MozillaZine


Video playback aborted due to a network error

Discussion of bugs in Mozilla Firefox
antonsvideo
 
Posts: 66
Joined: August 15th, 2012, 7:47 pm

Post Posted April 15th, 2020, 1:57 am

when I use firefox to watch a video from my dedicated hosting server, I get an error after around 3min playing time, "Video playback aborted due to a network error"
it does not happen with Chrome or Edge or IE, is there a setting on my server that I can implement to avoid this issue with firefox, currently using latest version 75.0 64bit
watch the following to the end and you will encounter the error https://www.videoproductions.com.au/vid ... -Jones.mp4

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20830
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted April 15th, 2020, 3:14 am

Confirmed.
Odd.

Is your serving information correct, mime-types & whatnot?


(Not that I know what I'm looking at...)

In SeaMonkey, I'm seeing something about; "document, plain" (& then nothing more, essentially).
In FF, it looked the same way, but then after clearing cache, I saw something a bit more expected.
- first, document, mp4 (?)
- then, 3 separate media, mp4
with the first, 0 bytes, then 64 & 11 MB.

If I actually download the video, it is 110.68 MB & plays fully in my (external) media player (MPlayer).

Drag the local copy into a FF window, & it played fully.

"Opened" a local copy & it played fully:
Code: Select all
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
    <html>
      <head>
        <meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8">
        <title>test</title>
      </head>
      <body>

<video controls>
  <source src="file:///C:\WLIB\LeechFTP\Geoff-Jones.mp4" type="video/mp4">
</video>

      </body>
    </html>


In Pale Moon, served from your end, I got:
- document, mp4, 99 MB
- media, mp4, 10 MB
then
- media, html, 0 bytes
& the clip played fully.
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

antonsvideo
 
Posts: 66
Joined: August 15th, 2012, 7:47 pm

Post Posted July 21st, 2020, 6:24 pm

this is still not resolved, I can't even play short videos without the network error, but all works perfect in Chrome, and Edge
https://www.guarddogtraining.com.au/flv ... arding.mp4

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20830
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted July 23rd, 2020, 5:08 am

Do you think it has to do with you serving the file "raw"?
As in, if you "wrap" the file in a player that then serves the video on your site, does the error still occur?

Do you think it is your server?
As in, if you host the file elsewhere, "raw", does the error still occur?

(videoproductions & guarddogtraing look to be one in the same.)


Bug 147649 video playback aborted due to a network error mentions (its) cause as misconfigured Cross-Origin Resource Sharing (CORS) - on the server (so a server issue).

Maybe your end is doing the same (or similar) & where Mozilla says, server issue, break, Chrome says, who cares about server issues - go on & play anyhow!


If I upload the clip to https://streamable.com/, it plays from their site, in their player, fully.
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Diorser

User avatar
 
Posts: 1009
Joined: June 22nd, 2005, 6:57 am

Post Posted July 24th, 2020, 1:44 am

Until clarification, you can open mp4 files in an external video player by disabling 'media.mp4'
=> about:config
Code: Select all
media.mp4.enabled -> false

+ check html5 browser capacity @ https://html5test.com/

antonsvideo
 
Posts: 66
Joined: August 15th, 2012, 7:47 pm

Post Posted July 25th, 2020, 8:00 pm

Diorser wrote:Until clarification, you can open mp4 files in an external video player by disabling 'media.mp4'
=> about:config
Code: Select all
media.mp4.enabled -> false

+ check html5 browser capacity @ https://html5test.com/


that is a great tip, this way all files play perfectly in Media Player Classic BE

antonsvideo
 
Posts: 66
Joined: August 15th, 2012, 7:47 pm

Post Posted July 25th, 2020, 8:02 pm

therube wrote:Do you think it has to do with you serving the file "raw"?
As in, if you "wrap" the file in a player that then serves the video on your site, does the error still occur?

Do you think it is your server?
As in, if you host the file elsewhere, "raw", does the error still occur?

(videoproductions & guarddogtraing look to be one in the same.)


Bug 147649 video playback aborted due to a network error mentions (its) cause as misconfigured Cross-Origin Resource Sharing (CORS) - on the server (so a server issue).

Maybe your end is doing the same (or similar) & where Mozilla says, server issue, break, Chrome says, who cares about server issues - go on & play anyhow!


If I upload the clip to https://streamable.com/, it plays from their site, in their player, fully.


indeed the clips play fully via streamable.com

I will investigate the Cross-Origin Resource Sharing (CORS) config, thanks for the tip

antonsvideo
 
Posts: 66
Joined: August 15th, 2012, 7:47 pm

Post Posted July 27th, 2020, 3:45 pm

We have added the following to the htaccess file for domain videoproductions.com.au in order to test but it is not helping, the error still occurs

<IfModule mod_headers.c>
Header set Access-Control-Allow-Origin "*"
</IfModule>

https://www.videoproductions.com.au/video/LCDC-2019.mp4

antonsvideo
 
Posts: 66
Joined: August 15th, 2012, 7:47 pm

Post Posted July 27th, 2020, 8:25 pm

I have also just created a test page with a player skin and linking to the video, it also causes the newtork error
https://www.videoproductions.com.au/FF/Anton-00670.png

Diorser

User avatar
 
Posts: 1009
Joined: June 22nd, 2005, 6:57 am

Post Posted July 28th, 2020, 12:47 am

In linux, all these mp4 files used as example play fine in Falkon browser.
Nothing specific with videoproductions.com.
The problem is specific to Firefox.
There is probably a bug open somewhere in the mozilla database / to be confirmed.

antonsvideo
 
Posts: 66
Joined: August 15th, 2012, 7:47 pm

Post Posted July 28th, 2020, 2:41 am

I think you are right because all my videos play fine in IE11, Edge, Chrome, Sansung Galaxy Web Browser and Chrome, but strangely enough, it also fails in the FF browser on Samsung Galaxy

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27820
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted July 28th, 2020, 11:15 am

The Geoff-Jones.mp4, indoor-dog-boarding.mp4 and LCDC-2019.mp4 examples plays fine in recent Firefox and in SeaMonkey 2.53.2

For Linux users make sure you have packages like FFmpeg and perhaps libavcodec installed. The FFmpeg provides codecs required for 2-3 of 6 things to be supported of the HTML5 players in use with sites like Youtube etc. For Windows if you have a N or KN edition of Windows then you may need to install the appropriate Media Features Pack for the OS to provide the codecs needed.

antonsvideo
 
Posts: 66
Joined: August 15th, 2012, 7:47 pm

Post Posted July 29th, 2020, 1:26 am

James wrote:The Geoff-Jones.mp4, indoor-dog-boarding.mp4 and LCDC-2019.mp4 examples plays fine in recent Firefox and in SeaMonkey 2.53.2

For Linux users make sure you have packages like FFmpeg and perhaps libavcodec installed. The FFmpeg provides codecs required for 2-3 of 6 things to be supported of the HTML5 players in use with sites like Youtube etc. For Windows if you have a N or KN edition of Windows then you may need to install the appropriate Media Features Pack for the OS to provide the codecs needed.


Did you play them all the way to the end? The error usually happens once more than 50% is played

Diorser

User avatar
 
Posts: 1009
Joined: June 22nd, 2005, 6:57 am

Post Posted July 29th, 2020, 4:37 am

James wrote:For Linux users make sure you have packages like FFmpeg and perhaps libavcodec installed..
Both ffmpeg and libavcodec58 are installed.
If it plays fine with Falkon, this new network problem is only seen with Firefox.

This mp4 bug is well known by Mozilla: 1649762 , 1479138 , 1484451 , 1655677

+ bugzilla.mozilla.org/buglist mp4

atlanto
 
Posts: 97
Joined: March 7th, 2015, 4:19 pm
Location: Japan

Post Posted July 29th, 2020, 7:16 pm

> https://www.videoproductions.com.au/vid ... -Jones.mp4
> https://www.videoproductions.com.au/video/LCDC-2019.mp4

"network.http.accept-encoding.secure=gzip,deflate" seems avoid the error.

On developer tool "Network"(Ctrl+Shift+E), I can see one request/response for mp4 above in errorneous case.
In normal case (1. other browser(chromium edge), 2. http/1.1(spdy disabled), 3. with prefs mod as above, 4. access mp4 on another site - e.g. https://www.learningcontainer.com/wp-co ... 4-file.mp4), I can see several requests/responses for mp4. There are succeeding 'get' req/res with status 206(partial content).
In errorneous case, firefox failed fetch next data, NS_ERROR_DOM_MEDIA_END_OF_STREAM stopped mediadecoder.
I don't know why firefox assumed stream-end though.

Return to Firefox Bugs


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests