Bookmark Toolbar is messed up again

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
roninx
Posts: 106
Joined: May 25th, 2017, 3:07 pm

Bookmark Toolbar is messed up again

Post by roninx »

The latest update screwed up my bookmarks toolbar again.

All of the bookmarks are now stacked on top of each other in a single column (see below). How can I fix?

Image
User avatar
malliz
Folder@Home
Posts: 43796
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Re: Bookmark Toolbar is messed up again

Post by malliz »

How did you fix it last time?
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"
User avatar
jscher2000
Posts: 11763
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA
Contact:

Re: Bookmark Toolbar is messed up again

Post by jscher2000 »

Did you put rules in a userChrome.css file to create a multi-line bookmarks toolbar? The old rules don't work properly in Firefox 74, they create a bookmarks toolbar that takes up the entire height of the browser.

Possible solution in the following thread:

https://www.reddit.com/r/firefox/commen ... _in_ff_74/

Any luck?
roninx
Posts: 106
Joined: May 25th, 2017, 3:07 pm

Re: Bookmark Toolbar is messed up again

Post by roninx »

jscher2000 wrote:Did you put rules in a userChrome.css file to create a multi-line bookmarks toolbar? The old rules don't work properly in Firefox 74, they create a bookmarks toolbar that takes up the entire height of the browser.

Possible solution in the following thread:

https://www.reddit.com/r/firefox/commen ... _in_ff_74/

Any luck?
I can't see the solution on the link.

????????????
User avatar
jscher2000
Posts: 11763
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA
Contact:

Re: Bookmark Toolbar is messed up again

Post by jscher2000 »

roninx wrote:
jscher2000 wrote:Did you put rules in a userChrome.css file to create a multi-line bookmarks toolbar? The old rules don't work properly in Firefox 74, they create a bookmarks toolbar that takes up the entire height of the browser.

Possible solution in the following thread:

https://www.reddit.com/r/firefox/commen ... _in_ff_74/

Any luck?
I can't see the solution on the link.

????????????
I assume it's the first comment which links to a code repository.
roninx
Posts: 106
Joined: May 25th, 2017, 3:07 pm

Re: Bookmark Toolbar is messed up again

Post by roninx »

jscher2000 wrote:I assume it's the first comment which links to a code repository.
It doesn't work.
roninx
Posts: 106
Joined: May 25th, 2017, 3:07 pm

Re: Bookmark Toolbar is messed up again

Post by roninx »

roninx wrote:
jscher2000 wrote:I assume it's the first comment which links to a code repository.
It doesn't work.
I went back and trashed my userchrome file (I thought there may be some conflict).

It turns out I was right. The multirows are now back. However, there are other problems.

I reinserted the code for the font to be used on the bookmarks toolbar. That does not work. The font weight works fine, but not the actual font.

Anyone got a new code to make the font consolas?
User avatar
dickvl
Posts: 54163
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Re: Bookmark Toolbar is messed up again

Post by dickvl »

What code in userChrome.css are you using for the font on the Bookmarks Toolbar ?
roninx
Posts: 106
Joined: May 25th, 2017, 3:07 pm

Re: Bookmark Toolbar is messed up again

Post by roninx »

dickvl wrote:What code in userChrome.css are you using for the font on the Bookmarks Toolbar ?

Code: Select all

#PersonalToolbar .bookmark-item {
  font-family: consolas !important;
}
User avatar
dickvl
Posts: 54163
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Re: Bookmark Toolbar is messed up again

Post by dickvl »

I think that code should still work.

Did you make sure that there are no errors in userChrome.css ?
You can possibly move this code up
roninx
Posts: 106
Joined: May 25th, 2017, 3:07 pm

Re: Bookmark Toolbar is messed up again

Post by roninx »

dickvl wrote:I think that code should still work.

Did you make sure that there are no errors in userChrome.css ?
You can possibly move this code up
I had completely trashed my userchrome and started over with a small amount of code that someone else on here said would work, and I never thought of actually checking. Anyhow, I moved the font snippet to the top and it worked. However, the rest of my code (below) did have errors (below the code). I don't really know much about CSS, so hopefully, someone can point out the problems:

Code: Select all

/* Makes bookmarks toolbar span multiple rows */

#PersonalToolbar{
  --multirow-bmb-n-rows: 3; /* Control how many rows are shown before scrolling */
  --multirow-bmb-row-margin: 2px; /* Control how much spacing is between rows */
  max-height: none !important;
}

#PlacesToolbar > hbox{ 
  display: block;
  width: 100vw;
}

#PlacesToolbarItems{
  display: flex;
  flex-wrap: wrap;
  /* --uc-bm-padding is defined in autohide_bookmarks_toolbar.css */
  max-height: calc(var(--multirow-bmb-n-rows) * (5px + 1em + (2 * (var(--multirow-bmb-row-margin) + var(--uc-bm-padding,2px))))) !important;
  overflow-y:auto;
  scrollbar-color: var(--lwt-accent-color) var(--toolbar-bgcolor) ;
  scrollbar-width: thin;
}

/* Add some spacing between rows */
{
#PlacesToolbarItems > .bookmark-item margin: var(--multirow-bmb-row-margin) 3px !important;
}

https://funkyimg.com/i/33bfd.png
Last edited by DanRaisch on March 17th, 2020, 3:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Image tags removed to restore page formatting.
roninx
Posts: 106
Joined: May 25th, 2017, 3:07 pm

Re: Bookmark Toolbar is messed up again

Post by roninx »

Anyone?
User avatar
jscher2000
Posts: 11763
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA
Contact:

Re: Bookmark Toolbar is messed up again

Post by jscher2000 »

What editor are you using? The line breaks seem to be messed up compared with the source:

https://github.com/MrOtherGuy/firefox-c ... kmarks.css
roninx
Posts: 106
Joined: May 25th, 2017, 3:07 pm

Re: Bookmark Toolbar is messed up again

Post by roninx »

jscher2000 wrote:What editor are you using? The line breaks seem to be messed up compared with the source:

https://github.com/MrOtherGuy/firefox-c ... kmarks.css
I did a cut & paste into Notepad.
User avatar
jscher2000
Posts: 11763
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA
Contact:

Re: Bookmark Toolbar is messed up again

Post by jscher2000 »

Notepad doesn't understand "Unix-style" line breaks and sometimes runs lines together when copy/pasted from a website. You may want to use a different editor such as Notepad++, Atom, or VSCode.
Post Reply