MozillaZine

keyboard typing wrong characters

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
timewarp
 
Posts: 16
Joined: November 8th, 2015, 3:59 am

Post Posted February 8th, 2018, 4:19 am

ONLY in Firefox is my keyboard now typing wrong characters - it types the querty keyboard in sequence ie asdfghjkl;' This does not happen in Edge or in other Microsoft programmes such as Word. Using Windows 10, Surface pro 3 with SP4 keyboard. FIrefox 58.0.1 with auto update.
I've tried removing the proxy setting, restarting, reinstalling the keyboard. Getting fed up with the waste of time.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 119910
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted February 8th, 2018, 6:42 am

Not sure what you're trying to report as the sequence you posted above seems to be the valid Qwerty keyboard order.

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 11946
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted February 8th, 2018, 6:45 am

Is it possible the Bi-directional is not functioning?

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10598
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted February 8th, 2018, 9:18 am

.
Please clarify.

What is it typing?

What should it be typing?

.
FF 61.0.2 - FF 62b17 - FF 63a - TB 52.9.1 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

timewarp
 
Posts: 16
Joined: November 8th, 2015, 3:59 am

Post Posted February 9th, 2018, 6:08 am

DanRaisch wrote:Not sure what you're trying to report as the sequence you posted above seems to be the valid Qwerty keyboard order.


It doesn't matter what key I type it just keeps typing letters in sequence. Only happens in Firefox, in Edge the keyboard works fine . So can't use Firefox until I find out what to change to correct this. It is clearly not the keyboard, it's something to do with Firefox. It doesn't happen in Thunderbird!

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38337
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted February 9th, 2018, 6:12 am

So, to clarify a tad more...
Are you saying that briefly pressing just one key, (the 'a' key), you get all the other characters along that keyboard row, as well?
Does this happen with other rows of keys?
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

timewarp
 
Posts: 16
Joined: November 8th, 2015, 3:59 am

Post Posted February 9th, 2018, 6:17 am

RobertJ wrote:.
Please clarify.

What is it typing?

What should it be typing?

.

If I type "hello" it types fghjk. IF I then type "thank you" it types l'zxcvbnm. So whatever key I press makes no difference. If I keep pressing "n" it then tupes =qwertyuiop[]asdfgh

In answer to LIMPET235, it doesn't make any difference which key I press, it just adds all the letters in sequence as laid out on the keyboard.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 119910
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted February 9th, 2018, 6:38 am

Have you tried starting Firefox in Mozilla Safe Mode? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode
If no improvement using Safe Mode, do you have the same problem if you create a new profile and test it with no extensions or non-default themes installed?
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_Manager
and
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Creating_a_ne ... on_Windows

Also see http://kb.mozillazine.org/Standard_diagnostic_-_Firefox

smsmith
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 19722
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana

Post Posted February 9th, 2018, 6:43 am

You posted all of your posts using Fx 58 except the first one, and they are not garbled. How is it you accomplished that if your keyboard is acting up in Firefox?
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52388
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted February 9th, 2018, 4:39 pm

This looks like the action of some anti keylogger software that is scrambling what you type.

What security software do you have?

timewarp
 
Posts: 16
Joined: November 8th, 2015, 3:59 am

Post Posted February 10th, 2018, 4:17 am

In answer to smsmith, I am using the on screen touch keyboard which works ok, rather that the surface pro keyboard.
Surface pro keyboard works with edge and with MS programmes eg Word.


In answer to Dan Raich I have tried disabling all the addons, and nothing changes. not tried to start in safe mode. WIll try that now and report back.

timewarp
 
Posts: 16
Joined: November 8th, 2015, 3:59 am

Post Posted February 10th, 2018, 4:22 am

dickvl wrote:This looks like the action of some anti keylogger software that is scrambling what you type.

What security software do you have?


I use Zone Alarm Security Suite. However, its only with FF that this happens, not with Edge. I have tried with all Addons disabled, no change. On screen keyboard works ok, just the SurfacePro keyboard which gives problem. It happened previously and i had the keyboard replaced, then it worked, few months later it doesn't But it's not the physical keyboard as this work with all other programmes including Thunderbird..

smsmith
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 19722
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana

Post Posted February 10th, 2018, 8:14 am

Do you have another keyboard you can try? Maybe a USB plug in type or bluetooth keyboard? Have you removed the surface pro keyboard and reconnected it? Was there a recent surface firmware update that might have caused this?
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

timewarp
 
Posts: 16
Joined: November 8th, 2015, 3:59 am

Post Posted February 10th, 2018, 8:54 am

DanRaisch wrote:Have you tried starting Firefox in Mozilla Safe Mode? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode
If no improvement using Safe Mode, do you have the same problem if you create a new profile and test it with no extensions or non-default themes installed?
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_Manager
and
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Creating_a_ne ... on_Windows

Also see http://kb.mozillazine.org/Standard_diagnostic_-_Firefox


I've restarted FF in safe mode and it makes no difference.

I will try and create a new profile and report back

timewarp
 
Posts: 16
Joined: November 8th, 2015, 3:59 am

Post Posted February 10th, 2018, 8:55 am

smsmith wrote:Do you have another keyboard you can try? Maybe a USB plug in type or bluetooth keyboard? Have you removed the surface pro keyboard and reconnected it? Was there a recent surface firmware update that might have caused this?


I don't have another keyboard and I,m not aware of a firmware update. Pleae note, the keyboard works everywhere EXCEPT in Firefox, so my beljef so that it is a Firefox problem.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 5 guests