Protocol association?

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
Locked
DaBlade
Posts: 26
Joined: September 2nd, 2004, 4:15 am
Contact:

Protocol association?

Post by DaBlade »

How do I control which applications Firefox opens protocols with? For example, I want Firefox to open magnet:// links with Azureus.
I'm using Debian Etch with KDE 3.5.2.
Check out my new website!
User avatar
logan
Posts: 3453
Joined: May 22nd, 2003, 3:51 pm
Location: NGC 2403
Contact:

Post by logan »

Throw this in <<a href="http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile">profile</a>>/prefs.js:

Code: Select all

user_pref("network.protocol-handler.external.magnet", true);
user_pref("network.protocol-handler.app.magnet", "/path/to/azureus");
DaBlade
Posts: 26
Joined: September 2nd, 2004, 4:15 am
Contact:

Post by DaBlade »

Thanks a lot. :)
Check out my new website!
SallyToo
Posts: 3
Joined: May 18th, 2006, 7:08 pm

Post by SallyToo »

I realize this is for "Unix" however, I tried this with WinXPsp2 for the guest account and changed the guest profile "prefs.js" to

user_pref("network.protocol-handler.external.magnet", true);
user_pref("network.protocol-handler.app.magnet", "/G:/Programs/azureus/Azureus.exe");

withut success. If you could make a suggestion as to how to change my entry, I would appreciate it.

Interestingly, on my other WinXP machine, these entries are missing but clicking on the "Mininova" magnet works fine. Apparently I am looking in the wrong place!

Thanks in advance,

S.
User avatar
Grist
Posts: 836
Joined: January 27th, 2006, 9:20 pm

Post by Grist »

For Windows, the protocol needs to be in the registy:

Code: Select all

REGEDIT4

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\magnet]
@="URL:magnet Protocol"
"URL Protocol"=""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\magnet\shell]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\magnet\shell\open]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\magnet\shell\open\command]
@="\"G:\\Programs\\azureus\\Azureus.exe\" \"%1\""


If the program doesn't create these during setup or there isn't an option in the program, merge the above into the registry. Copy and paste the above into a text file and save as "magnet.reg". Double click the file to merge.
SallyToo
Posts: 3
Joined: May 18th, 2006, 7:08 pm

Post by SallyToo »

Hi Grist,

Thanks for the help. I'm using Firefox on WXPsp2.

Unfortunately, nothing happened after the registry was changed and rebooted. The changes were accepted but the error is still
"firefox ..undefined protocol...doesn't know what to do etc...." Looking thru the registry, I can find all the entries above.

If you have any other suggestion, it would be welcom. I don't need the magnet often but it's a convenience sometimes.

I'm listing the "Regseeker 1.45" result on "magnet" just in case it may help. Sorry for length.

Thanks,

Sally

REGEDIT4

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.magnet]
@="Magnet"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.magnet]
@="Magnet"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Magnet]
@="URL:magnet Protocol"
"URL Protocol"=""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Magnet\Content Type]
@="application/x-magnet"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Magnet\DefaultIcon]
@="g:\\programs\\azureus\\Azureus.exe,0"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Magnet\shell]
@="open"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Magnet\shell\open]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Magnet\shell\open\command]
@="\"G:\\Programs\\azureus\\Azureus.exe\" \"%1\""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Magnet]
@="URL:magnet Protocol"
"URL Protocol"=""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Magnet\Content Type]
@="application/x-magnet"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Magnet\DefaultIcon]
@="g:\\programs\\azureus\\Azureus.exe,0"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Magnet\shell]
@="open"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Magnet\shell\open]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Magnet\shell\open\command]
@="\"G:\\Programs\\azureus\\Azureus.exe\" \"%1\""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Magnet\Content Type]
@="application/x-magnet"

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\ComDlg32\OpenSaveMRU\magnet]
"a"="D:\\Documents and Settings\\amf\\My Documents\\test.magnet"
"MRUList"="a"

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\ComDlg32\OpenSaveMRU\magnet]
"a"="D:\\Documents and Settings\\amf\\My Documents\\test.magnet"

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\ComDlg32\OpenSaveMRU\txt]
"c"="C:\\Registry entries for Magnet Protocol for XP.txt"

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\FileExts\.MAGNET]

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\FileExts\.MAGNET\OpenWithList]
"a"="Azureus.exe"
"MRUList"="a"

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\FileExts\.MAGNET\OpenWithProgids]
"Magnet"=""

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\FileExts\.MAGNET\OpenWithProgids]
"Magnet"=""

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Services\RemoteAccess\Parameters\magnet]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet003\Services\RemoteAccess\Parameters\magnet]
User avatar
dickvl
Posts: 54145
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post by dickvl »

Try to change Magnet to magnet (all lowercase)
fahlmanc
Posts: 281
Joined: June 13th, 2005, 6:48 pm
Location: Victoria

Post by fahlmanc »

Try this ==> go to about:config, and put in "magnet". Just reset all the entries that come up (I think one should come up). Then restart ff and click on a magnet link. Firefox should ask what you want to do with the magnet link. If it doesn't work, reinstall azureus, and try again.
SallyToo
Posts: 3
Joined: May 18th, 2006, 7:08 pm

Post by SallyToo »

Hi,

Thanks all for the help. I'll try the suggestions.

Meanwhile, I can do an end run by copying the link and opening the Azureus "open torrents" page and then pasting the link into the "Add URL" tab. Not the real thing but it works.

Crude but when nothing else except the dreaded "reinstall" is left. Adjusting the Azureus torrent tabs columns/widths and content etc to my personal liking is a real pain. I haven't found the file that contains these settings yet so I save the whole D&S Azureus settings in case of major failure. I haven't tried moving these back over a new install yet.

Best,

Sally
User avatar
Thumper
Posts: 8037
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 5:42 pm
Location: Linlithgow, Scotland
Contact:

Post by Thumper »

Why is there a slash in front of the g:? The slash is for Unix.

- Chris
montenegrino7
Posts: 1
Joined: November 1st, 2006, 9:42 pm

Post by montenegrino7 »

Does anyone know how do I associate this on MAC? (PowerBook17, MAC OSX 10.4.8, Firefox 1.5.0.7)



Thanx a lot
User avatar
dickvl
Posts: 54145
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post by dickvl »

trog93845
Posts: 3
Joined: May 4th, 2008, 3:44 pm

network.protocol-handler.app on a Mac

Post by trog93845 »

> how do I associate this on MAC?

> http://kb.mozillazine.org/Register_protocol

I tried these directions, with several variations and it doesn't work (OS X 10.4). I tried it with Firefox 2 and 3. The binary file I try to map foo://... to runs fine on the command-line. I've tried several suggestions on various pages on this site, and had a savvy friend try it as well.
Locked