MozillaZine

Firefox v61 & v62 not asking to save passwords etc...[Fixed]

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38451
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted August 31st, 2018, 8:42 am

Hi guys 'n' gals,
I run a few Firefox versions, as do many of you.
I just installed v61.0.2 & tried it out on a few of my "normal" sites.
eg; hobbyking/avast support fora/MWP forum & my radio yachting HP all work fine.

At present, one in particular, "hobbywarehouse.com.au", after finally getting it to let me log into their newly, updated site,
....those details do not show up in the Privacy/Security section along with any of the other sites log in details.

Also, my other versions all auto fill the log in boxes.
v61.0.2 does not.

Assistance req'd as to why.... please.
Ta muchly..

ps.
I've X referenced all the settings in v57 & 61.0.2.
Both the same in all respects. AFAICS.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19161
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted September 2nd, 2018, 6:54 am

(I'll just note that the bookmarklet does not help there, https://www.squarefree.com/bookmarklets ... r_password.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

tomatoshadow2

User avatar
 
Posts: 355
Joined: May 11th, 2017, 9:52 am

Post Posted September 2nd, 2018, 6:57 am

Has it saved any logins at all for you?

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38451
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted September 2nd, 2018, 7:17 am

Hi guys 'n' gals,
Thanks for the replies.
Nope. You're correct, therube. The bookmarklet does not work on that "hobbywarehouse" site.....
even though I can actually log in.
It's just that Firefox will not offer to save the detail or auto log in.
Damn!
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
TS2,
As I posted, I can log in & save to all my other sites......Well, the ones I've tried.
> eg; hobbyking/avast support fora/MWP forum & my radio yachting HP all work fine.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NB: I just tried un/re-installing v61.0.2, but nothing changed.
I still cannot get Firefox to ask to save my details & they do not appear in the Privacy & Security section, along with the other sites details.
Cleared cookies, cache etc......run in Safe Mode.....disabled the Plug-ins.....yada yada yada....?
It's got to be their "newly created site."
Can't think of anything else to try, but why does it work in v57?
What did "they (the new site) or mozilla" change in v61.0.2?
Weird one or what?

I checked AVAST' options etc, but cannot find anything relevant that would cause just one site to fail.

Any more ideas will be appreciated.

ps.
I checked in the about:config page & found this pref...
> security. ask_for_password.......which is set as the default = 0.
From the details page...
> Determines when Mozilla Mail should ask for the master password.
0 (default): Only the first time it's needed
1: Every time it's needed
2: Every n minutes, where n is the value in security.password_lifetime.

Yeah right!
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

elist74
 
Posts: 94
Joined: June 27th, 2013, 11:27 am

Post Posted September 2nd, 2018, 7:26 am

Hi :-) Did you try (my favorite option) "Forget about this site" right click (in history) ?

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38451
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted September 2nd, 2018, 7:36 am

Hi there, elist74,
Nope. That did absolutely nothing. Thank you for the suggestion.
Cleared the sites cookies 'n' cache again, but nope....Still no "ask......" from v61.0.2.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38451
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted September 2nd, 2018, 7:39 am

This post is using v61.0.2, just to check the UA...
No probs with logging in or saving details or auto fill on this site.

ps.
I just sent "them", (hobbywarehouse), a message, asking them about this error........err, problem.
:)
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

tomatoshadow2

User avatar
 
Posts: 355
Joined: May 11th, 2017, 9:52 am

Post Posted September 2nd, 2018, 8:37 am

Welcome, does a new profile exhibit the same behavior as before?

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38451
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted September 2nd, 2018, 9:06 am

Hi TS2,
Well, you will not be pleased to note, that even a new Profile does not offer to "Ask to save....." or store the info.
PITB.
:)
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

elist74
 
Posts: 94
Joined: June 27th, 2013, 11:27 am

Post Posted September 2nd, 2018, 4:50 pm

Maybe a conflic / mess up with the "tracking protection". just saying ;-)

atlanto
 
Posts: 64
Joined: March 7th, 2015, 4:19 pm
Location: Japan

Post Posted September 2nd, 2018, 5:33 pm

Excuse me, is v57 and the new profile still asking to save password on that site??

According to the archive
https://web.archive.org/web/20180315104 ... login.html
former or old login page used type="submit" button.
However, current login page is using type="button" button and ajax code to send login data instead of submit.
I'm very unsure but it may prevent "save password" feature. (it isn't an issue of v61.0.2)

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38451
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted September 3rd, 2018, 5:34 am

Hi atlanto,
No. It's not v57 that has the problem.
It works fine.

It's version 61.0.2 that has the problem.
-------------------------------------------------
Still waiting on a reply from "them."
-------------------------------------------------

elist74,
Nope. Still refuses to "Ask......" or "Save....", etc...
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

elist74
 
Posts: 94
Joined: June 27th, 2013, 11:27 am

Post Posted September 3rd, 2018, 6:05 am

I guess you check in "Exceptions..." at "Forms & Passwords" :-)

edits: nevermind you try a new profile. :oops:

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38451
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted September 3rd, 2018, 6:25 am

Hi elist74,
Checked & double checked any/all prefs/options.
Nothing will get v61.0.2 to "Ask........" or "Save......."

For ref;...
Image
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

tomatoshadow2

User avatar
 
Posts: 355
Joined: May 11th, 2017, 9:52 am

Post Posted September 3rd, 2018, 6:26 am

Interesting, even a new profile, seems to give you the same behavior Limpet235.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 13 guests