MozillaZine

[Ext] MR Tech's Link Wrapper 2.2.1 Released

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
mrtech

User avatar
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: May 15th, 2003, 7:46 am
Location: New York

Post Posted November 18th, 2005, 11:20 pm

MR Tech's Link Wrapper 2.2.1

Homepage: http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/
UMO Download: https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/2021/
Main Download: http://www.mrtech.com/msgboard/link_wrapper.xpi
Test Page: http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/link_wrapper.html
Supported: Firefox 1.0-3.0, Netscape 8.1, Flock, Seamonkey & Mozilla Suite
E-Mail: mrtech [at] gmail.com

Wraps long links to spare you from having to scroll left and right. This is basically a very modded and severely hacked version of the bookmarklet code that's out there. Thanks goes out to Recall for waiting for me to release this.

2.2 Release Notes:
  • Added: Link and long word wrapping now also reflows pre tags
  • Added: SeaMonkey 2.0a1 Officially Supported
  • Updated: Bumped Firefox, SeaMonkey and fixed Flock supported version
  • Fixed: Properly supporting Firefox 3.0 beta builds, includes fixes to Setting dialog
  • Fixed: Removing tab and content event listener on unload
  • Fixed: Added some Import/Export value checks and fixes
  • Fixed: Undeclared variables, inconsistent event calls and other cleanup
Complete Version History

To test Link Wrapper visit this page before and then after install the extension:
http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/link_wrapper.html

The latest version 2.0 brings more options and easier ways to troubleshoot issues, for folks who don't want all the bells and whistles, the trimmed down version is available via Link Wrapper Lite which can be downloaded here:
https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/2547/

Here are some 2.0 features:
<li> Statusbar notification of: enabled, disabled, character limit reached or blacklisted sites
<li> Clicking statusbar icon will yield opposite of current setting, so you can effectively:
* turn wrapping off and only click it when you need it temporarily or
* leave it on and when you want to see a sight in long line mode just click it and it will display as-is temporarily or
* if enabled and you hit either the character limit or blacklist you can click it to temporarily allow link wrapping.

<li> Draggable statusbar icon to any position you want on the statusbar
<li> Option to hide statusbar icon and hide tools menu "options" menu item
<li> Full customization of all current hidden settings
<li> Full option dialog with all the bells and whistles, export, import, reset preferences
<li> Increased default character limit to 30k characters

Note: Link Wrapper will force Linkification to only highlight part of a text link, version 1.2.2 of Linkification adds a "Thorough Mode" which is disabled by default that will resolve this, or you can just double-click on the unhighlighted text on the right of the text from a link to have it open properly.
Last edited by mrtech on June 18th, 2008, 11:41 am, edited 43 times in total.
mel reyes • mrtech.com • BlogPlaxoLinkedInTwitter
Support mrtech.com get our toolbar

Recall

User avatar
 
Posts: 1686
Joined: November 7th, 2004, 11:07 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post Posted November 18th, 2005, 11:20 pm

Nice! Works a treat so far, might be an idea to include a test link?

Oh think I found a bug, the quick reply section appears to be broken with this enabled. Gonna test on a clean profile to be sure. Will report back ::D

ok tested and:

Yep defo breaks quick reply on this board ::(
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0; en-GB; rv:1.9) Gecko/2008051206 Firefox/3.0

Zoolcar9

User avatar
 
Posts: 2225
Joined: November 9th, 2004, 6:45 pm
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia (UTC+7)

Post Posted November 18th, 2005, 11:20 pm

mrtech wrote:Wraps long links to spare you from having to scroll left and right. This is basically a very modded and severely hacked version of the bookmarklet code that's out there. Thanks goes out to Recall for waiting for me to release this.

You mean from this thread? Your extension does like what my bookmarklet modification and my Greasemonkey script in that thread do:

* It makes the Quick Reply in this forum not working
* It also wraps plain text

The good news is the EventListeners on content.document still works :)


//edit: oops didn't see recall's post above

My Firefox information | Add-ons | GitHub

"With great power, comes great desire to show it off."

mrtech

User avatar
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: May 15th, 2003, 7:46 am
Location: New York

Post Posted November 18th, 2005, 11:20 pm

I had seen the text one with javascript source, I was going to add PRE as a tag to ignore but was doing a bunch of tests, I'll readd and retest.
mel reyes • mrtech.com • BlogPlaxoLinkedInTwitter
Support mrtech.com get our toolbar

mrtech

User avatar
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: May 15th, 2003, 7:46 am
Location: New York

Post Posted November 18th, 2005, 11:20 pm

0.9.2 Dev Build Released:
- Added: Link to Link Wrapper test page on first post: http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/link_wrapper.html
- Added: Support for Flock and will now auto-update with next release
- Fixed: Plain text css and js views will not be wrapped or garbled
mel reyes • mrtech.com • BlogPlaxoLinkedInTwitter
Support mrtech.com get our toolbar

IceDogg
 
Posts: 657
Joined: July 24th, 2004, 11:26 am

Post Posted November 18th, 2005, 11:57 pm

Just a thought.. how about whitelisting sites instead of blacklisting (excluding sites) that don't work. Because for me it's mainly just forums or blogs that I'd use this on. Thanks for making this..and this doesn't mean I don't like it. It's just something I'd like to see.

Recall

User avatar
 
Posts: 1686
Joined: November 7th, 2004, 11:07 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post Posted November 19th, 2005, 8:06 am

mrtech wrote:0.9.2 Dev Build Released:
- Added: Link to Link Wrapper test page on first post: http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/link_wrapper.html
- Added: Support for Flock and will now auto-update with next release
- Fixed: Plain text css and js views will not be wrapped or garbled


Getting better mate! If you can figure out how to fix the quick reply on here ( i am sure other sites will be affected that use the same board ) then we are well on our way :D
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0; en-GB; rv:1.9) Gecko/2008051206 Firefox/3.0

Zoolcar9

User avatar
 
Posts: 2225
Joined: November 9th, 2004, 6:45 pm
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia (UTC+7)

Post Posted November 20th, 2005, 8:29 pm


I just remember, the quick reply doesn't work either with Jesse Ruderman's Endless Forum Pages user script Greasemonkey script (see comment #1646). So the problem is with this forum, not your extension.

I have written a Greasemonkey script to move the elements

Code: Select all
var form, inputs, forumline, script;

form = document.evaluate('//form[@name="post"]',
  document, null, XPathResult.UNORDERED_NODE_SNAPSHOT_TYPE, null).snapshotItem(0);

inputs = document.evaluate('//td[@id="main"]/input[@type="hidden"]',
  document, null, XPathResult.UNORDERED_NODE_SNAPSHOT_TYPE, null);

for(var i = 0; i < inputs.snapshotLength; i++)
  form.appendChild(inputs.snapshotItem(i));

forumline = document.evaluate('//table[@class="forumline"]',
  document, null, XPathResult.UNORDERED_NODE_SNAPSHOT_TYPE, null).snapshotItem(0);

script = forumline.getElementsByTagName('script')[0];

forumline.parentNode.insertBefore(script, forumline);
forumline.parentNode.insertBefore(form, forumline);

form.appendChild(forumline);

The quick reply comes back to life :)

If only Kerz wants to fix it...

My Firefox information | Add-ons | GitHub

"With great power, comes great desire to show it off."

mrtech

User avatar
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: May 15th, 2003, 7:46 am
Location: New York

Post Posted November 21st, 2005, 2:08 pm

Will be adding an option panel for hidden preferences later and might consider switching to whitelisting if I find major site issues, etc.

0.9.3 Release Notes:
- Added: Hidden pref for length to wrap: link_wrapper.wrapLength, default value is "45"
- Added: Hidden pref for sites to ignore: link_wrapper.ignoreList, default regex value is "google|ask\.com|altavista|lycos|search.msn|alltheweb|teoma|bloglines|yahoo"
- Added: Hidden pref for html tags to ignore: link_wrapper.ignoreTags, default regex value is "STYLE|SCRIPT|TEXTAREA|PRE|IMG|INPUT" (tHIs IS cAse sENtiTive)
- Fixed: MozillaZine Quick Reply was broken with Link Wrapper installed (special thanks to Zoolcar9 for the code)
- Fixed: Performance issues on many sites has been resolved ignore list is now primarily for compatibility with Linkification
- Updated: Changed some variables to make them human readable and understandable with a bunch of code cleanup too
mel reyes • mrtech.com • BlogPlaxoLinkedInTwitter
Support mrtech.com get our toolbar

Recall

User avatar
 
Posts: 1686
Joined: November 7th, 2004, 11:07 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post Posted November 21st, 2005, 3:27 pm

I can always count on you MrTech to find and fix bugs with your extensions and improve them at a vast rate! Fantastic stuff!

BTW posted this with quick reply :)

Will report back with any bugs.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0; en-GB; rv:1.9) Gecko/2008051206 Firefox/3.0

Recall

User avatar
 
Posts: 1686
Joined: November 7th, 2004, 11:07 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post Posted November 21st, 2005, 4:18 pm

Ok I found a bug, forum related again.

Join here

http://discuss.futuremark.com/forum/wwwthreads.pl?Cat=

Make a post
Hit preview
Hit submit

On hitting submit nothing happens.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0; en-GB; rv:1.9) Gecko/2008051206 Firefox/3.0

mrtech

User avatar
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: May 15th, 2003, 7:46 am
Location: New York

Post Posted November 21st, 2005, 6:45 pm

Recall wrote:Ok I found a bug, forum related again.

Join here

http://discuss.futuremark.com/forum/wwwthreads.pl?Cat=


I'll look to see if the same MozZine hack works there, but in the meantime if the forum handles long links properly just add "futuremark" to the ignoreList pref.
mel reyes • mrtech.com • BlogPlaxoLinkedInTwitter
Support mrtech.com get our toolbar

AmboyGuy

User avatar
 
Posts: 3304
Joined: July 6th, 2004, 9:19 am

Post Posted November 23rd, 2005, 7:30 pm

Found out that the extension breaks the reply functions on the ubuntu forums ( Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.1 ) It's a no characters entered thing after typing my heart out.
http://ubuntuforums.org/index.php
Disabling the wrapper extension (0.9.3.1) allowed replying with no problems.
Mozilla/5.0 (Ubuntu; X11; Linux i686; rv:9.0.1) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/9.0.1 ID:20111228084953

gssq

User avatar
 
Posts: 503
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 10:17 am
Location: Singapore

Post Posted November 24th, 2005, 1:42 am

Hi. Thanks for the effort, but this extension breaks junk mail reporting/mail deleting from the inbox screen on Hotmail

XerBlade

User avatar
 
Posts: 865
Joined: October 4th, 2005, 10:45 pm
Location: Nashville, TN, US

Post Posted November 24th, 2005, 7:54 am

It breaks basically all features on the post/reply page on Proboards forums, including posting itself. However, Proboards in general on the exclude list would defeat the entire purpose of this extension (forums I believe are the #1 place which needs this, after all). Also, due to the way the Proboards URLs are set up, you'd probably have to have about 50 different lines added to the exclude list (even with dynamic asterisks in the right places) to cover all of the necessary addresses (the specific post URLs).... And no one goes to anywhere near all of them anyway.
So, the option to add custom lines to the exclude list would be greatly appreciated. I can't even keep it enabled in the meantime.
User Agent
Extensions
AMD64/2.41GHz RAM/1.0GB ATI/256MB-GDDR3/128-bit/8xAGP Cable6.0M/384kbps

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests