MozillaZine

Can't remove add-ons

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Infernoflower1
 
Posts: 54
Joined: January 6th, 2016, 4:01 pm

Post Posted September 12th, 2018, 7:19 am

Hello, I'm having a problem with my profile and I can't remove my add-ons. When I click "Remove" next to my add-ons, they won't go away. This problem does not happen when I start a new profile or when I'm in Safe Mode. How can I fix this? Also, how can I transfer my tabs over to another profile and restore them?

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19042
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted September 12th, 2018, 9:27 am

"Add on" as in a Plugin or "add on" as in an extension?

Which, plugin or extension, or all of them, or... ?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Infernoflower1
 
Posts: 54
Joined: January 6th, 2016, 4:01 pm

Post Posted September 12th, 2018, 3:42 pm

"Add-on" as in an extension. This happens with all of them. How can I fix the problem with the "Remove" button next to them not working? Like I said earlier, this doesn't happen in a new profile or in Safe Mode.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 120104
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted September 12th, 2018, 6:40 pm

Moving to Firefox Support as this is clearly a profile specific issue (based on your own comments) and not a bug.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3668
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted September 13th, 2018, 9:37 am

give extension a name pls, dont like to guess.

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22302
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted September 13th, 2018, 10:35 am

Since you say that it works fine in safe-mode then I would consider that it is one of your extensions blocking that ability to remove stuff...possible?
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22302
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted September 13th, 2018, 10:36 am

Brummelchen wrote:give extension a name pls, dont like to guess.

The OP stated that it happens with all extensions.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 120104
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted September 13th, 2018, 12:44 pm

Time to create a new profile and migrate critical data from the old, installing extensions one at a time and testing before adding the next.
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Transferring_ ... _-_Firefox

Infernoflower1
 
Posts: 54
Joined: January 6th, 2016, 4:01 pm

Post Posted September 13th, 2018, 3:31 pm

Thank you, but how can I copy the tabs from my previous profile over? I don't know how to do it.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19042
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted September 14th, 2018, 12:38 pm

With FF closed, copy sessionstore.jsonlz4 from old to new (overwriting new if necessary).
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Infernoflower1
 
Posts: 54
Joined: January 6th, 2016, 4:01 pm

Post Posted September 14th, 2018, 3:47 pm

Thank you very much. I tried doing what you said. However, the tabs didn't copy over. Did I do something wrong?

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19042
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted September 15th, 2018, 7:14 am

Try it again.

If you have not already set FF to restore its' tabs on load, then you should be able to open them from History | Restore Previous Session.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Infernoflower1
 
Posts: 54
Joined: January 6th, 2016, 4:01 pm

Post Posted September 16th, 2018, 12:39 am

Thank you. I tried it and it worked. However, when I try and import my styles from the previous profile into Stylus, I keep getting a message saying "Nothing was changed", and the styles won't show up. How can I fix this?

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38393
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted September 16th, 2018, 4:52 am

Hi,
The section here, may help...
> https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... src=search
ref; > Firefox related notes.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Infernoflower1
 
Posts: 54
Joined: January 6th, 2016, 4:01 pm

Post Posted September 16th, 2018, 2:42 pm

Thank you.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests