MozillaZine

FF & TB show connected to partitionwizard.com

Discuss various technical topics not related to Mozilla.
Brummelchen
 
Posts: 4322
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted March 26th, 2019, 8:55 am

oh man, i just told you - its a loop back and nothing magic, from my connections

firefox.exe (1328), 127.0.0.1, 49458, 127.0.0.1, 49459, TCP, Established,
firefox.exe (1328), 127.0.0.1, 49459, 127.0.0.1, 49458, TCP, Established,

firefox need this for is internal working with its child processes.

can we close case please before it gets too ridiculous?

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19762
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted March 26th, 2019, 9:46 am

While it may end up being "nothing", he still ought to know that he has a driver loaded, that he isn't particularly aware of. Autoruns will most likely point that out.

(And I guess that 99.9% are clueless about such things. But as "something" was brought to his attention, might as well just find out just what it is. Plus we're now in Tech, where anything goes ;-).)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 4322
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted March 26th, 2019, 10:53 am

partition wiz dont own ampa-files. ampa is from Aomei partition assistant.
for minitool it should be: pwnative.exe, pwdrvio.sys, pwdspio.sys

for quickNdirty i use "Macrorit Disk Partition", its close to portable because it only copies "MDA_NTDRV.sys" and "ndm-fre.exe" to system. Key is put here: mde.lkeys
was a giveaway (v3.9.8/4.3.5/5.3.9)
key (1st, not 2nd) http://net-load.com/giveaway-macrorit-d ... -for-free/
demo https://macrorit.com/partition-magic-ma ... ition.html

videobruce
 
Posts: 240
Joined: March 25th, 2006, 11:38 am
Location: New York State

Post Posted March 26th, 2019, 12:33 pm

kerft wrote:View your hosts file with a text editor at C:\Windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts and see if it has any lines like 0 partitionwizard.com or 127.0.0.1 partitionwizard.com
If not, double check that no processes are running related to Minitool, and reboot.

I kinda forgot about that, being buried doesn't help either.

You mean entries like this? :shock:
127.0.0.1 http://www.partitionwizard.com
127.0.0.1 pas2.partitionwizard.com
127.0.0.1 pas2.minitool.com
127.0.0.1 pas2.eofsoft.com
127.0.0.1 tracking.minitool.com


Ok, why are they there and what is the "pas2" about?? BTW, the date of the file is from a year ago.
Chrome-Dome is a poor excuse for a browser. It doesn't even have a Menu Bar which should be standard for any & all programs in spite of M$'s 'toy phone' look change in W10.

videobruce
 
Posts: 240
Joined: March 25th, 2006, 11:38 am
Location: New York State

Post Posted March 26th, 2019, 12:46 pm

therube wrote:While it may end up being "nothing", he still ought to know that he has a driver loaded, that he isn't particularly aware of. Autoruns will most likely point that out.
(And I guess that 99.9% are clueless about such things. But as "something" was brought to his attention, might as well just find out just what it is. Plus we're now in Tech, where anything goes ;-).)

Thank you. I cleaned/reset the host file. I'll keep my eye on that the next time I use PW. :wink:
Chrome-Dome is a poor excuse for a browser. It doesn't even have a Menu Bar which should be standard for any & all programs in spite of M$'s 'toy phone' look change in W10.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19762
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted March 26th, 2019, 12:59 pm

partition wiz dont own ampa-files. ampa is from Aomei partition assistant.

Right. (Aomei I had from some old "giveaway".)
That's where I got my names from, & why I said, "something like".
something like ampa.exe, [/windows/system32/] ampa.sys


why are they there

I'd assume because (someone) doesn't want it phoning home.

And again, I don't think the hosts file is the issue.
You have a driver loaded, maybe it (in addition to be needed for program operation) is used for checking for updates, or whatever, & your hosts file was blocking (or intending to) block it from doing so.

Like some "giveawayoftheday" program licenses are only valid for a particular program version, & if the program were to auto-update, your license would no longer be valid, so by blocking updates, your program remains valid (even if outdated).

If you check autoruns, I'd expect you'd seem something like pt*.sys or mt*.sys in the Drivers (tab) & its' publisher would be something like "Minitool"...
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 4322
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted March 26th, 2019, 1:35 pm

I'd assume because (someone) doesn't want it phoning home.

illegal use of minitool? there exist no other reason to block activating servers.

videobruce
 
Posts: 240
Joined: March 25th, 2006, 11:38 am
Location: New York State

Post Posted March 27th, 2019, 4:09 am

Those entries prevented me from connecting to MiniTools site. Also, that address doesn't show up under Network in Resource Hacker anymore.
Chrome-Dome is a poor excuse for a browser. It doesn't even have a Menu Bar which should be standard for any & all programs in spite of M$'s 'toy phone' look change in W10.

Return to MozillaZine Tech


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests