MozillaZine

MR Tech's Local Install 4.6.4 (4-20-06)

Talk about add-ons and extension development.
mrtech

User avatar
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: May 15th, 2003, 7:46 am
Location: New York

Post Posted March 3rd, 2006, 1:38 pm

desertfox wrote:I just approved MTLI 4.2.5 on AMO for you :)

most excellent, thanks.
mel reyes • mrtech.com • BlogPlaxoLinkedInTwitter
Support mrtech.com get our toolbar

Ovamka
 
Posts: 5
Joined: March 3rd, 2006, 8:01 am
Location: Holland

Post Posted March 3rd, 2006, 1:56 pm

akahige wrote:@Ovamka:

It looks like you have redundant and possibly conflicting extensions:
• IE Tab + IE View

There are newer versions of:
• Compact Menu
• Local Install
• FoxyTunes


Thank you for bringing these things to my attention, but please refrain from calling my browser config redundant.
I like these little extentions that add colour/brighten up my browser but have very little use. lol.

XerBlade

User avatar
 
Posts: 865
Joined: October 4th, 2005, 10:45 pm
Location: Nashville, TN, US

Post Posted March 3rd, 2006, 5:56 pm

akahige wrote:@Ovamka:

It looks like you have redundant and possibly conflicting extensions:
• IE Tab + IE View

There are newer versions of:
• Compact Menu
• Local Install
• FoxyTunes

IE Tab and IE View do not conflict, unless you set the same site in the site filters on both of them, which still doesn't mess anything up except some usability. They are, however, redundant, as IE Tab does contain IE View's actual functionality, with its "View in External Application" function.
User Agent
Extensions
AMD64/2.41GHz RAM/1.0GB ATI/256MB-GDDR3/128-bit/8xAGP Cable6.0M/384kbps

Will Pittenger

User avatar
 
Posts: 620
Joined: April 3rd, 2005, 6:10 pm
Location: Morton, IL

Post Posted March 3rd, 2006, 9:04 pm

mrtech wrote:you don't need my about extension if you have Local Install installed.

Local Install includes all other MR Tech extensions except the Icon Pack. I figure Icon Pack will be merged into Local Install before long.
Will Pittenger

rtk
 
Posts: 275
Joined: January 17th, 2005, 4:33 pm

Post Posted March 3rd, 2006, 10:54 pm

I've noticed that at least twice, since setting the "my config" toolbar button to open in a tab, that the button stays highlighted/depressed/selected even after I close the tab. I can reset it by opening it again (opening it a second time produces a second tab, would it be possible to have it refocus an existing tab?), but it'll vary between showing the correct state and the inverse seemingly randomly. I noticed it once before for sure, and I'm just about to test if it survives an Fx restart. Can anyone else confirm?

Edit: also wondered if you'd consider adding a pull down menu to the my config toolbar button, filled with the items from the context menu.
rtk

Lee_Dailey

User avatar
 
Posts: 14194
Joined: July 27th, 2004, 4:33 pm
Location: milky way galaxy, sol system, terra, north america, usa, tx, bedford

Post Posted March 4th, 2006, 3:47 am

mrtech wrote:Updated: Now prefixing "Export/Import" Local Install settings filename with the program name, ie: firefox_li_prefs.txt, thunderbird_li_prefs.txt, etc.


howdy mrtech,

i have a request ... [*grin*] ... in addition to the application prefix, could you/would you add an option to include a date stamp suffix? right now, i'm adding "yyyy-mm-dd" [ex = 2006-03-04] to the file name. my result is this ...

"thunderbird_li_prefs_-_2006-03-04.txt"

this makes it easy to have several backup configs. [*grin*] yes, i do keep backups - especially when checking the results of several changes.

take care,
lee

mand
 
Posts: 8
Joined: May 29th, 2005, 11:58 am

Post Posted March 4th, 2006, 10:10 am

I use multiple profiles, so my suggestion is to save "My config" to "extensions" or "profile" folder, instead of "installation" folder. Or maybe add the profile name to "My config" file name..

Lee_Dailey

User avatar
 
Posts: 14194
Joined: July 27th, 2004, 4:33 pm
Location: milky way galaxy, sol system, terra, north america, usa, tx, bedford

Post Posted March 4th, 2006, 11:12 am

howdy mand,

my "my config" gets saved to my "my documents". [*grin*] i am not sure if that's cuz it's my most recently used folder or what.

even so, it's a nice idea to have an option to include the profile name in the file name. an _option_ to include such info would be nifty.

take care,
lee

old zeniko
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted March 4th, 2006, 3:37 pm

Hi Mel. There's a minor bug in the restarting part which makes my Crash Recovery/Session Manager extensions look unreliable. Please call canQuitApplication() before performing the actual restart, so that extensions may object to the restart and correctly handle it.

See Recall's post for how to reproduce it and this post for a work-around until the bug is fixed.

mrtech

User avatar
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: May 15th, 2003, 7:46 am
Location: New York

Post Posted March 4th, 2006, 3:50 pm

zeniko wrote:Hi Mel. There's a minor bug in the restarting part which makes my Crash Recovery/Session Manager extensions look unreliable. Please call canQuitApplication() before performing the actual restart, so that extensions may object to the restart and correctly handle it.

See Recall's post for how to reproduce it and this post for a work-around until the bug is fixed.

ok, thanks, I'll do some testing and see if how things go.
mel reyes • mrtech.com • BlogPlaxoLinkedInTwitter
Support mrtech.com get our toolbar

akahige
 
Posts: 440
Joined: July 16th, 2004, 6:47 pm

Post Posted March 6th, 2006, 12:20 am

Playing with the latest release. Noticed that you fixed the issue of needing multiple button presses to focus and then activate the "updates" button in the extension manager.

Something occurred to me, though... because not all websites are highly responsive (or because downloads/archives can stall), there needs to be some CLEAR indication that something is going on while the update is downloading. Unless it occurs to someone to look at the status bar and see that the archive function is doing something (or not), they might think that they didn't hit the button right, or it didn't take, or any other number of things.

Might there be a way of changing the update button to something that would indicate that happy downloading is going on and all there is to be done is to wait?

Chris000001
 
Posts: 458
Joined: September 12th, 2005, 4:43 pm

Post Posted March 6th, 2006, 12:43 am

I have a request. I'm currently using an extension called Options Menu. It adds a menu to the Firefox Tools menu that is exactly the same as the Options menu in MTLI extension window/tab. I was wondering if you could add an option to just place your Options menu into the Firefox Tools menu, so I could uninstall yet another extension. It's faster than always having to open the extensions window/tab first.

Thanks again for a great extension!

Old Seamaiden
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted March 6th, 2006, 1:29 am

The HideUpdate extension can block/unblock updates for both extensions and themes in both Firefox and Thunderbird.

When you incorporated HideUpdate into MRTLI, you evidently only brought in half its functionality. MRTLI can effectly block/unblock updates for extensions, but not themes. Please fix this so that updates for themes can also be blocked in both Firefox and Thunderbird.

In Thunderbird, I wish to block the Noia 2.0 eXtreme 2.16 update from being detected. For some reason it will not install or uninstall correctly in one of my TB profiles, so I'll need to stick with Noia 2.0 eXtreme 2.14.

(Because the profile is otherwise functional, creating a new profile and starting from scratch would be too much work. It is not a big deal for Firefox, but it is for Thunderbird -- especially for newsgroups. It would make more sense to simply block the update, and I can't do that until MRTLI can block theme updates like HideUpdate could.)

********
 
Posts: 947
Joined: August 24th, 2005, 12:23 pm

Post Posted March 6th, 2006, 10:09 am

mrtech, for the session manager + MTLI restart problem:
i tested the workaround function, and it seems to work fine.

Restart browser without messing up Session Manager:
Code: Select all
var as = Components.interfaces.nsIAppStartup; if (canQuitApplication()) Components.classes["@mozilla.org/toolkit/app-startup;1"]
.getService(as).quit(as.eRestart | as.eAttemptQuit);

KLSiegel
 
Posts: 7
Joined: March 6th, 2006, 11:34 am

Post Posted March 6th, 2006, 11:46 am

Weird thing happening: I cannot for love or money to get v4.2.5 to install to Thunderbird on my desktop (I have it installed in Firefox just fine, and I have it installed on my laptop in both, just fine). T'bird version is 1.5 (20051201).

What happens is I click install, I select the file, it appears to install...I close T'bird, and open it again - the extension isn't there. Very, very weird.

Return to Extension Development


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests