MozillaZine

[Ext] Unified Back-/Forward Button 0.6 [Aug 25]

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
ervit
 
Posts: 16
Joined: March 24th, 2006, 3:39 am

Post Posted March 24th, 2006, 3:58 am

Hi. I am not good at editing config files and I am not sure that it will help (unless someone confirms that it should). Here's what I got after updating to 0.4:
http://vitalie.tripod.com/screen.htm (Tripod won't allow external image linking so make sure AdBlock is on ;)
Basically, the drop down arrows appear below the FF/Rewind buttons, not aligned with each other, along with a third one, making the whole toolbar 2 times thicker than it should be. Before the update, everything looked as it should.

I think i'd rather uninstall the extension than mess around with config files.

Thanks
Vit

PS: Running FF 1.5.0.1 with Noia 2.0 extreme 3.01 and several dozen extensions

old zeniko
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted March 24th, 2006, 5:50 am

You've got about the following options:
* Add the lines listed under Theme Specific Code (labeled "Noia and derivates") in the first post to your userChrome.css (which does help).
* Ask Noia's author to include that code into his theme (some other users might thank you for doing this).
* Revert to version 0.3.3 which included support for Noia.
* Get rid of the extension (and be sorry that you lacked the energy for a positive solution ;)).

ervit
 
Posts: 16
Joined: March 24th, 2006, 3:39 am

Post Posted March 24th, 2006, 9:11 am

Thanks for the advice, zeniko

I sent a mail to kasteo, hopefully he'll add the support for UB/FB 0.4 in his next update. For now I will see if I can stand the ugly look of the buttons :)

dougeeebear

User avatar
 
Posts: 548
Joined: September 15th, 2005, 4:17 pm

Post Posted March 25th, 2006, 12:03 pm

zeniko,
Would it be possible to add a single item to the web page context menu which would display the back/forward dropdown history list only?

Tab History > popup history list

mc2
 
Posts: 3
Joined: March 25th, 2006, 10:49 pm

Post Posted March 25th, 2006, 10:59 pm

dear zeniko:
hi, your extension is so great ^^
could you add an option to choose the menu sorts in descending or ascending order?

jj44
 
Posts: 274
Joined: January 26th, 2004, 4:21 pm

Post Posted March 25th, 2006, 11:27 pm

mc2 wrote:dear zeniko:
hi, your extension is so great ^^
could you add an option to choose the menu sorts in descending or ascending order?


there already is one, read the first post.
Fx|3.1b2 -- OS|Win 7 Build 7000

old zeniko
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted March 26th, 2006, 6:12 am

dougeeebear wrote:Would it be possible to add a single item to the web page context menu which would display the back/forward dropdown history list only?

Add <a href="data:text/javascript,%2F*%20Add%20a%20%22Tab%20History%22%20submenu%20to%20the%20context%20menu%20(requires%20Unified%20Back-%2FForward%20Button)%20*%2F%0A(function()%20%7B%0A%09var%20contextMenu%20%3D%20document.getElementById(%22contentAreaContextMenu%22)%3B%0A%09%0A%09var%20menuitem%20%3D%20document.createElement(%22menu%22)%3B%0A%09menuitem.setAttribute(%22label%22%2C%20%22Tab%20History%22)%3B%0A%09menuitem.setAttribute(%22accesskey%22%2C%20%22H%22)%3B%0A%09menuitem.id%20%3D%20%22context-unibafo%22%3B%0A%09%0A%09var%20popup%20%3D%20document.createElement(%22menupopup%22)%3B%0A%09popup.setAttribute(%22onclick%22%2C%20%22checkForMiddleClick(this%2C%20even)%3B%22)%3B%0A%09popup.setAttribute(%22oncommand%22%2C%20%22gotoHistoryIndex(event)%3B%22)%3B%0A%09popup.setAttribute(%22onpopupshowing%22%2C%20%22UniBaFo.onPopupShowing(this)%3B%22)%3B%0A%09menuitem.appendChild(popup)%3B%0A%09%0A%09contextMenu.insertBefore(menuitem%2C%20document.getElementById(%22context-stop%22).nextSibling)%3B%0A%09contextMenu.addEventListener(%22popupshowing%22%2C%20function()%20%7B%0A%09%09goSetCommandEnabled(menuitem.id%2C%20document.getElementById(%22Browser%3ABack%22).getAttribute(%22disabled%22)%20!%3D%20%22true%22%20%7C%7C%20document.getElementById(%22Browser%3AForward%22).getAttribute(%22disabled%22)%20!%3D%20%22true%22)%3B%0A%09%7D%2C%20false)%3B%0A%7D)()%3B%0A">these lines</a> to your userChrome.js (you'll have to install that extension first) and <a href="data:text/css,%23context-unibafo%20menuitem%5Bcurrent%3D%22true%22%5D%20%7B%0A%09font-weight%3A%20bold%20!important%3B%0A%09list-style-image%3A%20url(chrome%3A%2F%2Fglobal%2Fskin%2Fmenu%2Fmenu-radio.gif)%20!important%3B%0A%7D%0A%23context-unibafo%20menuitem%5Bquicknav%3D%22true%22%5D%20%7B%0A%09font-style%3A%20italic%20!important%3B%0A%09list-style-image%3A%20url(chrome%3A%2F%2Fglobal%2Fskin%2Ftoolbar%2Fchevron.gif)%20!important%3B%0A%7D%0A">these lines</a> to your userChrome.css and you should get what you asked for.

dougeeebear

User avatar
 
Posts: 548
Joined: September 15th, 2005, 4:17 pm

Post Posted March 26th, 2006, 7:08 am

zeniko wrote:
dougeeebear wrote:Would it be possible to add a single item to the web page context menu which would display the back/forward dropdown history list only?

Add <a href="data:text/javascript,%2F*%20Add%20a%20%22Tab%20History%22%20submenu%20to%20the%20context%20menu%20(requires%20Unified%20Back-%2FForward%20Button)%20*%2F%0A(function()%20%7B%0A%09var%20contextMenu%20%3D%20document.getElementById(%22contentAreaContextMenu%22)%3B%0A%09%0A%09var%20menuitem%20%3D%20document.createElement(%22menu%22)%3B%0A%09menuitem.setAttribute(%22label%22%2C%20%22Tab%20History%22)%3B%0A%09menuitem.setAttribute(%22accesskey%22%2C%20%22H%22)%3B%0A%09menuitem.id%20%3D%20%22context-unibafo%22%3B%0A%09%0A%09var%20popup%20%3D%20document.createElement(%22menupopup%22)%3B%0A%09popup.setAttribute(%22onclick%22%2C%20%22checkForMiddleClick(this%2C%20even)%3B%22)%3B%0A%09popup.setAttribute(%22oncommand%22%2C%20%22gotoHistoryIndex(event)%3B%22)%3B%0A%09popup.setAttribute(%22onpopupshowing%22%2C%20%22UniBaFo.onPopupShowing(this)%3B%22)%3B%0A%09menuitem.appendChild(popup)%3B%0A%09%0A%09contextMenu.insertBefore(menuitem%2C%20document.getElementById(%22context-stop%22).nextSibling)%3B%0A%09contextMenu.addEventListener(%22popupshowing%22%2C%20function()%20%7B%0A%09%09goSetCommandEnabled(menuitem.id%2C%20document.getElementById(%22Browser%3ABack%22).getAttribute(%22disabled%22)%20!%3D%20%22true%22%20%7C%7C%20document.getElementById(%22Browser%3AForward%22).getAttribute(%22disabled%22)%20!%3D%20%22true%22)%3B%0A%09%7D%2C%20false)%3B%0A%7D)()%3B%0A">these lines</a> to your userChrome.js (you'll have to install that extension first) and <a href="data:text/css,%23context-unibafo%20menuitem%5Bcurrent%3D%22true%22%5D%20%7B%0A%09font-weight%3A%20bold%20!important%3B%0A%09list-style-image%3A%20url(chrome%3A%2F%2Fglobal%2Fskin%2Fmenu%2Fmenu-radio.gif)%20!important%3B%0A%7D%0A%23context-unibafo%20menuitem%5Bquicknav%3D%22true%22%5D%20%7B%0A%09font-style%3A%20italic%20!important%3B%0A%09list-style-image%3A%20url(chrome%3A%2F%2Fglobal%2Fskin%2Ftoolbar%2Fchevron.gif)%20!important%3B%0A%7D%0A">these lines</a> to your userChrome.css and you should get what you asked for.

Very nice, indeed.. thank you.

ervit
 
Posts: 16
Joined: March 24th, 2006, 3:39 am

Post Posted March 30th, 2006, 12:24 pm

Kongkeat K. promised to add compatibility to his Noia theme in the next update. However, I already added the necessary code to the userChrome.css. It's amazing what several lines of code can do! ;)

Vit

Sekerob

User avatar
 
Posts: 37
Joined: May 18th, 2004, 12:01 am
Location: Bella Italia

Post Posted April 17th, 2006, 1:35 am

Is it me or has the Unified Back-Forward extension partially stopped functioning with FFx 1.5.0.2? I still get the drop down list, but the Back&Forward buttons have seized to do their bits.
The Dutch-Italian

Image

mc2
 
Posts: 3
Joined: March 25th, 2006, 10:49 pm

Post Posted April 17th, 2006, 1:38 am

I have a small question: how to winden the arrow?

I have a request also: add an option that back-/forward button doesn't display when it's disable, and only show the backward button when backward and forward buttons are all disable

It can gain more space and hide the useless things :D

old zeniko
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted April 17th, 2006, 4:11 am

Sekerob wrote:Is it me or has the Unified Back-Forward extension partially stopped functioning with FFx 1.5.0.2?

WFM. This can just as well be due to an incompatibility with another extension. You might want to try a clean profile to see whether it still works there - and if it does, disabling the other extensions might show which one is the culprit. Before you do that, please make sure that there are no relevant errors in the JS console (having the pref javascript.options.showInConsole set to true in about:config).

mc2 wrote:I have a small question: how to winden the arrow?

Because the arrow is an image, you'd need a new image to get a wider arrow. If you don't care that much about the appearance, you could just as well add the following line to your userChrome.css:
Code: Select all
#unibafo > toolbarbutton > image { width: 32px !important; }

If you just want to get a wider mouse target, I rather recommend the Fitt's Back Button hack mentioned in the first post.

mc2 wrote:I have a request also: add an option that back-/forward button doesn't display when it's disable, and only show the backward button when backward and forward buttons are all disable

IMO that doesn't make for a good user experience. Still, it's already achievable through a simple userChrome.css addition:
Code: Select all
#unibafo[disabled="true"],
#unibafo[disabled1="true"] > #back-button,
#unibafo[disabled2="true"] > #forward-button {
   display: none !important;
}

Sekerob

User avatar
 
Posts: 37
Joined: May 18th, 2004, 12:01 am
Location: Bella Italia

Post Posted April 17th, 2006, 4:31 am

Zeniko.........i just upgraded from ffx 1.5.0.1 where everthing was working perfectly fine to 1.5.0.2 where specifically your extension partially quit.....i.a.w. Nothing changed in the extension combination et al.

Oh and btw, I use mousegestures so can do without the back and forth button, just wanting keep ahold of the back and forth history part.
The Dutch-Italian

Image

XerBlade

User avatar
 
Posts: 865
Joined: October 4th, 2005, 10:45 pm
Location: Nashville, TN, US

Post Posted April 17th, 2006, 6:15 am

Well, works fine for me in 1.5.0.2, having no problems whatsoever (on multiple systems with different configs). The only time I've ever had that same problem you're experiencing was about a week and a half ago, before 1.5.0.2 even came out, when I updated to the newer builds of the Rewind/Fastforward Buttons extension, which, due to the forced addition of about the most useless feature I've ever seen, breaks the buttons' functions themselves on this one (well, I mean, basically the same exact thing you described), and got it working again by reverting to the previous build [2006011301] of that extension. In that case it was an extension conflict (even though you might not think of it if it's just an update and not a whole new extension), so there's a good chance it is in your case as well.
User Agent
Extensions
AMD64/2.41GHz RAM/1.0GB ATI/256MB-GDDR3/128-bit/8xAGP Cable6.0M/384kbps

Sekerob

User avatar
 
Posts: 37
Joined: May 18th, 2004, 12:01 am
Location: Bella Italia

Post Posted April 17th, 2006, 6:52 am

Nail on the head SirBlade. Switched R/F off and Unified worked fine. As per your advise, had an older version of R/F lurking on a backup, so things work in unison again. Ta'

BTW, tapping into the global live knowledgebase remains awesome.
The Dutch-Italian

Image

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests