MozillaZine

[Ext] MR Tech's Local Install 5.0.4.1 (6-3-06)

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
mrtech

User avatar
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: May 15th, 2003, 7:46 am
Location: New York

Post Posted May 10th, 2006, 3:46 pm

MR Tech's Local Install 5.0.4.1

Homepage: http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/
Install: https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/421/
Download: http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_install.xpi
Changelog: Release & Beta
Localizations: cs-CZ, de-DE, da-DK, en-US, es-AR, es-ES, fi-FI, fr-FR, hu-HU, hr-HR, it-IT, ja, ko-KR, mk-MK, nl-NL, pl-PL, pt-BR, ro-RO, ru-RU, sk, sr-YU, zh-CN & zh-TW
Supported: Firefox 1.0-3.0, Thunderbird 1.0-3.0, Mozilla 1.7-1.8+, Seamonkey, Flock, Netscape, Nvu & Sunbird
Rate It on U.M.O.: click here
E-Mail: mrtech [at] gmail.com

Special Notes:
<li> New Hacks list is available on my site: http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_ ... hacks.html
<li> Smaller locale specific installer are available on my site: http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_install/
<li> Mozilla Suite & Seamonkey users should continue using the full installer not the locale specific version.

Known Issues:
<li> Using Local Install with All-In-One-Sidebar may produce some adverse affects with Extension/Theme titles and other features, please disable window title, sorting and slimmode as these are already included in Local Install.

Locale Specific Installers:
<a href="http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_install/locale/local_install_dev_cs-CZ.xpi">cs-CZ</a>, <a href="http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_install/locale/local_install_dev_de-DE.xpi">de-DE</a>, <a href="http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_install/locale/local_install_dev_da-DK.xpi">da-DK</a>, <a href="http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_install/locale/local_install_dev_en-US.xpi">en-US</a>, <a href="http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_install/locale/local_install_dev_es-AR.xpi">es-AR</a>, <a href="http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_install/locale/local_install_dev_es-ES.xpi">es-ES</a>, <a href="http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_install/locale/local_install_dev_fi-FI.xpi">fi-FI</a>, <a href="http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_install/locale/local_install_dev_fr-FR.xpi">fr-FR</a>, <a href="http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_install/locale/local_install_dev_hu-HU.xpi">hu-HU</a>, <a href="http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_install/locale/local_install_dev_hr-HR.xpi">hr-HR</a>, <a href="http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_install/locale/local_install_dev_it-IT.xpi">it-IT</a>, <a href="http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_install/locale/local_install_dev_ja.xpi">ja</a>, <a href="http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_install/locale/local_install_dev_ko-KR.xpi">ko-KR</a>, <a href="http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_install/locale/local_install_dev_mk-MK.xpi">mk-MK</a>, <a href="http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_install/locale/local_install_dev_nl-NL.xpi">nl-NL</a>, <a href="http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_install/locale/local_install_dev_pl-PL.xpi">pl-PL</a>, <a href="http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_install/locale/local_install_dev_pt-BR.xpi">pt-BR</a>, <a href="http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_install/locale/local_install_dev_ro-RO.xpi">ro-RO</a>, <a href="http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_install/locale/local_install_dev_ru-RU.xpi">ru-RU</a>, <a href="http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_install/locale/local_install_dev_sk.xpi">sk</a>, <a href="http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_install/locale/local_install_dev_sr-YU.xpi">sr-YU</a>, <a href="http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_install/locale/local_install_dev_zh-CN.xpi">zh-CN</a>, <a href="http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_install/locale/local_install_dev_zh-TW.xpi">zh-TW</a>


5.0.4.1 Released
<li> Fixed: 5.0.4 broke Flock support, oops

5.0.4 Released
<li> Added: da-DK, hr-HR and mk-MK locale translations
<li> Added: "Profile Folder" by J. Newbry has been added to the Auto-Check Uninstall Prompt when you open the Extension manager window, as this functionality is already included with Local Install: http://webdesigns.ms11.net/chromeditp.html
<li> Updated: Extensions/Themes/Addons Manager window Links menu options can now be fully customized by translators.
<li> Updated: Tighter layout for new Addons window.
<li> Updated: Optimized xpi locale files shaving 11k from full installer (before new locales where added).
<li> Updated: Optimized JavaScript Console and View Source overlay code shaving 1k from installer.
<li> Updated: Many locale translations have been updated or cleaned out.
<li> Fixed: JavaScript/Error Console errors with Firefox 3.0 trunk builds

5.0.3 Released
<li> Added: mk-MK locale
<li> Added: Chrome Editor now supports userChrome.js extension (default test will appear if no userChrome.js file is found)
<li> Updated: Chrome Editor's "prefs.js" tab now has button to load Chrome Editor settings
<li> Updated: Chrome Editor settings are now in their own subtab under the main My Config tab
<li> Updated: it-IT, pl-PL and ru-RU locales updated

5.0.2 Released
<li> Added: Thunderbird 1.5 and above nows have a about:config toolbar button with dropdown menu, only supported about: functions are listed in the dropdown.
<li> Added: Thunderbird 1.5 and above nows have a "Clear Cache" toolbar button, this clears memory used for caching xul elements images, etc and Extension/Theme update manifests.
<li> Added: "Add-ons Sidebar" is now on the list to prompt to uninstall since the functionality is already included in Local Install, https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/2549/
<li> Updated: de-DE & sk locales updated
<li> Updated: If "Show button bar above list" is enabled, then "Show Theme Preview Below Theme List" is now automatically enabled too, it has to be this way or Show button bar option will not work
<li> Fixed: Really, truly fixed the command bar button issue, it will now show up on top if preference is enabled
<li> Fixed: Couldn't open EM/TM in Netscape
<li> Fixed: "Unknown" error message with Override maxVersion feature was borked
<li> Fixed: Show Install Button Image will now automatically hide if EM/TM window is open and changing options

5.0.1 Released
<li> Updated: es-ES, fi-FI & fr-FR locales updated
<li> Updated: If "Show Button bar above list" is selected, the hide command bar will be reverted back to false after first use
<li> Fixed: Issue where "Override 'maxVersion' compatibility checking" was choking
<li> Fixed: Toggling sidebar off (if open) was busted with 5.0
<li> Fixed: In the Extension/Theme/Addons manager "Show Button bar above list" should now work properly with all builds and themes
<li> Fixed: My Config dropdown option changes were not being applied till restart, changing this preference will now apply instantly without restarting.
<li> Fixed: "All-In-One Sidebar" compatibility issue when "Show Button bar above list" was enabled (still working on an install conflict)
<li> Fixed: Cleaned up some duplicate variable declarations

5.0 Released
<li> Added: Massive updates to support new Addons interface for Extensions and Themes, should be 99.9999% compatible with Bon Echo 2.0 and Minefield 3.0
<li> Added: Hidden hack to hide Menu icons has now been super-streamlined and added as a preference in the Menu Options|Miscellaneous tab of the Options window (css hack no longer needed and reusing hidden pref of "local_install.hideMenuIcons")
<li> Added: You can now add "Tab Count" and "Window Count" to the customized window title, for example (${TabCount}/${WindowCount}) would yield (5/2) if five tabs were open in the current window and there were two browser windows open, check General|Window Title Options in the Local Install options window
<li> Added: You can now move the Extension/Themes/Addons button bar above the list view, check Manager Hacks|Layout in the Local Install options window (currently not compatible with Bon Echo 2.0 but works with 1.0.x, 1.5 & 3.0 builds)
<li> Added: "Show Extension Directory" is now on the list of extensions to prompt to uninstall when you open the Extension manager window as this functionality is included with Local Install.
<li> Added: For Sunbird users "about:config" is now a toolbar icon
<li> Added: Hidden setting to Show Attachment box for Email Compose window now has a Option window setting in the Miscellaneous tab
<li> Added: Hidden setting to Always save Chrome Editor files now has a Option window setting in the My Config|Chrome Editor tab
<li> Updated: Properly setting options tabs when no archive directory is set and user selects Archive from context menu
<li> Updated: Now hiding Nightly Tester Tool button image if hide default images settings is enabled
<li> Updated: about:plugins and about:config toolbar context menus now include recently added about: functions
<li> Updated: removed some unused Sunbird context menus till I get a chance to fix them, saving about 2k
<li> Updated: fr-FR locale updated
<li> Updated: Moved "Hide 'Paste userAgent/Build ID' from Textbox/Input Context Menu" to the Menu Options|Miscellaneous tab of the Options window
<li> Fixed: Long standing issue with duplicate tabs being created for the Extension & Theme manager when installing and already having a tab open and additionally updated to include any time Extension/Theme is viewed in a tab it will refocus there despite target preference
<li> Fixed: Slight issue with supporting custom locale useragent in Disable XPI Delay install dialog
<li> Fixed: Theme switch was broken with older Firefox/Thunderbird 1.0.x & Netscape 8.x versions
<li> Fixed: Opening My Config to sidebar from the Extension/Theme Manager menu icon was not working if EM/TM was loaded in a window.
<li> Fixed: Text flicker on Extension install dialog if Nightly Tester Tools was installed also
<li> Fixed: bogus "gExtensionsView.selected" error message in Extension/Themes manager with context menus
<li> Fixed: properly hiding "Make Compatible" if no extension/theme is selected
<li> Fixed: disabling Extension Options and Theme Switcher for Mozilla Suite/Seamonkey in preferences as these options are not available with those apps
<li> Fixed: Preference listener leak in My Config window (found using Leak Monitor,http://dbaron.org/mozilla/leak-monitor/)
Last edited by mrtech on June 22nd, 2006, 11:05 am, edited 7 times in total.
mel reyes • mrtech.com • BlogPlaxoLinkedInTwitter
Support mrtech.com get our toolbar

Cato62

User avatar
 
Posts: 684
Joined: March 7th, 2005, 10:06 am
Location: Eugene, OR

Post Posted May 10th, 2006, 4:49 pm

Working great in Firefox 1.5.0.3!

One minor glitch with Thunderbird 1.5.0.2, though. Nothing major, but......

After restarting, UN still showed that the new MTLI was available for update. Puzzled, I checked the EM window and instead of reading MTLI 4.6.4, it showed MTLI 4.2.1. Weird? After the second restart (no, I didn't try to reinstall MTLI) everything took hold as expected.

Not a complaint, just an FYI.

Thanks for this great extension!
"It is difficult to fight against anger, for a man will buy revenge with his soul." ~ Heraclites, 500 B.C.

The Blood Series: BloodFire, BloodFire 3, BloodThunder, BloodSun, & BloodSong

shirishag75

User avatar
 
Posts: 615
Joined: August 2nd, 2005, 10:45 am
Location: Pune,India

Post Posted May 10th, 2006, 4:49 pm

thanx mate :)
FF 60.0 on GNU/Linux as well as Windows :)
Extensions info. viewtopic.php?t=413910 - needs to be updated
http://flossexperiences.wordpress.com

mrtech

User avatar
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: May 15th, 2003, 7:46 am
Location: New York

Post Posted May 10th, 2006, 5:13 pm

Cato62: might be a extensions chrome or some download link issue, for your best bet try uninstalling, restarting and then reinstall the latest build just to make sure there aren't any lingering older test build urls or files around.

shirishag75: enjoy ;)
mel reyes • mrtech.com • BlogPlaxoLinkedInTwitter
Support mrtech.com get our toolbar

XerBlade

User avatar
 
Posts: 865
Joined: October 4th, 2005, 10:45 pm
Location: Nashville, TN, US

Post Posted May 10th, 2006, 5:19 pm

Cato62 wrote:Working great in Firefox 1.5.0.3!

One minor glitch with Thunderbird 1.5.0.2, though. Nothing major, but......

After restarting, UN still showed that the new MTLI was available for update. Puzzled, I checked the EM window and instead of reading MTLI 4.6.4, it showed MTLI 4.2.1. Weird? After the second restart (no, I didn't try to reinstall MTLI) everything took hold as expected.

Not a complaint, just an FYI.

Thanks for this great extension!

I had that same issue with IE Tab a couple months ago (only, in that case, it happened several tries in a row, all showing different versions, including a couple older personal self-made builds which should have had different GUIDs, so it was much weirder overall in that case). Also happened once with Tab Mix Plus, with the same severity as yours. I don't think it's MTLI-related.
User Agent
Extensions
AMD64/2.41GHz RAM/1.0GB ATI/256MB-GDDR3/128-bit/8xAGP Cable6.0M/384kbps

mrtech

User avatar
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: May 15th, 2003, 7:46 am
Location: New York

Post Posted May 10th, 2006, 5:25 pm

Xerblade: I think you're right, I think some how files are getting stuck in the staged-xpis or temp/tmp directories or the extensions.rdf file is retaining incorrect information. Removing both should resolve most future issues, I tend to do this regularly with my older 1.5 builds.

don't forget I put in the Repair Extensions/Theme hidden feature just set this to true:
local_install.showRepairExtensions

and a menu option will appear in the Help menu of the main window, just make sure your EM/TM/Addons is closed, select the Help menu item "Repair Extensions/Themes" and then restart. You'll have to resort and might have to re-"Make All Compatible" but you'll have a nice clean extensions.rdf and no staged-xpis and no temp/tmp directory in the "extensions" folder.

Enjoy.
mel reyes • mrtech.com • BlogPlaxoLinkedInTwitter
Support mrtech.com get our toolbar

XerBlade

User avatar
 
Posts: 865
Joined: October 4th, 2005, 10:45 pm
Location: Nashville, TN, US

Post Posted May 10th, 2006, 5:33 pm

Yes, I've used that feature 3 times already. -_-
And the only extension/theme I have installed currently that I would have to do a Make Compatible for (there are a few themes with manually bumped MaxVersions and I think just one extension, so they don't count) is one which I want to keep disabled for now anyway, so it all works out.
User Agent
Extensions
AMD64/2.41GHz RAM/1.0GB ATI/256MB-GDDR3/128-bit/8xAGP Cable6.0M/384kbps

Cato62

User avatar
 
Posts: 684
Joined: March 7th, 2005, 10:06 am
Location: Eugene, OR

Post Posted May 10th, 2006, 5:35 pm

XerBlade wrote:
Cato62 wrote:Working great in Firefox 1.5.0.3!

One minor glitch with Thunderbird 1.5.0.2, though. Nothing major, but......

After restarting, UN still showed that the new MTLI was available for update. Puzzled, I checked the EM window and instead of reading MTLI 4.6.4, it showed MTLI 4.2.1. Weird? After the second restart (no, I didn't try to reinstall MTLI) everything took hold as expected.

Not a complaint, just an FYI.

Thanks for this great extension!

I had that same issue with IE Tab a couple months ago (only, in that case, it happened several tries in a row, all showing different versions, including a couple older personal self-made builds which should have had different GUIDs, so it was much weirder overall in that case).


Yeah, I read that you had that problem. I must be one of the lucky ones. I haven't had any issues with IETab. In fact, rarely do I have issues with any extension. Must be living "right" I guess. 8-)
"It is difficult to fight against anger, for a man will buy revenge with his soul." ~ Heraclites, 500 B.C.

The Blood Series: BloodFire, BloodFire 3, BloodThunder, BloodSun, & BloodSong

Cato62

User avatar
 
Posts: 684
Joined: March 7th, 2005, 10:06 am
Location: Eugene, OR

Post Posted May 10th, 2006, 5:37 pm

mrtech wrote:Cato62: might be a extensions chrome or some download link issue, for your best bet try uninstalling, restarting and then reinstall the latest build just to make sure there aren't any lingering older test build urls or files around.


Uninstalled and reinstalled, as suggested. No problems at all! That did the trick. Thanks! 8-)
"It is difficult to fight against anger, for a man will buy revenge with his soul." ~ Heraclites, 500 B.C.

The Blood Series: BloodFire, BloodFire 3, BloodThunder, BloodSun, & BloodSong

slyfox

User avatar
 
Posts: 177
Joined: November 6th, 2004, 12:53 pm

Post Posted May 10th, 2006, 6:07 pm

In FFox 1.5.0.3 button bar above list without theme preview below list is not working correctly(I think you knew this)

Other than that it looks good...I will report anything else if I find anything
May the source be with you

[EXT] Splash Screen - 1.2 (100%), 2.0 (10%)

[EXT] Slyfox - The Firefox logger - alpha (3%)

Lost User 33597
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted May 10th, 2006, 6:39 pm

big problem....when installing an extension when i check the "override maxversion check" and then press the install button nothing happens not matter how many times i press it....tried uninstalling and reinstalling many times

Lost User 33597
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted May 10th, 2006, 7:09 pm

this is what i get in the jsconsoe every time i press the install button with "override maxversion check" checked

Error: [Exception... "Invalid InterfaceID" nsresult: "0x80570018 (NS_ERROR_XPC_BAD_IID)" location: "JS frame :: chrome://local_install/content/xpinstall.js :: anonymous :: line 18" data: no]
Source File: chrome://local_install/content/xpinstall.js
Line: 18
Last edited by Lost User 33597 on May 10th, 2006, 7:44 pm, edited 2 times in total.

********
 
Posts: 947
Joined: August 24th, 2005, 12:23 pm

Post Posted May 10th, 2006, 7:34 pm

mrtech,

My MTLI CSS mods for the Add-ons Manager and My Config in the sidebar

makes it so there is no horizontal scrollbar needed in the Addons Manager and things don't get cut off in My Config.

Robert S.

User avatar
 
Posts: 4399
Joined: April 24th, 2004, 3:04 am
Location: Bay Area, CA

Post Posted May 10th, 2006, 8:56 pm

Cato62 - One thing that will make it not update as you described - especially if it updates after a second restart - is if the app didn't completely exit. I suspect that is what you are seeing.

george27
 
Posts: 94
Joined: June 15th, 2004, 9:53 am

Post Posted May 10th, 2006, 9:01 pm

There seems to be a conflict with all in one sidebar that didn't occur with the previous version of MR Tech's Local Install. The extension window will only open in the sidebar. There is a 100% cpu spike that last a few seconds and delays the opening of the sidebar. If the install bar on top is checked the sidebar will not show any extension except in the icon drop down window.

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests