MozillaZine

firefox 66 how can i limit the disk cache?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
mantra
 
Posts: 330
Joined: September 29th, 2010, 7:21 am

Post Posted May 17th, 2019, 9:20 am

Hi
i 'm running Version 66.0.5 under w10 and high sierra
i would like to limit the disk cache , i guess i have to enter in about:config because in the older version i could setup in the preferences (i guess in the older version was in browser.cache.disk.capacity )

how can i limit the disk cache to 350MB for example on firefox 66?
thanks
http://www.pcmech.com/article/clearing- ... he-how-to/
windows firefox 49.0.2 ,thunderbird 45.4 and under linux , firefox and thunderbird are always updated

BuddhaNature

User avatar
 
Posts: 361
Joined: January 3rd, 2008, 9:44 am
Location: Scotland

Post Posted May 17th, 2019, 11:27 am

browser.cache.disk.capacity still exists in Firefox 66.0.5 You have to enter the value you want in kilobytes. I have adjusted that setting myself and it works fine. That said, I'm on Win7 but I doubt that matters. http://kb.mozillazine.org/Browser.cache.disk.capacity

350 MB = 358400 KB
OS: Windows 7 Pro. SP1 x64

mantra
 
Posts: 330
Joined: September 29th, 2010, 7:21 am

Post Posted May 17th, 2019, 10:04 pm

BuddhaNature wrote:browser.cache.disk.capacity still exists in Firefox 66.0.5 You have to enter the value you want in kilobytes. I have adjusted that setting myself and it works fine. That said, I'm on Win7 but I doubt that matters. http://kb.mozillazine.org/Browser.cache.disk.capacity

350 MB = 358400 KB

hi
is the only way to do it?
why do they remove from the options ?
and is there a extension that can do it ?
thanks
http://www.pcmech.com/article/clearing- ... he-how-to/
windows firefox 49.0.2 ,thunderbird 45.4 and under linux , firefox and thunderbird are always updated

siffemoz
 
Posts: 159
Joined: January 29th, 2016, 4:36 pm

Post Posted May 17th, 2019, 10:39 pm

I had to disable browser.cache.disk.smart_size.enabled in addition to the entry BuddhaNature mentioned. I can't find an addon that will do it.

mantra
 
Posts: 330
Joined: September 29th, 2010, 7:21 am

Post Posted May 17th, 2019, 10:55 pm

siffemoz wrote:I had to disable browser.cache.disk.smart_size.enabled in addition to the entry BuddhaNature mentioned. I can't find an addon that will do it.

hi
was browser.cache.disk.capacity not enough?
may i know what operation system do you run?
thanks a lot
http://www.pcmech.com/article/clearing- ... he-how-to/
windows firefox 49.0.2 ,thunderbird 45.4 and under linux , firefox and thunderbird are always updated

siffemoz
 
Posts: 159
Joined: January 29th, 2016, 4:36 pm

Post Posted May 17th, 2019, 11:31 pm

I'm on Win7 also. It wouldn't work for me until I disabled browser.cache.disk.smart_size.enabled; YMMV I suppose.

BuddhaNature

User avatar
 
Posts: 361
Joined: January 3rd, 2008, 9:44 am
Location: Scotland

Post Posted May 18th, 2019, 2:53 am

I'm not sure I'm following this now.

mantra, are you saying you can't find the preference browser.cache.disk.capacity in you FF?
I would also note that the mozillaZine Knowledge Base article I linked to said that for the browser.cache.disk.capacity preference to have an effect the preference browser.cache.disk.enable must be set to true (which it is in my FF).

I would also note that in my FF browser.cache.disk.smart_size.enabled is set to true and that is the default setting (I never at any time modified it myself).

If it was me with the issue and I couldn't find browser.cache.disk.capacity then for experimental purposes I would just create it myself as an integer preference, reboot FF, and see how it goes from there.

I found one article on why Mozilla commenting on why removed the setting from Options. Said the following:

Mozilla is going to remove this option as restricting the cache space may slow down browser performance and Firefox can automatically reduce its usage if you are low on disk space. So you don't need to worry about it.

(article here: Mozilla to Remove Several Unnecessary Options from Firefox Preferences Window)
OS: Windows 7 Pro. SP1 x64

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 4616
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted May 18th, 2019, 3:35 am

firefox is limiting disk cache space according real disk space, we had that last days here. you cant control it unless disabling it at all, which makes no sense because cache makes firefox fast. it has no gain to reload any file from web. and as Buddha noted it will be disabled for reason.
the magic number is 51 and you are probably part of it :p

mantra
 
Posts: 330
Joined: September 29th, 2010, 7:21 am

Post Posted May 19th, 2019, 6:42 am

BuddhaNature wrote:I'm not sure I'm following this now.

mantra, are you saying you can't find the preference browser.cache.disk.capacity in you FF?
I would also note that the mozillaZine Knowledge Base article I linked to said that for the browser.cache.disk.capacity preference to have an effect the preference browser.cache.disk.enable must be set to true (which it is in my FF).

I would also note that in my FF browser.cache.disk.smart_size.enabled is set to true and that is the default setting (I never at any time modified it myself).

If it was me with the issue and I couldn't find browser.cache.disk.capacity then for experimental purposes I would just create it myself as an integer preference, reboot FF, and see how it goes from there.

I found one article on why Mozilla commenting on why removed the setting from Options. Said the following:

Mozilla is going to remove this option as restricting the cache space may slow down browser performance and Firefox can automatically reduce its usage if you are low on disk space. So you don't need to worry about it.

(article here: Mozilla to Remove Several Unnecessary Options from Firefox Preferences Window)

hi
i mean i have to disable browser.cache.disk.smart_size.enabled and after add a value to browser.cache.disk.capacity
i need both to control the cache size
thanks
http://www.pcmech.com/article/clearing- ... he-how-to/
windows firefox 49.0.2 ,thunderbird 45.4 and under linux , firefox and thunderbird are always updated

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 8 guests