[EXT] Forecastfox (fix version)

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
Post Reply
fuzzyfox
Posts: 1
Joined: January 20th, 2024, 9:10 am

Re: [EXT] Forecastfox (fix version)

Post by fuzzyfox »

dickvl wrote: January 12th, 2024, 4:30 pm Like I wrote above, the link to open the page where you can select the location only works via insecure http:// and fails via secure https://, so you have to disable HTTPS-Only Mode temporarily to be able to set the location.

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/https-only-prefs
I have "don't enable https mode" and still can't change location from NYC. FF 121.0.1 windows 11
eplocie
Posts: 2
Joined: January 26th, 2024, 1:50 am
Location: Mississauga, ONT, CA

Re: [EXT] Forecastfox (fix version) - WORKAROUND

Post by eplocie »

Here's a WORKAROUND for the problem of "Can't change locations".

This is NOT an Addon Revision nor an Upgrade to this tool,
and I am not taking responsibility for any ongoing support.

Procedure:
1. Load a default config of Forecastfox (Fix version) - (which automatically includes "New York" location)

2. Under "OPTIONS" menu: Adjust all the other items to personalize your view:
Note: 1) Change "first_run" = true
2) Change "switch locations" to 5.0 minutes

3. At the bottom - "Save Settings" to the default file.

4. Using your browser url type: "https://www.accuweather.com/en"
then enter your [location], in order to determine your "cityId" and capture for later input,

ie) https://www.accuweather.com/en/us/honol ... y=honolulu
for Honolulu - look within address bar, it indicates "cityID" = 348211

5. Using your browser url type: "[location] Lat & Long"
in order to determine your location's Latitude & Longitude and capture for later input.

ie) "Honolulu Lat & Long" - returns Lat="21.3099", Long="157.8581"

6. Using any text editor - Edit the Forecastfox (fix version) file - which you previously saved.

7. Near the bottom of the text, find text of the following format:
location_list=[{"name":"New York, NY, USA","code":"cityId:349727","current":true,"rotate":true,"latlng":{"lat":40.7127837,"lng":-74.00594130000002}}]

8: At the end of the line - delete "]", add a "," then add the following formatted text for your location: at the end of the line.
ie) where name: Honolulu, HI, US
cityID: 348211
lat: 21.3099
lng: 157.8581

{"name":"Honolulu, HI, US","code":"cityId:348211","rotate":true,"current":true,"latlng":{"lat":21.3099,"lng":157.8581}}


9: Repeat #4-#8 for any additional locations.

10: After adding your LAST entry location spec - Add "]" at the end of that line.

11: Save this file.

12: Under Fordcastfox (Fix version)
- select "OPTIONS" -
- select "Load Settings" then select your file & enter.
yermulnik
Posts: 6
Joined: November 7th, 2015, 10:41 am
Location: Earth, Europe, Ukraine, Kiev

Re: [EXT] Forecastfox (fix version) - WORKAROUND

Post by yermulnik »

eplocie wrote: January 26th, 2024, 1:58 am Here's a WORKAROUND for the problem of "Can't change locations".
Nice one. Thanks!
User avatar
БлагоЯр
Posts: 8
Joined: July 17th, 2012, 12:11 pm

Re: [EXT] Forecastfox (fix version)

Post by БлагоЯр »

When trying to add a location, it gives out an error.
Image
eplocie
Posts: 2
Joined: January 26th, 2024, 1:50 am
Location: Mississauga, ONT, CA

Re: [EXT] Forecastfox (fix version)

Post by eplocie »

Have you tried the WORKAROUND using the following post ?

https://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopi ... #p14971402
nancye
Posts: 1
Joined: February 12th, 2024, 2:38 pm

Forecast Fox -connection issue?

Post by nancye »

Forecast Fox won't connect to the weather service, and so it's not working. Anyone else having this problem?'
TheVisitor
Posts: 5463
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Re: Forecast Fox -connection issue?

Post by TheVisitor »

nancye wrote: February 12th, 2024, 2:46 pm Forecast Fox won't connect to the weather service, and so it's not working. Anyone else having this problem?'
Yes, been that way now for about a day and half...
User avatar
L.A.R. Grizzly
Posts: 5396
Joined: March 15th, 2005, 5:32 pm
Location: Upstate Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: Forecast Fox -connection issue?

Post by L.A.R. Grizzly »

TheVisitor wrote: February 13th, 2024, 8:14 amYes, been that way now for about a day and half...
I have connection today, February 13th. Everything seems fine now.
Win7 Pro SP1 64 Bit
Comodo Internet Security
Pale Moon 33.0.0, Epyrus Mail 2.1.2, Firefox 115.6.0esr, Thunderbird 115.6.0, and SeaMonkey 2.53.18
wahuka
Posts: 3
Joined: February 14th, 2024, 6:20 am

Re: [EXT] Forecastfox (fix version)

Post by wahuka »

Since yesterday 13 I have no connection.
I am in Spain
BassLake
Posts: 2
Joined: April 22nd, 2023, 3:27 pm

Re: [EXT] Forecastfox (fix version)

Post by BassLake »

The burial for this extension is long past due. Other weather extensions exhibit no such problems.
User avatar
L.A.R. Grizzly
Posts: 5396
Joined: March 15th, 2005, 5:32 pm
Location: Upstate Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: [EXT] Forecastfox (fix version)

Post by L.A.R. Grizzly »

I'm starting to think this is an AccuWeather problem and not a ForecastFox problem. I have three different versions of ForecastFox in three different browsers and none of them have connections today. This has happened before. I'm just going to be patient and wait a while.
Win7 Pro SP1 64 Bit
Comodo Internet Security
Pale Moon 33.0.0, Epyrus Mail 2.1.2, Firefox 115.6.0esr, Thunderbird 115.6.0, and SeaMonkey 2.53.18
Yort
Posts: 6
Joined: September 21st, 2023, 3:12 pm

Re: [EXT] Forecastfox (fix version)

Post by Yort »

L.A.R. Grizzly wrote: February 14th, 2024, 9:50 am I'm starting to think this is an AccuWeather problem and not a ForecastFox problem. I have three different versions of ForecastFox in three different browsers and none of them have connections today. This has happened before. I'm just going to be patient and wait a while.
No connection here too. Since monday 2/12.
User avatar
LIMPET235
Moderator
Posts: 39912
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Re: [EXT] Forecastfox (fix version)

Post by LIMPET235 »

Well peeps, you'll be happy to read that shesa now a'workin' fine....again, at least down here in Oz.

Yippeeee.
[Ancient Amateur Astronomer.]
Win-10-H/64 bit/500G SSD/16 Gig Ram/450Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-115.0.2/T-bird-115.3.2./SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.125.

(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)
nierek
Posts: 4
Joined: February 14th, 2024, 11:54 am

Re: [EXT] Forecastfox (fix version)

Post by nierek »

LIMPET235 wrote: February 14th, 2024, 10:10 am Well peeps, you'll be happy to read that shesa now a'workin' fine....again, at least down here in Oz.
I have been unable to connect for at least 3 days now. I'm in North America.

It always worked perfectly for me (incl. the location stuff). But, now it's been permanently showing "There was problem connecting..."

I'm checking out an add-on called "Weather". But, it's not as nice. So, I hope they fix this.
DEHM
Posts: 4
Joined: February 14th, 2024, 3:04 pm

Re: [EXT] Forecastfox (fix version)

Post by DEHM »

Ditto for me in North America. Has shown a red symbol in the toolbar and "cannot connect to site," or words to that effect for several days.

I removed program and re-installed, in an attempt to see if my version was corrupt. It wasn't. Now all I have is the default NY with a blank box and a red question mark on the toolbar. ](*,)

I've used this program for many, many years and hope Oleksandr will get this fixed soon.
Last edited by DEHM on February 14th, 2024, 3:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Post Reply