MozillaZine

How could one find out which of one's Firefoxes is just runn

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Dirki
 
Posts: 694
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted January 6th, 2019, 1:02 pm

How could one find out which of one's Firefoxes is just running?
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 10734
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted January 6th, 2019, 1:15 pm

How many Firefoxes do you have and how do you start them?

You can use the Windows 10 Task Manager, Details tab, to examine details on a running process. You can call up the Task Manager using Ctrl+Shift+Esc or right-click the Taskbar. On the View menu, there's a command to Select Columns. Add Command Line and see whether that helps.

Dirki
 
Posts: 694
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted January 6th, 2019, 1:28 pm

How many Firefoxes do you have and how do you start them?

About 5, 6 or so. Starting them by clicking the exe file or a link / symbol or such.

The Task Manager, it looks like that, it works obviously:
https://i.imgur.com/r6enFcv.png
Last edited by DanRaisch on January 6th, 2019, 2:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Image tags removed to restore page formatting.
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122140
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted January 6th, 2019, 2:58 pm

That's task manager and could reflect multiple Firefox processes, that is multiple windows or tabs running in one profile. It doesn't indicate that you have separate Firefox programs installed or running.

Dirki
 
Posts: 694
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted January 6th, 2019, 3:03 pm

Yes, at that moment there was only one Firefox running, I think.
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122140
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted January 6th, 2019, 3:12 pm


Dirki
 
Posts: 694
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted January 6th, 2019, 3:45 pm

Thank you for the link.

I really do use 2 differnet Firefoxex or Firefox and another browser each one with its own profile. Not a single Firefox with two profiles.
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

Dirki
 
Posts: 694
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted January 6th, 2019, 3:50 pm

Or in other words, when a Firefox is running one (normally) cannot start another one, a message will appear saying there already is a Firefox or so running. And after modifying that setting the second Firefox / browser starts and runs.
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122140
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted January 6th, 2019, 4:37 pm

No, you use a command line switch to accomplish that. See the article.

Dirki
 
Posts: 694
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted January 6th, 2019, 5:19 pm

Comand line switch? In the article? Where?
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 10734
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted January 6th, 2019, 6:13 pm

Dirki wrote:Yes, at that moment there was only one Firefox running, I think.

Looks like two to me. If you scan along the path, you see seven processes running out of a folder named Firefox64 and five running out of a folder named Firefox.

Dirki
 
Posts: 694
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted January 6th, 2019, 6:22 pm

Yes, the same portable Firefox can be started with differnet exe files being in differnet folders. When it is set as the default browser Win starts it with the wrong exe (means the bookmarks are not shown, etc.), do not know why, may be it is because of that setting that let 2 Firefoxes run at the same time.
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20046
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted January 8th, 2019, 11:36 am

If these are in fact "PortableApps" versions of FF, which it looks like is your intent, you should be running "FirefoxPortable.exe" (or whatever the name might be).

As it is, it looks like you are running "firefox.exe", directly, from within a PA directory structure, & in doing so, you are bypassing the "portable" part of PortableApps. (And in this manner, it is no different then running an installed FF, directly.)

(... I think.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Dirki
 
Posts: 694
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted January 8th, 2019, 11:54 am

If these are in fact "PortableApps" versions of FF, which it looks like is your intent, you should be running "FirefoxPortable.exe" (or whatever the name might be).

Yes, absolutely, this file must be started: FirefoxPortable.exe

As it is, it looks like you are running "firefox.exe", directly, from within a PA directory structure, & in doing so, you are bypassing the "portable" part of PortableApps. (And in this manner, it is no different then running an installed FF, directly.)

Yes, very right, that is - I suppose - the problem, FirefoxPortable.exe must be started, but it isn't, instead firefox.exe is started, this one:
Image

Instead of this one (FirefoxPortable.exe):
Image

And that - starting firefox.exe in a sub folder - causes that the bookmarks and other things are missing. And I assume or could imagine it is caused by a setting in the confi:about.
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

Dirki
 
Posts: 694
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted January 8th, 2019, 12:12 pm

And this shows the portable Firefox is the default browser, but it does not open the browser correctly:
Image
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests