MozillaZine

Continuous crashes

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9572
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted August 22nd, 2019, 7:40 am

TheVisitor wrote:I skimmed through this thread and I don't see where you have tried 'Safe-mode' in Firefox.

He''s known about that, UPDATING to the latest version with a NEW PROFILE (his OS IS compatible) and no old crap added + Fx Portable for the past five years.
#KeepFightingMichael

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 4595
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted August 22nd, 2019, 7:40 am

therube wrote:Here is an old "recent" crash of mine

"crash_info": {
"address": "0x8",
"crashing_thread": 0,
"type": "EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION_READ"
},

For bad memory accesses, the "Crash Address" field can give additional indications what went wrong.

Small addresses like 0x8 can indicate an object access (e.g. this->mFoo) via a null this pointer.


could be the old graphics driver (2012), if not issuing in safe mode it could be hwa.

@kerft - there is nothing to fix except all to fix, starting with a clean windows.
If you can't do this yourself, a computer shop can do it for you.
#
appreciated because there is nothing we can do for old man.
users using outdated and vulnerable software probably never will get an answer from me - sticked with the past? stay alone. foe means you are and idiot from my view.

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9572
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted August 22nd, 2019, 7:43 am

Old man has nothing to do with it , stubbornness does, self induced anxiety.
@Notice he ignores all the sane simple solutions.
#KeepFightingMichael

petergo
 
Posts: 1053
Joined: January 21st, 2005, 7:34 am

Post Posted August 22nd, 2019, 1:07 pm

updates....

I have restarted FF in safe mode

I found in options/advanced an item which I checked ( as it was not checked ) that info and reports etc be sent to FF ( I wonder if that is why I was not getting crash or other reports )

What happens if I choose refresh instead of start in safe mode?

more later, fingers crossed it won't hang in safe mode

cheers
peter

kerft
 
Posts: 502
Joined: January 30th, 2019, 9:38 am

Post Posted August 22nd, 2019, 1:29 pm

The "refresh firefox" is intended to move away all of your data, and restore the things that the browser feels are safe. It moves away all extensions and settings, and keeps (basically) only bookmarks and history. If it works properly, it puts your old data in a folder on the desktop called "old firefox data."
Around here we don't recommend it much. I thought I recall reports of it actually just deleting all the data. Perhaps this only happens if it goes slow and you interrupt it (shut it down or shut the computer down).

petergo
 
Posts: 1053
Joined: January 21st, 2005, 7:34 am

Post Posted August 22nd, 2019, 2:32 pm

hi Kerft

just returned, woke computer from hibernate, and had left FF open in safe mode.

Sadly, it was in "not responding" mode again. I waited and waited, then eventually had to use task manager to close it.
Before I did that, I double clicked on the "crashfirefox.exe" file, and a window flashed by in a fraction of a second, appeared to have a lot of data, but impossible to do anything

I started FF and did the "about:crashes" but nothing new there

I guess it's not an extension after all, thankfully.

thanks again
cheers
peter

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38835
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted August 23rd, 2019, 4:08 am

Hi Peter,
Can you remember exactly when this "error/fault" started?

Did you install anything new around that time?

Have you asked at the WIN10 fora yet?

A suggestion...

Go to these sites & do an on-line scan with both.....Not at the same time though.
> https://www.trendmicro.com/en_au/forHom ... ecall.html
Just select your OS version...eg; Windows & 64 bit.
&, read the directions.

> https://www.f-secure.com/en/home/free-t ... ne-scanner

Be aware that they may, errr will, take a while.
They are more thorough than any installed A/V, Anti-Malware program.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20046
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted August 23rd, 2019, 5:44 am

Restart you computer in Safe Mode.
Start FF in Safe Mode.
Put your computer to sleep.
Come back here tomorrow & let us know (how this saga has progressed ;-)).
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

petergo
 
Posts: 1053
Joined: January 21st, 2005, 7:34 am

Post Posted August 23rd, 2019, 7:09 am

g'day Mr. L

1.. ran E-set - nothing found
2. ran trendmicro, and thank you for the two suggestions. It found one item in Windows, a PUA which it fixed. ( I tried to find what that file was, no luck)
3.. ran F-secure, found nothing

nothing back from the WIn 10 forum, sorry

I am toying with the idea, to take a deep breath, hold my nose, and jump into the newest version of FF over the weekend

I have backed up my profile, and saved the FF version ESR 59 something that I am using now
Mr L. if I can't manage the newest FF because it does not have some of the extensions I truly need, will I be able to uninstall it, clean registry, and go back to the ESR version

thanks m8
peter

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38835
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted August 23rd, 2019, 7:15 am

Hi Peter,
Did you ever try the latest Portable version that (I think) was suggested?

It will not affect your current version.

> https://portableapps.com/apps/internet/firefox_portable
Scroll down that page to the Support section & check the links...

Support

For help with this app, please see the following:

Downloading a Portable App
Installing a Portable App
Using a Portable App
Upgrading a Portable App
Copying local settings, Second profiles, Private Window, Helper apps, ESR schedule, and more...
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

petergo
 
Posts: 1053
Joined: January 21st, 2005, 7:34 am

Post Posted August 23rd, 2019, 7:22 am

g'day Mr. L
yes, I did
I installed the protable version
Then I uninstalled because I did not like it.

I believe the problem began about 2 months ago, and has continued daily

The full latest version will it have all features or is it the same as the portable version?

thanks m8............... must be just about time for you to hit the sack <grin>

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122140
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted August 23rd, 2019, 7:36 am

Peter, the portable version IS the standard version with the exception of its "packaging". Functionality and capability is the 100% identical in the two presentations. The portable is only different in that it does not update any Windows registry settings (basically only the default browser and HTML/XML file handler) and does not install into the usual Windows Program Files (x86) (or Program Files) directory. Instead it installs into its own directory and the profile folder is created as a sub-directory of that location rather than under App Data as with the standard installation.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38835
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted August 23rd, 2019, 7:40 am

Hi Peter,
The latest Portable version is the same as the FULL version.
eg; 68.0.2 with the same "features."
Just as Dan mentioned, the installation directories vary.

&... I asked > "Did you install anything new around that time?"

Y or N?

I suggest that you try what "therube" posted....a few posts up ^^^^.

&, no. Not that time just yet.
Got quite a few hours to go.
Listening to the cricket on the local ABC radio & watching it on the TV with the sound off. :)
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9572
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted August 23rd, 2019, 8:16 am

Er....Currenf Fx installs now have a dedicated Profile.

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/de ... stallation
https://www.ghacks.net/2018/10/27/firef ... r-install/

The OP no intention of dumping 52 and it's mostly unsupported extensions, time to lock this nonsense.
#KeepFightingMichael

petergo
 
Posts: 1053
Joined: January 21st, 2005, 7:34 am

Post Posted August 23rd, 2019, 8:32 am

mightyglydd wrote:Er....Currenf Fx installs now have a dedicated Profile.

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/de ... stallation
https://www.ghacks.net/2018/10/27/firef ... r-install/

The OP no intention of dumping 52 and it's mostly unsupported extensions, time to lock this nonsense.


Mightyglad you feel that way m8
If you are not interested, how about not following what kind people are suggesting and trying to help me
You don't have to follow this subject
cheers
peter
PS.. a quitter never wins!!

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: costark, Google Adsense [Bot] and 17 guests