MozillaZine


[EXT] Forecastfox (fix version)

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
Brewskie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: October 31st, 2004, 11:57 am

Post Posted December 21st, 2020, 7:32 pm

FIXED!

I could not change the City using a zip code

The fix is turning off "HTTPS-Only Mode" in the Firefox settings

But I do hope the author of this extension updates it to take the setting into account

Just a heads-up for anyone stumbling into my post

Cheers!

Brew

edit

Doing this seems to be compatible with the add-on "HTTPS Everywhere"

Gazdok
 
Posts: 27
Joined: May 9th, 2016, 12:27 pm

Post Posted December 23rd, 2020, 9:15 am

MY FCF 4.26 was not updating, or better it updated when I disabled it and reenabled.
I am now using FCF fix 4.11 and there is no more dis and enabling.

PEGGIE47
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: February 4th, 2021, 8:21 am

Post Posted February 4th, 2021, 9:19 am

sundancer268 wrote:
Shadoefax wrote:It has to do with Forecastfox resolving http: vs https: protocols.

Add the following line to your C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts file: 184.28.182.59 forecastfox3.accuweather.com


Where do you add this line, Registry? If so, what section? I really need to get Forecast Fox working again. Thanks, Ed


HOW do I add this line to the host file? All that comes up is the sample.

Shadoefax

User avatar
 
Posts: 465
Joined: April 29th, 2005, 2:59 pm
Location: Glendale, AZ

Post Posted February 4th, 2021, 2:44 pm

Just add it to the end.

If you have no other entries in the hosts file, after adding the line it will look like this:

Code: Select all
# Copyright (c) 1993-2009 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
#      102.54.94.97     rhino.acme.com          # source server
#       38.25.63.10     x.acme.com              # x client host

# localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
#   127.0.0.1       localhost
#   ::1             localhost
184.28.182.59   forecastfox3.accuweather.com
All my signatures are stolen from other people. Including this one.
Homepage

Robwood

User avatar
 
Posts: 293
Joined: November 8th, 2005, 4:31 pm

Post Posted February 19th, 2021, 7:25 am

The toolbar display is broken. No matter how I try to reload the data--whether through clicking on the link, restarting the browser, or restarting my computer--the current forecast isn't being displayed.
Never give anyone your two cents because it's only a penny for your thoughts.

Rickkins
 
Posts: 521
Joined: January 12th, 2004, 3:25 pm

Post Posted February 27th, 2021, 8:23 am

Just back to Firefox, after quite some time, and have installed forecastfox(fix). Looks like the old forecast on longer displays atop the page. I'm guessing that's just how it is now...??

Thanks.

p060477
 
Posts: 8
Joined: August 27th, 2019, 7:11 am

Post Posted April 1st, 2021, 7:05 am

no way to use it since yesterday...
ff 87 win 10 home 64

sabesin2001
 
Posts: 3
Joined: October 29th, 2019, 10:07 am

Post Posted April 3rd, 2021, 10:50 am

am i really the only one who has this issue? on both my computers??

Posted May 30th, 2020, 4:18 pm
still wondering on this below, really liked getting the severe thunderstorm alerts on there previously

Hi pag77, I don't seem to get severe weather messages anymore on firefox. I tried toggling the option for it back and forth but they seem to be gone. Anyone else having that behavior?

janezek
 
Posts: 2
Joined: June 9th, 2021, 12:26 am

Post Posted June 9th, 2021, 12:29 am

Error!
Last edited by janezek on June 9th, 2021, 12:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

janezek
 
Posts: 2
Joined: June 9th, 2021, 12:26 am

Post Posted June 9th, 2021, 12:38 am

Hi!
I use old version of forecastfox. Last few days, there are problem with date.
Problems are on "http://forecastfox3.accuweather.com/adcbin/forecastfox3/current-conditions.asp".
Regards!

Gazdok
 
Posts: 27
Joined: May 9th, 2016, 12:27 pm

Post Posted June 16th, 2021, 3:26 am

Hi,

Has anyone found a workaround the date problem with forecastfox fix 4.26? It displays previous days when the PC boots up or when FF is restarted. It seems to affect new as well as old versions. I did add the suggested line into the windows host file with no effect.

ffuser123
 
Posts: 2
Joined: June 18th, 2021, 7:03 am

Post Posted June 18th, 2021, 7:12 am

janezek wrote:Hi!
I use old version of forecastfox. Last few days, there are problem with date.
Problems are on "http://forecastfox3.accuweather.com/adcbin/forecastfox3/current-conditions.asp".
Regards!


I've the same problem like you. Using old version from forecastfox-fix (2.4.2) and since some days the forecast was everyday wrong.

The problem is that in the XML file from accuweather the date from day 2, day 3 eg was wrong. Example: http://forecastfox3.accuweather.com/adc ... 0&langId=9

The problem could be fixed by making changes in a file within the xpi package.
(The .xpi file could be opend with winrar)

Open 'accuweather-adapter.js' in folder /chrome/content/ within the xpi file.

In the header from file you see an url like this:

var FORECAST_URL = "http://forecastfox3.accuweather.com/adcbin/forecastfox3/forecast-data.asp?location=${location}&metric=0&langId=1&${rnd_symbols}=${rnd}";

Delete the url from var FORECAST_URL

So it should look like that:

var FORECAST_URL = "";
var FORECAST_URL_ALTERNATIVE = "http://samsungmobile.accu-weather.com/widget/samsungmobile/weather-data.asp?location=${location}&metric=0&langId=${lang}&xmlVersion=6&${rnd_symbols}=${rnd}";

The XML file from samsungmobile shows the correct date for forecasts, and the plugin is working furthermore.

Example: https://samsungmobile.accu-weather.com/ ... 0&langId=9

Gazdok
 
Posts: 27
Joined: May 9th, 2016, 12:27 pm

Post Posted June 18th, 2021, 9:57 am

I have the same problem as janezek. I have opened the XPI in winrar and within winrar I have viewed 'accuweather-adapter.js' with an editor, but I cannot find the line 'var FORECAST_URL = "http://forecastfox3.accuweather.com/adcbin/forecastfox3/forecast-data.asp?location=${location}&metric=0&langId=1&${rnd_symbols}=${rnd}";'.

Where else would there be a accuweather-adapter.js?

ffuser123
 
Posts: 2
Joined: June 18th, 2021, 7:03 am

Post Posted June 18th, 2021, 12:00 pm

Dont know which version you are using. But in my accuweather-adapter.js file it was in line number 14.

DN123ABC
 
Posts: 630
Joined: January 9th, 2017, 10:10 am

Post Posted July 22nd, 2021, 9:50 am

My Firefox (91.0b5 (64-bit)) was complaining about Forecastfox slowing it down, and was asking me to stop or wait. I chose wait, but then disabled the Forecastfox extension. I will wait for an update to show up before I try using it again. I just wanted to let someone know, in case others are also having this issue. Thanks.

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests