aebrahim: Win32 2003-08-27 optimised (P3/P4/AthlonXP-SSE)

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
aebrahim
Posts: 1234
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 2:47 am
Location: Hong Kong
Contact:

aebrahim: Win32 2003-08-27 optimised (P3/P4/AthlonXP-SSE)

Post by aebrahim »

I built Mozilla Firebird today from CVS with MSVC++ .NET 2003 using some optimisations. These builds are not 100% identical to CVS, because I've changed a few lines in mozilla/configure.in and mozilla/configure, and I've also changed a few makefiles. I've also applied a somewhat dirty trick with my VS.NET 2003 install, where I'm using some libraries from VS.NET 2002. However, it's using the VS.NET 2003 compilers and linkers, so it should fully benefit from the new optimisations. I've posted the builds here:

Optimised for Pentium 4, Athlon XP, newer Durons, Pentium M and Celeron 1.7GHz+ with SSE (-O1 -G7 -arch:SSE):
http://pryan.org/firebird/aebrahim/Mozi ... G7-SSE.zip (6.04MB - zip)
http://pryan.org/firebird/aebrahim/Mozi ... G7-SSE.exe (4.75MB - 7z sfx)
The above build will work on systems that support the SSE instruction set ONLY.


Optimised for Pentium III and Pentium III based Celerons with SSE (-O1 -G6 -arch:SSE):
http://pryan.org/firebird/aebrahim/Mozi ... G6-SSE.zip (6.05MB - zip)
http://pryan.org/firebird/aebrahim/Mozi ... G6-SSE.exe (4.74MB - 7z sfx)
The above build will work on systems that support the SSE instruction set ONLY.

You can find a copy of these builds (and my older builds) on pryan's mirror:
http://pryan.org/firebird/aebrahim
(I only have space for my latest builds on my webspace, so for older ones you will have to check the mirror. Thanks pryan!)

My .mozconfig is as follows:

export MOZ_PHOENIX=1
mk_add_options MOZ_PHOENIX=1
ac_add_options --enable-crypto
ac_add_options --disable-tests
ac_add_options --disable-debug
ac_add_options --disable-mailnews
ac_add_options --disable-composer
ac_add_options --enable-optimize="see build info"
ac_add_options --disable-ldap
ac_add_options --enable-extensions=cookie,xml-rpc,xmlextras,p3p,pref,transformiix,universalchardet,typeaheadfind,webservices
ac_add_options --enable-static
ac_add_options --disable-shared
ac_add_options --disable-profilesharing
ac_add_options --disable-installer

I've included a copy of my .mozconfig in the build folder itself. For more on what the optimisation switches do see this link:
http://www.msdnaa.net/Resources/display.aspx?ResID=1972
Last edited by aebrahim on August 27th, 2003, 5:18 pm, edited 2 times in total.
aebrahim
Posts: 1234
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 2:47 am
Location: Hong Kong
Contact:

Post by aebrahim »

I wish the topic lines would accept more characters! There's no space to write that these builds are SSE enabled.
User avatar
kronckew
Posts: 314
Joined: August 19th, 2003, 3:44 am
Location: CSA Consulate, rm. 101, Glos., UK

Post by kronckew »

small mistook, the PIII's 01-g6-sse.zip link is in twice & .exe one is missing - correct .exe file IS up on the mirror site though.
CAVE CANEM RADIX LECTI ET SEMPER PARATUS
Retired: Everyday I make a list of those things
That I am not going to do today, Then I don't do them.
aebrahim
Posts: 1234
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 2:47 am
Location: Hong Kong
Contact:

Post by aebrahim »

kronckew wrote:small mistook, the PIII's 01-g6-sse.zip link is in twice & .exe one is missing - correct .exe file IS up on the mirror site though.

Thanks, I've corrected it.
bIOHZRd
Posts: 47
Joined: July 9th, 2003, 7:35 am

Post by bIOHZRd »

-edit- No its not -edit- TBE latest build is working ( and saving prefs.) http://white.sakura.ne.jp/~piro/xul/xpi ... s_test.xpi

Cookie whitelisting working. ALso saving the prefs (for originating site only, allow cookies, etc)

about: in the URL bar works now.

very speedy as well.

everything I use on a daily basis works all fine.

Thanks!

-edit- ok, TBE doesnt let you get beyond the expert prefs screen... oops.
JPS
Posts: 115
Joined: January 28th, 2003, 10:31 pm
Contact:

Post by JPS »

AXP/P4 version bering mirrored here: htpp://copperdog.org/firebird/builds
User avatar
chrisgeleven
Posts: 3117
Joined: November 8th, 2002, 6:55 pm
Location: Manchester, NH USA
Contact:

Post by chrisgeleven »

The bug (in firebird or TBE?) that prevents TBE's options from not being seen or edited is pissing me off, especially since I created a new profile for this build since my other one had too many problems. Now I have to surf without tabbed windows until it is fixed, oh the pain of multiple windows ](*,)

That said, great build otherwise. Keep it up devs and thanks to everyone that does the optimized builds. This P3 build with SSE enabled is ruling speed wise.
Apple Macbook (Black) - 2.0 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 250GB HD, Mac OS X 10.6.x, Firefox 3.6.x
User avatar
jrobbio
Posts: 713
Joined: June 28th, 2003, 12:40 pm
Location: Loughborough, England
Contact:

Post by jrobbio »

Thanks again Aebrahim, this build is just as good as the last Athlon XP specialised one you did with a couple of the bugs fixed. I haven't been using an official build for about 2-3 weeks now.

Rob
Official Win32 BitTorrent 0.7: here
BT Tracker
- Get the latest Fire/Thunderbird builds
User avatar
SwampFan
Posts: 178
Joined: February 25th, 2003, 9:40 am
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Post by SwampFan »

chrisgeleven wrote:The bug (in firebird or TBE?) that prevents TBE's options from not being seen or edited is pissing me off, especially since I created a new profile for this build since my other one had too many problems. Now I have to surf without tabbed windows until it is fixed, oh the pain of multiple windows ](*,)

That said, great build otherwise. Keep it up devs and thanks to everyone that does the optimized builds. This P3 build with SSE enabled is ruling speed wise.


Why would you have to surf without tabs just because you don't have TBE? I don't use TBE any longer (got tired of it always breaking) and use tabs all the time. I have a few customizations in my userchrome and user.js which give me the TBE functions I really want anyway.

So far, I'm loving this build - it is speedy on my P3 750 laptop!!

Swamp
User avatar
The finalcut
Posts: 37
Joined: August 27th, 2003, 4:59 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by The finalcut »

is there any url that explain how to edit what u have just said swamp?
Im a huge fan of tab too and it piss me off since it doenst work anymore

I'd like to have them by editing the file...
And still the dark stain spreads between
his shoulder blades
A mute reminder of the poppy fields and graves
And when the fight was over
We spent what they had made
But in the bottom of our hearts
We felt the final cut

--Roger Waters
VinceVW
Posts: 113
Joined: November 13th, 2002, 4:20 am
Location: Heaven 69

Post by VinceVW »

chrisgeleven wrote:The bug (in firebird or TBE?) that prevents TBE's options from not being seen or edited is pissing me off, especially since I created a new profile for this build since my other one had too many problems. Now I have to surf without tabbed windows until it is fixed, oh the pain of multiple windows ](*,)

That said, great build otherwise. Keep it up devs and thanks to everyone that does the optimized builds. This P3 build with SSE enabled is ruling speed wise.


Does anyone know if the maker of TBE (pyro?) released a build to fix this?
User avatar
The finalcut
Posts: 37
Joined: August 27th, 2003, 4:59 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by The finalcut »

VinceVW wrote:
chrisgeleven wrote:The bug (in firebird or TBE?) that prevents TBE's options from not being seen or edited is pissing me off, especially since I created a new profile for this build since my other one had too many problems. Now I have to surf without tabbed windows until it is fixed, oh the pain of multiple windows ](*,)

That said, great build otherwise. Keep it up devs and thanks to everyone that does the optimized builds. This P3 build with SSE enabled is ruling speed wise.


Does anyone know if the maker of TBE (pyro?) released a build to fix this?


No vince and that's why we are all finding another way to use tab without this extension :(
And still the dark stain spreads between
his shoulder blades
A mute reminder of the poppy fields and graves
And when the fight was over
We spent what they had made
But in the bottom of our hearts
We felt the final cut

--Roger Waters
User avatar
chrisgeleven
Posts: 3117
Joined: November 8th, 2002, 6:55 pm
Location: Manchester, NH USA
Contact:

Post by chrisgeleven »

SwampFan wrote:Why would you have to surf without tabs just because you don't have TBE? I don't use TBE any longer (got tired of it always breaking) and use tabs all the time. I have a few customizations in my userchrome and user.js which give me the TBE functions I really want anyway.


Because I run TBE in single window mode, which opens all new windows into tabs. Makes browsing so simple and organized this way. I have yet to find another extension or the necessary code to do this without TBE. That is why I need TBE, without it browsing is much more difficult and slower for me.
Apple Macbook (Black) - 2.0 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 250GB HD, Mac OS X 10.6.x, Firefox 3.6.x
RivanG
Posts: 71
Joined: April 16th, 2003, 7:52 am
Location: Elkview, WV
Contact:

Post by RivanG »

bIOHZRd wrote:-edit- No its not -edit- TBE latest build is working ( and saving prefs.) http://white.sakura.ne.jp/~piro/xul/xpi ... s_test.xpi

Cookie whitelisting working. ALso saving the prefs (for originating site only, allow cookies, etc)

about: in the URL bar works now.

very speedy as well.

everything I use on a daily basis works all fine.

Thanks!

-edit- ok, TBE doesnt let you get beyond the expert prefs screen... oops.


This version of TBE WFM...
VinceVW
Posts: 113
Joined: November 13th, 2002, 4:20 am
Location: Heaven 69

Post by VinceVW »

RivanG wrote:
bIOHZRd wrote:-edit- No its not -edit- TBE latest build is working ( and saving prefs.) http://white.sakura.ne.jp/~piro/xul/xpi ... s_test.xpi

-edit- ok, TBE doesnt let you get beyond the expert prefs screen... oops.


This version of TBE WFM...


Will try it! Thanks d00d! ;-)

*edit: I can confirm that it works. :-)
Last edited by VinceVW on August 27th, 2003, 2:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Post Reply