MozillaZine

Decent status window

Discussion of features in Mozilla Thunderbird
Old Ausdilecce
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted May 20th, 2005, 3:21 pm

Richard,

You must now install the extension ( by clicking tools...extensions, then clicking the 'install' button on the lower left of that dialog ), then restart TB

Old Ausdilecce
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted May 21st, 2005, 8:25 pm

Just an update..

I *think* I have figured out the crashing bug that has hindered my progress all these months.. I will be testing the workaround for the next couple of days, and if all goes well, I will be uploading the new xpi ( probably Wed or Thurs.. )..

THis is what it will look like..
<img src="http://www.supportware.net/misc/ProgressMessages3.jpg">

and

<img src="http://www.supportware.net/mozilla/ProgressMessages4.jpg">

Lost User 115585
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted May 29th, 2005, 12:34 am

I've been using the extension for about a week now and I do get a history of status bar messages, but the messages would be more helpful if instead of e.g. "Looking up <server name>" it said "Looking up <Account Name>". The reason being that I have more than one account on a particular server. There must be other users with this arrangement as well. Could the status messages be adapted, or is that opening a whole new can of worms, so to speak?

ewodrich
 
Posts: 27
Joined: July 15th, 2004, 8:54 am

Post Posted May 29th, 2005, 12:10 pm

Greetings All!

I have thirteen different accounts spread around various servers, several of them on one server. I would very much like to have TB tell me which account it is currently downloading so that I don't have to be sitting there to watch the messages flash by. It might even be useful to be able to go back and save the last status message display log if there are problems. I am currently using TB version 1.0 (20041206) and am thinking of upgrading to 1.0.2. Does this extension work with all of them?

Best Regards,

Ed

Old Ausdilecce
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted May 29th, 2005, 6:02 pm

Can of worms was not that deep...

I have modified the extension to provide a bit more info..

Instead of 'bla bla <server name>'. The extension will now post
<account name> >bla bla <server name>...

For example

Pipeline >Looking up pop3.pipeline.com.au...
Pipeline >Connecting to pop3.pipeline.com.au...
Pipeline >Connected to pop3.pipeline.com.au...
Pipeline >Connect: Host contacted, sending login information...
Pipeline >There are no new messages on the server.
or
Pipeline >Receiving: message X of X
Pipeline >Received X of X messages.

Save the current status messaeg display log ? To what .. a file ? or to the clipboard ?

It *does* work with TB 1.0.2 ( I an developing it on nightly 20050517 )

This extension will override (and uncheck) the tools..account settings..<account>..server settings..check for new messages every X minutes..
If this setting *was* checked, the extension will store this setting in its own pref phistory.<accountname>.. This is because if TB does its automatic check mail every x minutes, it does NOT send *any* messages as to what it is doing.. If the extension performs this, it *will* collect the proper messages.. Please note this functionality because if you then uninstall ( or disable ) this extension, then you must reset your tools..account settings..<account>..server settings..check for new messages every X minutes setting..

NOTE that TB will *almost always* crash on exit with this extension installed.. It is something that I am still attempting to figure out.. TB will still save all states and prefs properly before the crash, so it should not effect anything in terms of workability..

version 0.0.8 of the extension is available here > www.supportware.net/mozilla/StatusMsgHistory.xpi

IF YOU ARE AT ALL UNCOMFORTABLE using an extension that has these quite obvious hacks and issues, DO NOT USE IT..

francescob
 
Posts: 20
Joined: October 21st, 2003, 12:15 am

Post Posted May 31st, 2005, 2:34 am

hello aus, i've installed your extension, it looks very interesting, but after installing it nothing shows up. I'm using thunderbird 1.0.2 on windows xp. Any hint?

i see this error in the javascript console, not sure is extension related though:

Error: missing name after . operator
Source File: chrome://phistory/content/phistory.js
Line: 105, Column: 34
Source Code:
PHglobals..obSvc.notifyObservers(null, "updateHistory_newStatusTextElement", str);

EDIT:

corrected the error by myself, there was two lines like this: PHglobals..obSvc.notifyObservers, a typo, i guess :)

mvtimes

User avatar
 
Posts: 16
Joined: January 26th, 2005, 7:24 pm

Post Posted May 31st, 2005, 9:33 am

Why does Thunderbird does not show any status when receiving messages, like the one it shows while sending messages ?

I use thunderbird 1.0.2

When I send a message it shows the message

"Connecting to smtp.gmail.com"

for a long time. It does not send the message. I cancel it and send it again. I do this for 4 or 5 times. Then only the message is sent. Please help me solve this problem.

----------------------------------------------
<a href="http://itly.blogspot.com/2005/05/thunderbird-settings-backup-restore.html">Thunderbird Settings backup / restore</a><br><a href="http://itly.blogspot.com/2005/02/thunderbird-gmail-configuration.html">Thunderbird Gmail Configuration</a>

Old Ausdilecce
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted May 31st, 2005, 1:28 pm

francescob wrote:hello aus, i've installed your extension, it looks very interesting, but after installing it nothing shows up. I'm using thunderbird 1.0.2 on windows xp. Any hint?

i see this error in the javascript console, not sure is extension related though:


PHglobals..obSvc.notifyObservers(null, "updateHistory_newStatusTextElement", str);

EDIT:

corrected the error by myself, there was two lines like this: PHglobals..obSvc.notifyObservers, a typo, i guess :)


Wow.. Don't know how that one slipped through..

the xpi is corrected and is available.. Sorry guys

mstboh
 
Posts: 10
Joined: January 16th, 2005, 12:57 pm

Post Posted May 31st, 2005, 2:05 pm

Hi,

gret work, Thank you for this extension! The crash at ShutDown is a bit annoying, I hope you will find the reason.

I have the following error in my JavaScriptConsole, another typo?:

Error: itm.substr is not a function
Source File: chrome://phistory/content/proghist.xul Line 118

Greets
mstboh

Old Ausdilecce
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted May 31st, 2005, 2:18 pm

Yea, that shutdown crash drives me nuts too.. But its a heck of a lot better than a crash 5 secs after TB is started !! I am pretty sure that crash is due to the fact that JS cannot thread safely ( one of the things the extension does is replace C++ listeners with JS listeners, and one of those C++ listeners is threadsafe )

The error you are getting in proghist is not a typo.. The extension has no error handling in that function.. I will fix it shortly

jmilton
 
Posts: 2
Joined: June 27th, 2005, 5:03 pm

Post Posted June 28th, 2005, 1:08 pm

Hello, just want to say that your extension is great. The only thing I would like to see is the total messages arriving from all accounts combined and the total size in KB of all the incoming messages combined. That way, you can see how much is downloading. Is this possible?

The crash on exit is not that bad, a little irritating, but not that bad:) Thanks for the extension. It makes TB alot better!

Old Ausdilecce
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted June 28th, 2005, 2:38 pm

JMilton,

Thanks for the feedback.

There really isn't a way to 'combine' the total size and total messages incoming.. TB fetches mail asyncronously ( meaning *not* in a set order or manner ).. Also, the fetch operations for each account are completely separated. ( to avoid having a situation where an error in one account's fetch would hold up another account's fetch )

Therefore, there is no 'right time' to get the totals and display them..
Sorry

Alexandros
 
Posts: 47
Joined: February 12th, 2004, 1:32 am

Post Posted July 3rd, 2005, 9:19 am

any advance in this? i try to download the extension from here: http://www.supportware.net/mozilla/#ext20 and it's unavaliable.
thanks

Old Ausdilecce
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted July 3rd, 2005, 4:50 pm

Its back up Alexandros.. at version 0.0.8

Atamido
 
Posts: 2
Joined: July 5th, 2005, 12:09 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Post Posted July 5th, 2005, 12:14 pm

Great extension. I'm super glad to finally find a way to see what TB is doing.

Return to Thunderbird Features


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests