MozillaZine

Firefox 2 Search Engine Manager

Discussion of features in Mozilla Firefox
gavins
 
Posts: 69
Joined: May 24th, 2004, 1:37 am

Post Posted April 20th, 2006, 2:01 am

As part of my work on the Firefox search service and search UI, I've created a patch that adds a search engine manager accessed via the engine drop down menu. The manager allows you to remove and re-order search engines in the Firefox search bar. I've posted test 1.8 branch builds (Windows and Linux) that include this patch at http://gavinsharp.com/ff/. This work is being tracked in bug 232272 and is targetted at Firefox 2 alpha 2.

I'd appreciate some help in testing out the functionality that this dialog adds, and welcome suggestions on how it could be improved, or what features are missing.

Thanks,
Gavin

TheOneKEA

User avatar
 
Posts: 4864
Joined: October 16th, 2003, 5:47 am
Location: Somewhere in London, riding the Underground

Post Posted April 20th, 2006, 3:11 am

Awesome!

I for one have always wanted this sort of functionality in the search bar - nice to see that it will be implemented at last.
Proud user of teh Fox of Fire
Registered Linux User #289618

Schrade

User avatar
 
Posts: 1187
Joined: March 17th, 2004, 12:24 am

Post Posted April 20th, 2006, 3:30 am

TheOneKEA wrote:Awesome!

I for one have always wanted this sort of functionality in the search bar - nice to see that it will be implemented at last.


If you want the ability with current release versions of Firefox you could get the <a href="http://maltekraus.de/Firefox/Search-Engine-Ordering/index.pl">Search Engine Ordering</a> extension.
"Linux is for those who hate Windows, BSD is for those who love Unix." -Some Guy
Try my themes: QuBranch and QuTrunk
Fix Firefox's Resized image scrolling speed: <b>Bug 163975</b>

nrthomas
 
Posts: 1988
Joined: February 9th, 2003, 3:25 pm

Post Posted April 20th, 2006, 4:04 am

Moving and removing worked fine on a relatively clean profile. The focus box that appears around "Add Search Engines..." when you click it is much larger than that in the Extension Manager, and therefore much more obvious.

chob
 
Posts: 4283
Joined: May 17th, 2003, 12:05 pm
Location: London, UK

Post Posted April 20th, 2006, 9:28 am

Works nice for me. Any chance of drag&drop reordering?
Also, window needs to remember it's last position.
And should there be a grabber in the bottom right to indicate resizing abilities?
Last edited by chob on April 20th, 2006, 9:51 am, edited 3 times in total.

Uruviel

User avatar
 
Posts: 237
Joined: June 17th, 2004, 9:44 am
Location: Leeuwarden, the Netherlands

Post Posted April 20th, 2006, 9:39 am

Any chance of building a mac version?
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X Mach-O; en-US; rv:1.8) Gecko/20060413 Firefox/2.0a1

gavins
 
Posts: 69
Joined: May 24th, 2004, 1:37 am

Post Posted April 20th, 2006, 6:51 pm

Uruviel wrote:Any chance of building a mac version?


Sorry, I don't really have access to a Mac. The patch is in the bug if you want to find someone else who can.

gavins
 
Posts: 69
Joined: May 24th, 2004, 1:37 am

Post Posted April 22nd, 2006, 9:57 am

chob wrote:Works nice for me. Any chance of drag&drop reordering?

Filed bug 335086 for this. I expect to fix it shortly after the dialog lands, shouldn't be hard to do.
chob wrote:Also, window needs to remember it's last position.

Fixed this locally, will be included in the next patch.
chob wrote:And should there be a grabber in the bottom right to indicate resizing abilities?

Actually, since it is a modal dialog, I think I will just remove the ability to resize it, and make it a little larger by default.

Thanks for the feedback!

gavins
 
Posts: 69
Joined: May 24th, 2004, 1:37 am

Post Posted April 22nd, 2006, 10:00 am

CrazyFred wrote:The focus box that appears around "Add Search Engines..." when you click it is much larger than that in the Extension Manager, and therefore much more obvious.


Fixed this locally, will be in the next patch. Thanks!

gavins
 
Posts: 69
Joined: May 24th, 2004, 1:37 am

Post Posted April 28th, 2006, 8:55 am

This had now landed on the 1.8 branch and trunk, slightly modified. See the bug for details.

Return to Firefox Features


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests