MozillaZine

FF stops working same time every day

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
petergo
 
Posts: 1050
Joined: January 21st, 2005, 7:34 am

Post Posted June 27th, 2019, 2:18 pm

using FF 52.9.0 64bit ESR
Win 10 pro

hi there

For about a week or so, I am experiencing every day around the same time, that FF stops working.
I have two browser windows open, with maybe 4 - 5 tabs in each.

I have in the taskbar at the bottom of screen the tabs/icons what ever they're called that I would normally click with the mouse, and the desktop screen would revert to that particular window browser.

Now I click on them, nothing happens. I can't even close them from the task bar

Only way is to go to Task Manager, which shows, they are not responding, and I choose end task

I then start FF up, and the recover session manager allows me to restore the previous session, and I have no further problems until this tomorrow

Appreciate help to fix this
kindest thanks,
cheers
peter

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 10715
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted June 27th, 2019, 2:27 pm

Before the next freeze, consider restarting Firefox in its Safe Mode to see whether the problem still occurs while running with all extensions disabled. http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_Mode

petergo
 
Posts: 1050
Joined: January 21st, 2005, 7:34 am

Post Posted June 27th, 2019, 2:30 pm

thanks J

I will do that tomorrow around 3pm then ( problem usually happens about 4pm )

I did try restarting FF, so that everythoing would be fresh, but alas, that did not solve anything

thanks again, will report what if anything happens

cheers

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52814
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted June 27th, 2019, 3:47 pm

Any tasks scheduled in Windows during that time?

petergo
 
Posts: 1050
Joined: January 21st, 2005, 7:34 am

Post Posted June 27th, 2019, 3:48 pm

no m8

Thanks

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22567
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted June 27th, 2019, 5:56 pm

Also, when getting close to the locking time you might want to start up your task manager and check to see how much memory is being used by Firefox and the total memory used versus what you have in your computer.

And... sure sounds like what dickvl was asking about...maybe something in your AV software kicked in via an update? ... plus, when this happens again get into Task mgr., don't stop Firefox but look around a bit to see what is taking up memory or priorities...know what I mean?
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

petergo
 
Posts: 1050
Joined: January 21st, 2005, 7:34 am

Post Posted June 28th, 2019, 7:28 am

good morning guys, and thanks for your input

I am using Windows Defender, and Malwarebytes free version.
I checked them both to see if and when they update definitions.
Defender does at 2am ( my time)
MWB does not at all in real time.

I am having problems this morning, with constant "not responding"

Task Manager shows CPU for FF is around 35% and memory about 2,321 Mb

Do you think I should copy my profile , and reinstall FF ( the version I am using )

thanks, cheers, have a great day
peter

petergo
 
Posts: 1050
Joined: January 21st, 2005, 7:34 am

Post Posted June 28th, 2019, 7:43 am

g'day mightyglyydd

As I wrote previously, the problem occurs daily around 4 pm'ish, and that I had planned around 3.45pm to chnage to safe mode.
I did not expect the problem to occur this morning

I am an old dog, m8
Very hard to change, I am used to FF as it is

thanks, cheers
peter

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38790
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted June 28th, 2019, 8:46 am

Hello Peter,
Not sure what mightyg wrote but try creating a new Profile.... Name it > New Profile or whatever you want.(NOT default though.)
Do not add anything to it at present, except your bookmarks.
> http://kb.mozillazine.org/Creating_a_ne ... on_Windows
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22567
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted June 30th, 2019, 9:25 am

And.... did you ever get to a point where just prior to what jscher2000 suggested.... the safe-mode stuff? Sounds like that was what MG was talking about...

AFAIK ESR52x is very stable so I would be thinking about a problem extension... maybe post a list of what you have in there??? ... Also, you posted Firefox mem-use and percent... but what is the total (available memory in your pc?
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

petergo
 
Posts: 1050
Joined: January 21st, 2005, 7:34 am

Post Posted June 30th, 2019, 11:19 am

g'day kind people

having display issues with my dell desktop. Dell are sending a technician next business day, said RAM has to be replaced

This is my excuse for not having responded earleir

I have 8Gb of memory

I can tell you the past two days, there have been no problems. I can't explain this

Will keep in touch, when I can

thanks so very much, appreciated
peter

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38790
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted July 1st, 2019, 4:20 am

Hi Peter,
If you wanted to check the memory in your PC,
then why not try "Memtest86 +"?
> http://www.memtest.org/
Click the "Pre built & bootable iso" & on the next page, D/L the "Pre compiled bootable iso.zip"
Open the .zip file & burn the ISO file to a CD.
Boot from it & let it run for a while.... Say, an hour or 3.

Here's one of the best, free programs that I use to burn the ISO file to a CD.
> https://cdburnerxp.se/
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

petergo
 
Posts: 1050
Joined: January 21st, 2005, 7:34 am

Post Posted July 7th, 2019, 8:51 am

g'day Mr.L

lately have not experienced the problem, seems to have just disappeared

I came back here to thank everyone, and saw yourmessage about memory test
It is beyong my pay grade, how ever i decided to run the windows memory diagnostic tool

I am ;presently using my back up computer whilst my main desktop is running the mem tesgt.
IT has however now been on 41% complete, and overall test status at 70% complete for abougt an hour

Is that norm al, or is my RAM due for replacement?

THANK you everyone
cheers
peter

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38790
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted July 8th, 2019, 4:19 am

Hi Peter,
A "normal" mem test may take a few hours to complete...depends on how much memory you have installed.
Just let it complete it's task.
I don't use Win10 as yet, so....don't know of the built-in tool you mentioned.

Anyone care to comment?
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 14 guests