

Post Posted January 26th, 2018, 8:07 pm

Aris wrote:@FineWine
If you are using CustomCSSforFx releases, you only have to import "close_icon_red.css" inside userChrome.css.

Hi Aris: No I am not using CustomCSSforFx releases. I have picked apart various pieces of your userChrome.css code.
- Tabs Below Navigation Toolbar
- default themes tab colors
- custom colors for squared tabs
- custom tab text settings
- hide toolbar shadow
- findbar
- tabs_below_navigation_toolbar_macOS_fix
- tab_titles_remove_blur
- close_icon_red

and my own code:
Centre Bookmark Toolbar Favicons Over Text
Display border line to top of Personal Toolbar

as I am using macOS FFQ58 I have also removed code for MS Windows FFQ58

max2
 
Posts: 247
Joined: September 17th, 2011, 5:37 pm

Post Posted January 27th, 2018, 4:10 am

Aris how do I get my two userChrome files to work together ?

Here is the one I want to work with yours:

#sidebar-box[sidebarcommand="treestyletab_piro_sakura_ne_jp-sidebar-action"] #sidebar-header {
display: none;
}

#titlebar {margin-bottom: -20px !important;}
#tabbrowser-tabs {visibility: collapse !important;}

#titlebar-buttonbox {
position: relative !important;
overflow-x: hidden !important;
height: 10px !important;
-moz-transition: all .2s ease-out .2s !important;
}

#titlebar-buttonbox:hover {
margin-top: -15px !important;
margin-bottom: 5px !important;
height: 60px !important;
}

[privatebrowsingmode="temporary"] #titlebar {margin-bottom: 0px !important;}
[privatebrowsingmode="temporary"] #titlebar-buttonbox {
height: 30px !important;
-moz-transition: none !important;
}
[privatebrowsingmode="temporary"] #titlebar-buttonbox:hover {
margin-top: 0px !important;
margin-bottom: 0px !important;
height: 30px !important;
}

[privatebrowsingmode="temporary"] #TabsToolbar {
visibility: collapse !important;
}
[privatebrowsingmode="temporary"] #titlebar-spacer {
background-image: url("chrome://browser/skin/private-browsing.svg");
background-repeat: no-repeat;
background-position: right;
}

#pageActionButton {
display: none !important;
}

max2
 
Posts: 247
Joined: September 17th, 2011, 5:37 pm

Post Posted January 27th, 2018, 4:14 am

Basically I want it to look like this with the your button on the left hand side but this time with no minimize, maximize, or close button on the right at all.

> https://i.imgur.com/7nvhwcR.jpg
Last edited by LIMPET235 on January 27th, 2018, 4:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Image tags removed to restore the forum layout.

max2
 
Posts: 247
Joined: September 17th, 2011, 5:37 pm

Post Posted January 27th, 2018, 4:19 am

Maybe like this unless you have a better way. Not the best example.

https://i.imgur.com/TxGEUw5.jpg

max2
 
Posts: 247
Joined: September 17th, 2011, 5:37 pm

Post Posted January 27th, 2018, 4:28 am

I have a even better idea.

Like this so it looks like Firefox 56.

> https://i.imgur.com/vv0y0Pk.jpg
Last edited by LIMPET235 on January 27th, 2018, 4:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Image tags removed to restore the forum layout.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3521
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted January 27th, 2018, 7:47 am

remove all css and start over inserting section {} by section.
userchrome is something some got to learn step by step and how to get back if it fails like in your case.

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests