MozillaZine

Losing (login-) connection with a site on a new tab

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Storm-_-
 
Posts: 9
Joined: September 2nd, 2017, 6:03 am

Post Posted January 31st, 2018, 1:07 pm

I use Firefox version 58.01

When I am logged into a site, and I use the "alt + enter" key combination on the address bar to open a new tab, I lose the connection with that site on the new tab.

That was not the case in the old version (for version 57).

Is it a bug? Or what can I do to keep the connection in such a case.
Do I have to set something different from the Firefox (config) preferences?

Is there anyone who can help me solve this unpleasant problem?
Last edited by Storm-_- on February 1st, 2018, 2:17 pm, edited 3 times in total.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 119899
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted January 31st, 2018, 1:35 pm

Moving to Firefox Support.

What's the URL for the site where this is happening?
What specific key combination are you using in that instance? (Alt+what?) Most Firefox key combinations use the Ctrl key, reserving the Alt key for displaying main menu items.

Storm-_-
 
Posts: 9
Joined: September 2nd, 2017, 6:03 am

Post Posted January 31st, 2018, 1:49 pm

DanRaisch wrote:Moving to Firefox Support.

What's the URL for the site where this is happening?
What specific key combination are you using in that instance? (Alt+what?) Most Firefox key combinations use the Ctrl key, reserving the Alt key for displaying main menu items.


Thank you for your reply.

Sorry, it is the "alt + enter" key combination. It is a normal key combination.
(I have changed it in my previous message.)

it happened on the site "https://ello.co/"

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 119899
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted January 31st, 2018, 2:00 pm

No, the key combination to open a new tab in that situation is Ctrl+Enter. The Alt key is not involved in that function.

BuddhaNature

User avatar
 
Posts: 204
Joined: January 3rd, 2008, 9:44 am
Location: Scotland

Post Posted January 31st, 2018, 2:15 pm

I think the OP is correct about the Alt+Enter combination. It does indeed open an new tab. The Ctrl+Enter combination refreshes the current tab. (At least these two things are what is happening on my system.)

Storm-_-
 
Posts: 9
Joined: September 2nd, 2017, 6:03 am

Post Posted January 31st, 2018, 2:18 pm

DanRaisch wrote:No, the key combination to open a new tab in that situation is Ctrl+Enter. The Alt key is not involved in that function.


Sorry sir, it works ok on this site (for example): highlight the URL (on the address bar) and then type ALT + Enter.
Ctrl+Enter does not work with me ...

Storm-_-
 
Posts: 9
Joined: September 2nd, 2017, 6:03 am

Post Posted January 31st, 2018, 2:21 pm

BuddhaNature wrote:I think the OP is correct about the Alt+Enter combination. It does indeed open an new tab. The Ctrl+Enter combination refreshes the current tab. (At least these two things are what is happening on my system.)


Thanks @BuddhaNature ...

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 119899
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted January 31st, 2018, 2:22 pm

Oops. You're both correct. Sorry for that confusion.
Still, I'm not seeing any disconnect or 404 error. I'm not logged into the site as I don't have an account but I'm not sure if that is what's different between your results and mine.

Storm-_-
 
Posts: 9
Joined: September 2nd, 2017, 6:03 am

Post Posted January 31st, 2018, 2:30 pm

DanRaisch wrote:Oops. You're both correct. Sorry for that confusion.
Still, I'm not seeing any disconnect or 404 error. I'm not logged into the site as I don't have an account but I'm not sure if that is what's different between your results and mine.


You can make a free account and you will see.
The google chrome browser does it well.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18902
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted February 1st, 2018, 1:09 pm

See if https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/ke ... ks-quickly still shows "Open Address in New Tab" as 'Alt + Enter' in FF 58?

(Site does sniffing, so on a "foreign" browser, no telling what you'll get.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Storm-_-
 
Posts: 9
Joined: September 2nd, 2017, 6:03 am

Post Posted February 1st, 2018, 2:17 pm

I have added "(login-)" to the title of this topic.
Because that's what I mean actually ...

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18902
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted February 2nd, 2018, 9:10 am

Crappy site then.
Kellogg's (https://www.kelloggsfamilyrewards.com) does the same.

Log in.
Open a new tab, new window, whatever, & type in the https://www.kelloggsfamilyrewards.com (or open a link from the original kelloggsfamilrewards page that you logged in from), & it does not show that you are logged in - in that new tab/window.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Storm-_-
 
Posts: 9
Joined: September 2nd, 2017, 6:03 am

Post Posted February 2nd, 2018, 10:11 am

therube wrote:Crappy site then.


Crappy site or not, you say it, but Firefox 57 and higher loses the login connection.
The old Firefox did keep the connection, so I'dont know what is 'crappy' ...
Other browsers keep the connection in the same situation ...

therube wrote:Kellogg's (https://www.kelloggsfamilyrewards.com) does the same.

That makes at least two sites ...

Thus, If there is not a single setting that I can change for solving the problem(?), it must be something in the program.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18902
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted February 2nd, 2018, 10:17 am

The old Firefox did keep the connection

What was the old FF?

What are the sites that you loose connection to?

Other browsers keep the connection

Which are they?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3576
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted February 3rd, 2018, 2:38 am

it may be possible that server set a special cookie only valid for this connection, another window/tab means another connection = another cookie. i dont hink its crap its just for security to avoid stealing sessions - maybe a unique feature for firefox and not chrome.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests