MozillaZine

Detailed problem with firefox

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Messerschmitt
Guest
 

Post Posted May 22nd, 2005, 2:34 pm

I got some problems with the firefox. I have some screenshots that I will provide so the problem be more exactely understood.
I have 2 computers on witch Firefox Mozzila is instaled. on my secondary computer, computer 2, it is as it should be.

These are the problems:
1. On my Computer one, Mozzila cannot render anymore any animations. Emoticons, or Gif pictures, they are all static.
2. The download window lost informations. When downloading instead of: x mb of x mb at x kb/s download it is: x mb at x kb/s. unknown file size. The blue bar also have been transformed into a 1/4 size and its moving from left to right, just as the bar is when windows xp is boting.

Computer 1 pictures - faulty firefox mozzila.


Image

Image


Computer 2 pictures - Firefox mozzila that works ok.


Image

Image

hellene

User avatar
 
Posts: 5130
Joined: March 20th, 2005, 5:29 pm
Location: Bradford W.Yorks

Post Posted May 22nd, 2005, 3:19 pm

Two standard troubleshooting steps are

(1) Start Firefox in FIREFOX SAFE MODE and see if the problem persists. If it does not it is likely to be a faulty extension causing the problem

(2) Try creating a clean profile (don't delete your old one!! you probably have 5000 bookmarks in it) and see if the problem persists.

The FAQ post at the top of the forum contains further instructions if these are new activities for you.
I don't know how to do any of this stuff, I just hire the guys that do
Have you considered reading the HELP folder. Right there on your menu bar.
Image by Juniper http onic.net/~daylight/ - Xmas special by Ol Grumpy

Messerschmitt
Guest
 

Post Posted May 22nd, 2005, 3:48 pm

I have tried Both standard troubleshooting, and both 2 problems (image animations and download) still persist.
Please advise.

Messerschmitt
Guest
 

Post Posted May 22nd, 2005, 5:25 pm

A little bump ...

Messerschmitt
Guest
 

Post Posted May 22nd, 2005, 6:40 pm

Uninstall/Reinstall didnt worked! omg...

hellene

User avatar
 
Posts: 5130
Joined: March 20th, 2005, 5:29 pm
Location: Bradford W.Yorks

Post Posted May 23rd, 2005, 4:06 am

OK another tack.

Zone Alarm can block animated gifs http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=263039 and could also cause some of the issues with downloads

Some animations require plugins (http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=257665) but I guess you already thought of that

There is also a setting in about:config for animation (http://kb.mozillazine.org/Firefox_:_Tip ... ted_Images also http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=246706 - although this user's problem also turned out to be Zone Alarm)
I don't know how to do any of this stuff, I just hire the guys that do
Have you considered reading the HELP folder. Right there on your menu bar.
Image by Juniper http onic.net/~daylight/ - Xmas special by Ol Grumpy

Vectorspace
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 14455
Joined: November 27th, 2003, 4:50 am
Location: Warwickshire, UK

Post Posted May 23rd, 2005, 4:37 am

As for the download, I have noticed that if (I think) Firefox cannot establish more then one connection to the download. I think it uses one to download the file, and another to request info like file size. If it can only establish one, it does not get file size info.

I think.
"All things being equal, the simplest answer is usually the correct one" - Occam's Razor
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:5.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/5.0
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:5.0) Gecko/20110624 Thunderbird/5.0

Messerschmitt
 
Posts: 20
Joined: May 22nd, 2005, 9:54 pm

Post Posted May 23rd, 2005, 10:14 am

Well What can I say, Thank you very much. It seems that it was the ZA that torubled me on both problems. It seems that on medium, the animations were blocked (woneder why).
Also the download bar and information was screwd by cookies settings witch I had on medium also. Block 3rd party cookie and remove private header information was giving me that incomplete data about a download to almost all the downloads I made. Even if both selected, or only 1 of them, the problem was the same.
I didn't thought that 3rd cookie is used in the download window... or a private header information :/
Anyway thanks again.

Messerschmitt
 
Posts: 20
Joined: May 22nd, 2005, 9:54 pm

Post Posted May 23rd, 2005, 11:34 am

Still, how come some of the emoteicons are not animated still?

Roger77
 
Posts: 2146
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 3:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas

Post Posted May 23rd, 2005, 1:45 pm

Messerschmitt wrote:Still, how come some of the emoteicons are not animated still?

They are .gif's, and you probably have them blocked in your firewall, and set AniDisable to "normal" if you're using it.

I just installed EZ Trust Armor, and it seems it's driven by Zone Labs. Here's a screen shot of how I had to set mine to make AniDisable usuable. I assume EZ and ZA have similar set ups.
<a href="http://img90.echo.cx/my.php?image=firewallinterference0bt.png" target="_blank"><img src="http://img90.echo.cx/img90/3647/firewallinterference0bt.th.png" border="0" alt="Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us" /></a>
Hellene, you can add this to you Zone Alarm list.

hellene

User avatar
 
Posts: 5130
Joined: March 20th, 2005, 5:29 pm
Location: Bradford W.Yorks

Post Posted May 23rd, 2005, 2:16 pm

Done - I've added a link to your post.
I don't know how to do any of this stuff, I just hire the guys that do
Have you considered reading the HELP folder. Right there on your menu bar.
Image by Juniper http onic.net/~daylight/ - Xmas special by Ol Grumpy

Messerschmitt
 
Posts: 20
Joined: May 22nd, 2005, 9:54 pm

Post Posted May 23rd, 2005, 8:53 pm

Have the settings low. Its still many majority dont have anymation.
Here is my ZA settings witch is almost identical
Image

Here is a example of gif that I dont see the animation.

Image

Also some gif for example (same gif) on some forum I cant see it anymated, but on another I can.

And as I understood from a friend this 1.0.4 screwd up the images animations :/
Maybe the 1.0.5 would repair this?

Roger77
 
Posts: 2146
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 3:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas

Post Posted May 23rd, 2005, 9:26 pm

ZA and EZ are remarkably similar, aren't they. Actually, our settings are identical for now, and I can still see the animation.
Try this one, go to about:config and filter for image. There's an entry for "image.animation_mode". If it doesn't say "normal" right-click on it and modify it to normal.
I sure you'll let me know if it works. :) <- not animated.

Messerschmitt
 
Posts: 20
Joined: May 22nd, 2005, 9:54 pm

Post Posted May 23rd, 2005, 11:22 pm

Roger77 wrote:ZA and EZ are remarkably similar, aren't they. Actually, our settings are identical for now, and I can still see the animation.
Try this one, go to about:config and filter for image. There's an entry for "image.animation_mode". If it doesn't say "normal" right-click on it and modify it to normal.
I sure you'll let me know if it works. :) <- not animated.


I am sory but I do not know where is this about:config is found.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted May 23rd, 2005, 11:23 pm

in the address bar

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests