HTML Meta Refresh tag issue with Firefox

Discuss how to use and promote Web standards with the Mozilla Gecko engine.
Post Reply
jz_cz_my_jz
Guest

HTML Meta Refresh tag issue with Firefox

Post by jz_cz_my_jz »

Hello,

I encountered a problem with HTML Meta Refresh tag.

I used a Meta Refresh tag in my HTML page to refresh the page at a certain period of time.

It works properly with Internet Explorer.

But with Firefox the page is displayed correctly at first time then when refresh timer expires it becomes a blank(white) page and stays there until I press the reload button then the page comes out properly. I viewed the source of the blank (white) page it is exact same as a correct page. I don't know why the page cannot be displayed properly.

My computer runs under win98.

I am wondering anyone encountered this before?

Thanks for help.
old np
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post by old np »

I'll move this to the Web Development forum. You'll have to register to post there.
User avatar
Robin_reala
Posts: 1344
Joined: September 7th, 2003, 1:21 pm
Location: Guildford, UK
Contact:

Post by Robin_reala »

Could you past your code or provide a link to the page in question?
User avatar
jqp
Posts: 5070
Joined: November 17th, 2004, 10:56 am
Location: In a box
Contact:

Post by jqp »

Depending on a number of factors, the pref network.http.redirection-limit in about:config may have something to do with it.
Have a link to the page that's doing this?

Do things work better if the server sends a "redirect" header instead of using the HTML meta tag?
jz_cz_my_jz
Posts: 4
Joined: June 23rd, 2005, 3:09 pm
Location: Canada

codes and link

Post by jz_cz_my_jz »

Thanks for reply!

The Meta Refresh code:

<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="60" URL="index.htm">

Page link:
http://192.168.0.121/

Thanks,
User avatar
peter.reisio
Posts: 3166
Joined: March 3rd, 2004, 6:57 pm
Contact:

Post by peter.reisio »

User avatar
jqp
Posts: 5070
Joined: November 17th, 2004, 10:56 am
Location: In a box
Contact:

Post by jqp »

http://192.168.0.121/ - that's not an internet address
192.168.xxx.xxx IP addresses are IP addresses for local networks used by some brands of routers, etc...
If the problem is related to your router or your network somehow, that gets a little over my head.
dakboy
Posts: 3451
Joined: November 30th, 2002, 12:30 pm

Post by dakboy »

peter's link also points out that the syntax used by the OP is incorrect. The page is refreshing, but has not been given a URL to refresh to. Correct code would be

Code: Select all

<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="60; URL=index.htm"> 
Note that the refresh interval AND URL are both part of the value of the content attribute.
jz_cz_my_jz
Posts: 4
Joined: June 23rd, 2005, 3:09 pm
Location: Canada

Post by jz_cz_my_jz »

Hi,

I think I should give a bit more info about my question.

This is a very simple embedded web server program. It resides in a microprocessor-based embedded product and is based on a RTOS. It is designed to provide a means for customer to monitor alarm information remotely using web Browser.

I used HTML Meta Refresh tag for automatically refreshing the current alarm pages that include dynamic alarm data not for redirection purpose.

Regarding the HTML Meta Refresh tag syntax, it doesn't matter since I don't use it for redirection purpose.

The program has been working properly until recently we got a phone call from our customer who said the alarm page automatic refresh didn't work with Firefox browser.

Thanks,
dakboy
Posts: 3451
Joined: November 30th, 2002, 12:30 pm

Post by dakboy »

jz_cz_my_jz wrote:Regarding the HTML Meta Refresh tag syntax, it doesn't matter since I don't use it for redirection purpose.

The program has been working properly until recently we got a phone call from our customer who said the alarm page automatic refresh didn't work with Firefox browser.
Oh it most certainly does matter. Your syntax is wrong. IE is "guessing" at what you intended. Firefox makes no such attempt. It's doing exactly what you tell it to do.

Fix the syntax and let us know what happens.
jz_cz_my_jz
Posts: 4
Joined: June 23rd, 2005, 3:09 pm
Location: Canada

Post by jz_cz_my_jz »

Hello,

Actually originally I wrote the HTML Meta Refresh tag as follows:

<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="60; url=index.htm">

then I changed it according to my friend's suggestion into:

<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="60" url="index.htm">

They both do the same thing no any difference.

Thanks,
dtobias
Posts: 2098
Joined: November 9th, 2002, 3:35 pm
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Contact:

Post by dtobias »

I don't think you're supposed to use relative URLs in meta refreshes, and also, if the users came into the page with the IP address (or domain name) alone, it's inconsistent to refresh to "index.htm", which would put two different URLs in the browser's history. Better to refresh to the full URL, "http://192.168.0.121/".
Dan's Web Tips: http://webtips.dan.info/
Dan's Domain Site: http://domains.dan.info/
Dan's Mail Format Site: http://mailformat.dan.info/
User avatar
Robin_reala
Posts: 1344
Joined: September 7th, 2003, 1:21 pm
Location: Guildford, UK
Contact:

Post by Robin_reala »

OK, here's a redirect page I've been using recently that will definitely work in Firefox (I've hidden the URL cos the site's not live yet):

Code: Select all

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3. org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
<html>
<head>
  <title>Redirecting...</title>
   <meta http-equiv="REFRESH" content="0; URL=/relative/url/path" />
</head>
<body></body>
</html>
globalreachllc
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: August 6th, 2011, 12:05 am
Contact:

Re: HTML Meta Refresh tag issue with Firefox

Post by globalreachllc »

ah, I was having the same issue too with my site convert youtube to mp3 youtube mp3 converter . Thanks Robin that helped fix it.
Last edited by LoudNoise on August 6th, 2011, 10:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Broke the links since they were not necessary.
Post Reply