MozillaZine

Remove "Visit" and "Search with..." from Firefox 68 urlbar

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
anewuser
 
Posts: 21
Joined: April 11th, 2013, 5:31 pm

Post Posted July 10th, 2019, 6:23 am

How to hide the "- Visit" / "Search with..." items from the Firefox 68 address bar?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122140
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted July 10th, 2019, 7:59 am

I don't see those in version 68.0 under Win10. Please post a screenshot of what you are seeing. http://kb.mozillazine.org/Posting_a_scr ... _the_forum

anewuser
 
Posts: 21
Joined: April 11th, 2013, 5:31 pm

Post Posted July 10th, 2019, 8:42 am

The "Visit" suggestions are based on my bookmarks. If there are no matches, it turns into "Search with...":

Image
Image

This works on the browser toolbox, but does nothing after I add it to userChrome.css:
Code: Select all
#urlbar-results .urlbarView-row:first-child{display:none !important}

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 10734
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted July 10th, 2019, 9:17 am

It's simpler to use the id of the first element:

Code: Select all
  #urlbar-results #urlbarView-row-0 {
    display:none !important;
  }

Note: The new drop-down uses mostly HTML elements, so you should not have the XUL @namespace line at the top of your rules.

anewuser
 
Posts: 21
Joined: April 11th, 2013, 5:31 pm

Post Posted July 10th, 2019, 10:05 am

@jscher2000 Thank you. Removing the @namespace line did the trick. I was afraid that was going to break my other rules, but everything seems to be working.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20046
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted July 10th, 2019, 8:47 pm

(I'd seen that "Visit", & never really understood its' connotation & simply ignored it.

And looking now, I realize it only shows 10 search suggestions, no scrolling or such. That seems ignorant, but then, why not [screw things up even more].
edit: viewtopic.php?p=14837356#p14837356
Changed it to 99. Ugly.
And then its far from smooth at that; display 12 or so entries, noticeable pause, then displaying the rest of the [screen full].)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

m.rumble
 
Posts: 16
Joined: January 29th, 2019, 1:55 pm

Post Posted July 11th, 2019, 11:01 am

Removing the blue search bar using: browser.urlbar.maxRichResults: set to 0 / browser.urlbar.oneOffSearches: set to false
leaves a white strip across the top of the tabs bar. Any way to get rid of it?

Image at: https://imgur.com/a/Dad8TBc

Note: Can't figure out how to have the image appear in the forum.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20046
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted July 11th, 2019, 11:28 am

(
And looking now, I realize it only shows 10 search suggestions, no scrolling or such. That seems ignorant, but then, why not [screw things up even more].
edit: viewtopic.php?p=14837356#p14837356
Changed it to 99. Ugly.
And then its far from smooth at that; display 12 or so entries, noticeable pause, then displaying the rest of the [screen full].


Ah, didn't realize but what I described, is this, Scrollbar missing from suggested results when typing in URL.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 10734
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted July 11th, 2019, 7:34 pm

m.rumble wrote:Removing the blue search bar using: browser.urlbar.maxRichResults: set to 0 / browser.urlbar.oneOffSearches: set to false
leaves a white strip across the top of the tabs bar. Any way to get rid of it?

Image at: https://imgur.com/a/Dad8TBc


You can either revert the changes to the drop-down by switching Firefox back to the old one, or add a rule to your userChrome.css to hide the new drop-down.

Reverting

(1) In a new tab, type or paste about:config in the address bar and press Enter/Return. Click the button promising to be careful or accepting the risk.

(2) In the search box above the list, type or paste URLB and pause while the list is filtered

(3) Double-click the browser.urlbar.quantumbar preference to switch the value from true to false

CSS

I think it's this, but I don't use it myself:

panel#urlbar-results { display: none !important }

m.rumble
 
Posts: 16
Joined: January 29th, 2019, 1:55 pm

Post Posted July 11th, 2019, 8:50 pm

Thanks jscher2000,
I used the last line in your post (also suggested in another thread) and it worked for me. I don't know why Mozilla has to keep playing around with things that don't need fixing. If they do change something, at least they should give us a way to decline the change.

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 10734
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted July 12th, 2019, 8:22 am

m.rumble wrote:I don't know why Mozilla has to keep playing around with things that don't need fixing. If they do change something, at least they should give us a way to decline the change.


The weird and proprietary XUL and XBL language used to build the user interface is gradually getting replaced with HTML and CSS. For the time being, you can easily switch back to the old code using a preference in about:config as I described in post.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests