MozillaZine

WhatsApp Web doesn't work with SM 2.53.1

Discussion of general topics about Seamonkey
raj_bhaskar

User avatar
 
Posts: 1904
Joined: November 7th, 2002, 3:50 am
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Post Posted March 16th, 2020, 5:40 am

Hi, this may be an evangelism issue, but WhatsApp Web (https://web.whatsapp.com) doesn't work in SM2.53.1 (on Win7. I've got a useragent override set for it (I've tried both Firefox 52 and Firefox 60) but it just gives me an error page indicating that Firefox 52+ is needed.

I've not yet upgraded my SM at work (2.49.5 on Win10) and WhatsApp Web works okay on that.

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20742
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted March 16th, 2020, 6:01 am

raj_bhaskar wrote:(https://web.whatsapp.com) doesn't work in SM2.53.1 (on Win7. I've got a useragent override set for it (I've tried both Firefox 52 and Firefox 60) but it just gives me an error page indicating that Firefox 52+ is needed.

Use a UA string with a min Firefox version of 65 for that site (the 52+ message is gibberish)

Top Tips - the User Agent Switcher extension is useful for quickly establishing which UA to use.

If in a real hurry or real important to get right, then use M$ Edge Beta - simple to install and less offensive than most, plus sites always seem to work on it. Apart from anything else, it's important to know how a website should be displaying and another browser will often tell you that.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

raj_bhaskar

User avatar
 
Posts: 1904
Joined: November 7th, 2002, 3:50 am
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Post Posted March 17th, 2020, 12:40 pm

I couldn't get it working with either Firefox 65 or the latest version, but the latest version of MS Edge did the job. Thanks :).

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20742
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted March 17th, 2020, 1:10 pm

raj_bhaskar wrote:I couldn't get it working with either Firefox 65 or the latest version

I'm thinking you used a site specific override there? A few sites have a 'hidden' site associated with them and it's that one that needs the right UA string.

Trouble is, it can be really tiresome to figure out what that hidden site is to do a site specific on. With the one I have trouble with, it's just easier to use the globally applied User Agent Switcher extension...or use Edge for the site.

Try an about:config global UA override for Firefox 65 sometime and you'll see what I mean.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

TPR75
 
Posts: 973
Joined: July 25th, 2011, 8:11 am
Location: Poland

Post Posted March 17th, 2020, 1:42 pm

raj_bhaskar wrote:I couldn't get it working with either Firefox 65 or the latest version[...]


What do you mean? With site specific override UA for Firefox 68 (ESR) above website is displayed.
Code: Select all
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64; rv:68.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/68


Image

I don't have account there so I can't test it fully. Did you see website? Were you able to read QR code?

Remember about cookies permissions for this website.

BTW If you really don't need it then disable Lightning advertising:
Menu -> Edit -> Preferences ->Advanced -> HTTP Networking -> in field "User Agent String" unmark/disable "Advertise Lightning installation"

To make sure it will not mess anymore:
in address bar type "about:config" -> search for "calendar.useragent.extra" and delete its value (leave it empty)
Last edited by TPR75 on March 17th, 2020, 11:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ndebord

User avatar
 
Posts: 855
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 9:53 am

Post Posted March 17th, 2020, 6:44 pm

Frank Lion wrote:
raj_bhaskar wrote:I couldn't get it working with either Firefox 65 or the latest version

I'm thinking you used a site specific override there? A few sites have a 'hidden' site associated with them and it's that one that needs the right UA string.

Trouble is, it can be really tiresome to figure out what that hidden site is to do a site specific on. With the one I have trouble with, it's just easier to use the globally applied User Agent Switcher extension...or use Edge for the site.

Try an about:config global UA override for Firefox 65 sometime and you'll see what I mean.


Frank,

Do you have a version that works with SM 2.53.1? The one listed:

user_agent_switcher-0.7.3-sm-fx.xpi

won't install.

Tks
-N- Quis custodiet ipsos custodes
SeaMonkey, Acer Spin, Windows 10 Pro (X64), WinPatrol, MalwarebytesPremium & PandaDome

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20742
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted March 18th, 2020, 1:11 am

Good point above about the Lightning suffix in a UA. Messes up the comments section of the Daily Mail media site, amongst others.

ndebord wrote:Do you have a version that works with SM 2.53.1?

This - https://addons.thunderbird.net/en-us/fi ... b-dl-users

- turn off JavaScript and right click 'Download Now' box and select 'Save Target As..'

Edit install.rdf so that SM section looks like this -

Code: Select all
  <em:targetApplication>
      <Description>
        <em:id>{92650c4d-4b8e-4d2a-b7eb-24ecf4f6b63a}</em:id>
        <em:maxVersion>2.60</em:maxVersion>
        <em:minVersion>2.0</em:minVersion>
      </Description>
    </em:targetApplication>
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

ndebord

User avatar
 
Posts: 855
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 9:53 am

Post Posted March 18th, 2020, 10:25 am

Frank Lion wrote:Good point above about the Lightning suffix in a UA. Messes up the comments section of the Daily Mail media site, amongst others.

ndebord wrote:Do you have a version that works with SM 2.53.1?

This - https://addons.thunderbird.net/en-us/fi ... b-dl-users

- turn off JavaScript and right click 'Download Now' box and select 'Save Target As..'

Edit install.rdf so that SM section looks like this -

Code: Select all
  <em:targetApplication>
      <Description>
        <em:id>{92650c4d-4b8e-4d2a-b7eb-24ecf4f6b63a}</em:id>
        <em:maxVersion>2.60</em:maxVersion>
        <em:minVersion>2.0</em:minVersion>
      </Description>
    </em:targetApplication>


Frank,

That did it.

Thanks

FWIW, although I don't use WhatsApp, with this extension, I was able to get into their website, whereas before it failed and asked me to upgrade to a new version of FireFox.
-N- Quis custodiet ipsos custodes
SeaMonkey, Acer Spin, Windows 10 Pro (X64), WinPatrol, MalwarebytesPremium & PandaDome

Diamanti
 
Posts: 709
Joined: June 12th, 2008, 9:02 am

Post Posted March 20th, 2020, 3:58 am

here the site work but the qrcode is not recognized.
not problem with other browsers.

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20742
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted March 20th, 2020, 4:46 am

Diamanti wrote:here the site work but the qrcode is not recognized.
not problem with other browsers.

Try another UA string or use other browsers for that site then.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

Anonymosity
 
Posts: 8614
Joined: May 7th, 2007, 12:07 pm

Post Posted March 20th, 2020, 2:14 pm

ndebord wrote:
user_agent_switcher-0.7.3-sm-fx.xpi

won't install.

Tks

I am using that version of User Agent Switcher, and it works for me. Before trying to install it, I edited install.rdf and increased the max version for em:id>{92650c4d-4b8e-4d2a-b7eb-24ecf4f6b63a} to 3.* so that I would not have to worry about it being marked as incompatible after the next update of SeaMonkey.

ndebord

User avatar
 
Posts: 855
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 9:53 am

Post Posted March 21st, 2020, 8:40 am

Frank,

Followup. Not only does User Agent Switcher work as advertised, your string for Firefox 68 has made life much easier for me with banking sites, such as Citibank and Chase where SM failed before.... I use the Fx 68 string on both and VOILA! all works with SM again. Nice.
-N- Quis custodiet ipsos custodes
SeaMonkey, Acer Spin, Windows 10 Pro (X64), WinPatrol, MalwarebytesPremium & PandaDome

Diamanti
 
Posts: 709
Joined: June 12th, 2008, 9:02 am

Post Posted March 21st, 2020, 1:33 pm

Whatsapp work after permit Offline web application.

Return to SeaMonkey General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests