aebrahim: W32 2003-09-26 optimised for P3-SSE/Athlon

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
aebrahim
Posts: 1234
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 2:47 am
Location: Hong Kong
Contact:

aebrahim: W32 2003-09-26 optimised for P3-SSE/Athlon

Post by aebrahim »

I built Mozilla Firebird today from CVS with MSVC++ .NET 2003 using some optimisations. These builds are not 100% identical to CVS, because I've changed a few lines in mozilla/configure.in and mozilla/configure, and I've also changed a few makefiles. I've also applied a somewhat dirty trick with my VS.NET 2003 install, where I'm using some libraries from VS.NET 2002. However, it's using the VS.NET 2003 compilers and linkers, so it should fully benefit from the new optimisations. I've posted the builds here:

Optimised for Pentium III and Pentium III based Celerons with SSE (-O1 -G6 -arch:SSE):
http://pryan.org/firebird/aebrahim/Mozi ... G6-SSE.zip (6.04MB - zip)
http://pryan.org/firebird/aebrahim/Mozi ... G6-SSE.exe (4.75MB - 7z sfx)
The above build will work on systems that support the SSE instruction set ONLY.

Optimised for non-SSE Athlons (-O1 -G7):
http://pryan.org/firebird/aebrahim/Mozi ... -O1-G7.zip (6.04MB - zip)
http://pryan.org/firebird/aebrahim/Mozi ... -O1-G7.exe (4.74MB - 7z sfx)

You can find a copy of these builds (and my older builds) on pryan's mirror:
http://pryan.org/firebird/aebrahim
(I only have space for my latest builds on my webspace, so for older ones you will have to check the mirror. Thanks pryan!)

My .mozconfig is as follows:

export MOZ_PHOENIX=1
mk_add_options MOZ_PHOENIX=1
ac_add_options --enable-crypto
ac_add_options --disable-tests
ac_add_options --disable-debug
ac_add_options --disable-mailnews
ac_add_options --disable-composer
ac_add_options --enable-optimize="see build info"
ac_add_options --disable-ldap
ac_add_options --enable-extensions=cookie,xml-rpc,xmlextras,p3p,pref,transformiix,universalchardet,typeaheadfind,webservices
ac_add_options --enable-static
ac_add_options --disable-shared
ac_add_options --disable-profilesharing
ac_add_options --disable-installer

My builds have the following preference set:
pref("general.useragent.vendorComment", "aebrahim");

I've included a copy of my .mozconfig in the build folder itself. For more on what the optimisation switches do see this link:
http://www.msdnaa.net/Resources/display.aspx?ResID=1972
aebrahim
Posts: 1234
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 2:47 am
Location: Hong Kong
Contact:

Post by aebrahim »

Since there is no official build today (yet), I'm just pointing out that my -O1 -G7 build above will work on ANY x86 compatible processor and does not require an SSE or SSE2 capable processor. So if you want to test, but aren't sure if it'll work on your CPU, then as long as you're running a Win32 system, you'll be fine. The only exception to this is Windows 95, which I cannot guarantee compatibility with (but will probably work).
ckjnigel
Posts: 285
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 12:37 am

Post by ckjnigel »

First thing I noticed was that the WebPanel sidebar feature (with my 400+ MyYahoo! stocks listing) worked perfectly on the first go round. There seemed to be a problem with having that pass through Proxomitron in the first post-vacation aebrahim build. Without Proxo processing, that sidebar is wider - an important consideration on this 1024x768 notebook. I hadn't time or patience to check on why the prob in the build that, I recall, said "proxy prob fixed!"
Gotta say that with the Yahoo sidebar, Googlebar and tabbing, Phyrebyrd probably saves me half an hour every workday.
Thanks, to aebrahim and all the gang!
zima
Posts: 11
Joined: September 7th, 2003, 1:59 am
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by zima »

Thanks fot your builds aebrahim.

Just one question...which one would you recommend for Athlon XP?
What will give bigger gain, SSE or optimization for Athlon architecture?
aebrahim
Posts: 1234
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 2:47 am
Location: Hong Kong
Contact:

Post by aebrahim »

zima wrote:Thanks fot your builds aebrahim.

Just one question...which one would you recommend for Athlon XP?
What will give bigger gain, SSE or optimization for Athlon architecture?

