MozillaZine


Allow opening new tab/window not possible any more?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
thoste
 
Posts: 218
Joined: June 7th, 2003, 12:45 am

Post Posted September 14th, 2021, 11:49 pm

In the past I clicked occasionally on links which opened a new window resp a new tab in Firefox.

This seems to be not possible any more in v92.

Can this someone confirm?

Maybe its because of the introduced new container feature?

Or do I have accidentally changed some privacy setting (which is responsible)?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 125475
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted September 15th, 2021, 8:07 am

That’s still possible. Have you tried starting the program in Mozilla Safe Mode?

thoste
 
Posts: 218
Joined: June 7th, 2003, 12:45 am

Post Posted September 15th, 2021, 10:46 am

Sorry, I have to be more precisely:

If I disable the checkbox in

Settings--->general--->Tabs--->Open links in tabs instead of new windows=No

...and click on a certain button then a new window is opened with the target webpage. Good!

However if I enable the checkbox above then nothing happens. bad!

So it has noting to do with "Safe mode".

Firefox must somehow disallow opening new tabs from another tab.
Is this a bug or intended?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 125475
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted September 15th, 2021, 11:40 am

What happens if you right ckick on the link and select "Open link in new tab"? Or if you middle click on the link? Or if you hold down the Ctrl key whild clicking on the link?

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 11467
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted September 15th, 2021, 11:46 am

Is it a popup-style window? Usually you can tell by the very limited toolbars. There is a separate preference for those in about:config:

(1) In a new tab, type or paste about:config in the address bar and press Enter/Return. Click the button accepting the risk.

(2) In the search box on the page, type or paste neww and pause while the list is filtered

(3) To modify either of the following preferences, double-click click them to display an editing field, and change the value as desired, then press Enter or click the blue check mark button to save the change.

(A) browser.link.open_newwindow => keep the default of 3 (new tab instead of new window)

(B) browser.link.open_newwindow.restriction => change to 0 to eliminate the exception for scripted windows with specified features

thoste
 
Posts: 218
Joined: June 7th, 2003, 12:45 am

Post Posted September 15th, 2021, 1:55 pm

DanRaisch wrote:What happens if you right click on the link and select "Open link in new tab"? Or if you middle click on the link? Or if you hold down the Ctrl key while clicking on the link?


Hmm, good idea, BUT:
there is no context menu "Open link in new tab".

There is a javascript behind the button which handles the open.

Fortunately Ctrl+Click opens the web page in new tab.

However I would like to avoid having to always remember which key I have to click to open it this way.

In former times clicking+opening in new tab works WITHOUT pressing additional CTRL key.
So what changed in recent Firefox?

Can I repair it and revert back to the previous handling?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 125475
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted September 15th, 2021, 2:35 pm

Again, that still works here, running version 92.0 under Win 10. Please try testing in Safe Mode, rather than assuming that it won't be any different.

thoste
 
Posts: 218
Joined: June 7th, 2003, 12:45 am

Post Posted September 15th, 2021, 11:28 pm

I tried it again in Safe Mode and simple click does NOT work.

BUT even it would work: I don't want to use always Safe Mode for my Firefox. Simple clicking should work with "normal" Firefox and all my Extensions and adjustments.

So the question is: Which of my settings prevent (without additional CTRL) auto-opening in new tab?

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 11467
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted September 16th, 2021, 12:02 am

Did you change browser.link.open_newwindow.restriction => 0 ?

thoste
 
Posts: 218
Joined: June 7th, 2003, 12:45 am

Post Posted September 16th, 2021, 12:43 am

Yes, browser.link.open_newwindow.restriction is set to 0

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 11467
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted September 16th, 2021, 8:19 am

Could you test using the links on my test page: https://www.jeffersonscher.com/res/popit.html After the preference changes, the third link should open in a new tab instead of a new window.

Maybe what you are clicking is not a link... Can you give an example page with this problem.

thoste
 
Posts: 218
Joined: June 7th, 2003, 12:45 am

Post Posted September 16th, 2021, 8:47 am

@jscher2000: I tested it.
The first two links work but not the third.

So ok here is a real life example:

1.) Goto the following german online magazine web page:

https://www.focus.de/immobilien/kaufen/ ... 05854.html

On the left side you see a colored round circle with 3 dots inside and a label "Mehr". Click on it. it will be expanded
Now click on the appearing circle with label "Drucken" (=Print). Nothing happens :-(

Only CTRL+click will open it in a new tab.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 125475
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted September 16th, 2021, 9:33 am

I don't see a round circle with dots and the label "Mehr". Can you post a screen shot? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Posting_a_scr ... _the_forum

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 11467
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted September 16th, 2021, 11:27 am

Thank you for the example. For me, the Drucken link works the same as the third link on the test page: new window by default, new tab with the preference modification.

If you don't get the new window or the new tab, I wonder whether you have some kind of extreme popup blocking?

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests