MozillaZine

How to set FF to don't start to find until I press enter?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
avada
 
Posts: 1847
Joined: February 10th, 2008, 6:30 am
Location: Hungary

Post Posted August 27th, 2019, 12:12 am

Hi!

I decided I hate that the find feature finds automatically while I type in the findbar, It navigates away from my current position all the time only to not find anything by the time I finish typing.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 4595
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted August 27th, 2019, 1:20 am

turn off suggestions in settings!? (search, bookmarks, open tabs)

avada
 
Posts: 1847
Joined: February 10th, 2008, 6:30 am
Location: Hungary

Post Posted August 27th, 2019, 3:14 am

Brummelchen wrote:turn off suggestions in settings!? (search, bookmarks, open tabs)

Suggestions? The findbar doesn't have suggestions.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122140
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted August 27th, 2019, 3:50 am

Are you asking about the "findbar" accessed by pressing Ctrl+F?

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 4595
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted August 27th, 2019, 4:15 am

my bad, i assume yes after re-reading question. and yes, its moving away as expected.
the older behavior was removed
Tools->Options->Advanced->General tab.
See option "Begin finding when you begin typing" (or similar wording). If it is checked, UNcheck it.

and there is no pref for it (has only 4)

avada
 
Posts: 1847
Joined: February 10th, 2008, 6:30 am
Location: Hungary

Post Posted August 27th, 2019, 4:31 am

DanRaisch wrote:Are you asking about the "findbar" accessed by pressing Ctrl+F?

Yes. (and the quick ones as well) Is there anything else?

avada
 
Posts: 1847
Joined: February 10th, 2008, 6:30 am
Location: Hungary

Post Posted August 27th, 2019, 4:32 am

Brummelchen wrote:my bad, i assume yes after re-reading question. and yes, its moving away as expected.
the older behavior was removed
Tools->Options->Advanced->General tab.
See option "Begin finding when you begin typing" (or similar wording). If it is checked, UNcheck it.

and there is no pref for it (has only 4)

Find as you type is a whole other thing. I have that disabled.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 4595
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted August 27th, 2019, 4:35 am

find as you type IS opening the findbar - its the small popup to search inside a page.
brinkmann explained
https://www.ghacks.net/2007/12/31/firef ... -you-type/
and currently findbar wont respect autostart.

avada
 
Posts: 1847
Joined: February 10th, 2008, 6:30 am
Location: Hungary

Post Posted August 27th, 2019, 6:14 am

Brummelchen wrote:find as you type IS opening the findbar - its the small popup to search inside a page.
brinkmann explained
https://www.ghacks.net/2007/12/31/firef ... -you-type/
and currently findbar wont respect autostart.

Indeed, but I was talking about typing in the findbar, not opening it. I'd rather it doesn't start the search in the page until I finish typing (and press enter or ctrl+g).

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 4595
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted August 27th, 2019, 7:30 am

not sure what you speak about - findbar opens and do - nothing. (default)
but it can open with marked letters/word - and still do nothing until you hit the down/up buttons.

ok, seriously - you speak about waterfox? not my home, try to get support at the waterfox forum.

some1 move this to other builds please as it not concerns firefox.
users using outdated and vulnerable software probably never will get an answer from me - sticked with the past? stay alone. foe means you are and idiot from my view.

avada
 
Posts: 1847
Joined: February 10th, 2008, 6:30 am
Location: Hungary

Post Posted August 27th, 2019, 8:37 am

Brummelchen wrote:not sure what you speak about - findbar opens and do - nothing. (default)
but it can open with marked letters/word - and still do nothing until you hit the down/up buttons.

ok, seriously - you speak about waterfox? not my home, try to get support at the waterfox forum.

some1 move this to other builds please as it not concerns firefox.


It's the same with firefox, nor did I ask for waterfox, so don't ask people to move this thread because you lack comprehension...

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20046
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted August 27th, 2019, 8:48 am

(In Vim, it is called, incremental search, incsearch.
Seems there was an extension to do it, FindBar Tweak.
Maybe something exists for Quantum - heh?)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 4595
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted August 27th, 2019, 10:03 am

because you lack comprehension

sure - try to descibe your problem some better and we meet again.

findbar (ctrl+f) is findbar, nothing else. search bar is search bar.
anyhow comparing waterfox v56 with firefox 68 is a bad joke.

but you never mentioned which firefox version so i assume the current one and there is nothing wrong.
if you compare with firefox 56 you have to tell - but thats your own business because few people still use it.
i cant help people stuck on such old and vulnerable crap.

either you provide now a proper description, maybe image - you are a longer lasting member here - input=output - or you try to get along alone or at the waterfox forum.

"findbar tweak" is gone from AMO because legacy. so its also no longer usable on quantum or the upcoming "firefox browser" (with v70 name change)

(firefox gets a brand name with several products -> firefox browser, ~pocket, ~monitor, ~lockwise, ...)

if he used to use "findbar tweak" - cant help out, never needed.

avada
 
Posts: 1847
Joined: February 10th, 2008, 6:30 am
Location: Hungary

Post Posted August 27th, 2019, 10:22 am

therube wrote:(In Vim, it is called, incremental search, incsearch.
Seems there was an extension to do it, FindBar Tweak.
Maybe something exists for Quantum - heh?)

I'm familiar with Findbar tweak. For the time being it would work, because I didn't update past XUL support.
But I don't see an option to disable incremental search.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20046
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted August 27th, 2019, 11:33 am

(Not seeing it either.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 8 guests