No idea. Best thing would be to test it and let us all know. :)
bIOHZRd
Posts: 47
Joined: July 9th, 2003, 7:35 am

Post by bIOHZRd »

Downloading now, hopefully I can dig up a new beta of TBE, as it wasnt working on your sep 25th build...
User avatar
Kasteo
Posts: 670
Joined: August 24th, 2003, 9:16 am
Location: Thailand

Post by Kasteo »

Using it with my PIII 750MHz laptop. Work great... Thanks.
pryan
Posts: 246
Joined: December 8th, 2002, 4:08 am
Contact:

Experimental BitTorrent

Post by pryan »

Hello,

I'm experimenting with BitTorrent.

I made recent aebrahim builds available over BitTorrent. It's not automated yet, meaning I manually made aebrahim's builds available. My eventual goal is to automatically add them to the tracker and start the seed running when my mirror picks up new builds.

Please visit http://pryan.org/mozilla/bt-tracker/ and let me know what you think.

I hope to support the 0.7 release by using this system too, so there is some urgency to the testing, especially under some load.

Thanks,
Patrick
Mozilla <a href="http://pryan.org/mozilla/firefox/">Firefox Builds</a>, <a href="http://pryan.org/mozilla/thunderbird/">Thunderbird Builds</a> and <a href="http://pryan.org/mozilla/">More</a>
Lost User 15175
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post by Lost User 15175 »

zima wrote:Thanks fot your builds aebrahim.

Just one question...which one would you recommend for Athlon XP?
What will give bigger gain, SSE or optimization for Athlon architecture?


0.7 and 0.61 both run faster on my Athlon XP system than the 'Athon' optimized version.

I'm running Althon XP 1800+. Differences in pages viewing is noticeable.
aebrahim
Posts: 1234
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 2:47 am
Location: Hong Kong
Contact:

Post by aebrahim »

guice wrote:
zima wrote:Thanks fot your builds aebrahim.

Just one question...which one would you recommend for Athlon XP?
What will give bigger gain, SSE or optimization for Athlon architecture?


0.7 and 0.61 both run faster on my Athlon XP system than the 'Athon' optimized version.

I'm running Althon XP 1800+. Differences in pages viewing is noticeable.

0.6.1 is coming from the 1.5a branch and 0.7 is coming from the 1.5 branch. It's possible that checkins to the trunk may have caused some performance degredation.
User avatar
The finalcut
Posts: 37
Joined: August 27th, 2003, 4:59 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by The finalcut »

this version is very fast on ahtlonxp
And still the dark stain spreads between
his shoulder blades
A mute reminder of the poppy fields and graves
And when the fight was over
We spent what they had made
But in the bottom of our hearts
We felt the final cut

--Roger Waters
User avatar
Goldzilla
Posts: 2579
Joined: November 22nd, 2002, 6:52 pm

Post by Goldzilla »

I installed this with my old profile and Context Menu Extensions and the latest test TBE. Works fine. The Sidebar functionality that's part of Firebird doesn't work with TBE though. I found that this release was a tad slower on some pages than the 9-23 SSE2 that I was running before.

I'll be using 9-25 SSE2 and will wait for the next SSE2 for my main browsing.
dacaveman
Posts: 55
Joined: August 28th, 2003, 3:29 pm
Location: cebu city, philippines

Post by dacaveman »

tnx aebrahim, however your 9-23 version loaded faster for me so i'll stick with 923 for now
oh shoot
Syncline
Posts: 5
Joined: September 5th, 2003, 10:48 pm

Post by Syncline »

Not sure if anyone else had this problem, so just checking around before saying anything official, but opening a PDF in a new tab causes problems when trying to close the new tab by right clicking on the tab and using Close Tab from TabExtensions.

Slick build otherwise.
User avatar
Goldzilla
Posts: 2579
Joined: November 22nd, 2002, 6:52 pm

Post by Goldzilla »

Syncline wrote:Not sure if anyone else had this problem, so just checking around before saying anything official, but opening a PDF in a new tab causes problems when trying to close the new tab by right clicking on the tab and using Close Tab from TabExtensions.

Slick build otherwise.


It works for me. It takes a few seconds to close the PDF window though.
Post Reply