How Do I Tweak Colors in Autofill in Firefox?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Post Reply
geedeez
Posts: 36
Joined: June 10th, 2018, 11:29 am

How Do I Tweak Colors in Autofill in Firefox?

Post by geedeez »

Hi everyone...

Theres a feature in ff called autofill. When it pops up in text fields to autofill personal info, its background is white and hard to see. I want the background dark. I tried debugger devtools to find the code. But I can't find it. Hope you can help. Below is the image and link.

http://www.sunsfurniture.com/contact/

> https://s33.postimg.cc/7dvwkdrrz/image.png
Last edited by LIMPET235 on June 14th, 2018, 4:15 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Image tags removed to restore the forum layout.
geedeez
Posts: 36
Joined: June 10th, 2018, 11:29 am

Re: How Do I Tweak Colors in Autofill in Firefox?

Post by geedeez »

bump
User avatar
Frank Lion
Posts: 21178
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: How Do I Tweak Colors in Autofill in Firefox?

Post by Frank Lion »

If it was me, I'd be hitting this for those entries -

Code: Select all

#PopupAutoComplete > richlistbox > richlistitem
In the 2nd picture, the yellow message in the dropdown suggests to me that you are using an extension here and you should be asking the extension dev about all this.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)
.
geedeez
Posts: 36
Joined: June 10th, 2018, 11:29 am

Re: How Do I Tweak Colors in Autofill in Firefox?

Post by geedeez »

Frank Lion wrote:
If it was me, I'd be hitting this for those entries -

Code: Select all

#PopupAutoComplete > richlistbox > richlistitem
Hi Frank,

Where exactly should I post this code? Would it be something like the following? Let me know where to post it. Appreciate it.

Code: Select all

#PopupAutoComplete > richlistbox > richlistitem {
background: #222 !important;
}
User avatar
Frank Lion
Posts: 21178
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: How Do I Tweak Colors in Autofill in Firefox?

Post by Frank Lion »

geedeez wrote:Where exactly should I post this code?
userChrome.css - http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic ... #p14789746
geedeez wrote: Would it be something like the following?

Code: Select all

#PopupAutoComplete > richlistbox > richlistitem {
background: #222 !important;
}
Close, but you never, ever, define a background colour without also defining the font colour. This is because you never know if/when the OS or website might have different ideas on the font colour and you'll see nothing.

So...this...and then adjust the colours to suit you -

Code: Select all

#PopupAutoComplete > richlistbox > richlistitem {
background: #222 !important;
color: #FFFFFF !important;}

N.B. the font colour for that website above is #FFB41D
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)
.
geedeez
Posts: 36
Joined: June 10th, 2018, 11:29 am

Re: How Do I Tweak Colors in Autofill in Firefox?

Post by geedeez »

Frank Lion wrote:
geedeez wrote:Where exactly should I post this code?
userChrome.css - http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic ... #p14789746
Hi Frank,

Yes I put it in userChrome.css but nothing happens. It doesnt change the background color at all. What do you suggest?
User avatar
Frank Lion
Posts: 21178
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: How Do I Tweak Colors in Autofill in Firefox?

Post by Frank Lion »

geedeez wrote:Hi Frank,

Yes I put it in userChrome.css but nothing happens. It doesnt change the background color at all. What do you suggest?
The code works and does what you want, so you need to carefully review how you created the chrome folder and its files in your profile. Check the Troubleshooting section as well in the KB link - people sometimes don't have their OS set up to show file extensions.

If in doubt, use the automatic creation method detailed in that Knowledge Base link.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)
.
geedeez
Posts: 36
Joined: June 10th, 2018, 11:29 am

Re: How Do I Tweak Colors in Autofill in Firefox?

Post by geedeez »

Frank Lion wrote:
geedeez wrote:Hi Frank,

Yes I put it in userChrome.css but nothing happens. It doesnt change the background color at all. What do you suggest?
The code works and does what you want, so you need to carefully review how you created the chrome folder and its files in your profile. Check the Troubleshooting section as well in the KB link - people sometimes don't have their OS set up to show file extensions.

If in doubt, use the automatic creation method detailed in that Knowledge Base link.
Hi Frank,

Yeah sure I'll look into it. Appreciate the help.
geedeez
Posts: 36
Joined: June 10th, 2018, 11:29 am

Re: How Do I Tweak Colors in Autofill in Firefox?

Post by geedeez »

Hi Frank,

I disabled all addons including Stylus which contained all my css. And I moved userContent.css and all files which serve as references to css which affect FF directly to another folder on the desktop. The only file I had in the Chrome folder was userChrome.css which contained your code. Below is the code in userChrome.css which again includes your code. Let me know what other suggestions you have. Thanks.

Code: Select all

@import url("1 - Side Panel, Bookmarks, Add-ons Background.css");
@import url("2 - Options, Add-ons, Extensions Page.css");
@import url("3 - Right-click Menu, URL, History Sidebar.css");
@import url("4 - Menu Dark.css");
@import url("5 - Library.css");
@import url("6 - Dev Tools.css");
@import url("7 - Global.css");
@import url("8 - About FF.css");

/* [webextension-view-type="popup"] {
  margin-right: -17px !important;
  margin-bottom: -17px !important;
} */


#PopupAutoComplete > richlistbox > richlistitem {
background: #222 !important;
-moz-appearance:none !important;
color: #FFFFFF !important;
}
User avatar
Frank Lion
Posts: 21178
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: How Do I Tweak Colors in Autofill in Firefox?

Post by Frank Lion »

geedeez wrote:Let me know what other suggestions you have.
I only do tested code snippets in Firefox Support these days and then only rarely. Other people then take over, if needed.

dickvl and Aris are very good on this stuff. But.... I'd throw a namespace line into that lot, for a start.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)
.
geedeez
Posts: 36
Joined: June 10th, 2018, 11:29 am

Re: How Do I Tweak Colors in Autofill in Firefox?

Post by geedeez »

Frank Lion wrote:
geedeez wrote:Let me know what other suggestions you have.
I only do tested code snippets in Firefox Support these days and then only rarely. Other people then take over, if needed.

dickvl and Aris are very good on this stuff. But.... I'd throw a namespace line into that lot, for a start.
Ok thanks.
Post Reply