MozillaZine

Is there a way to force extensions to work in 2.0b1?

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
Jheriko
 
Posts: 224
Joined: March 13th, 2004, 4:07 am

Post Posted July 12th, 2006, 5:06 pm

For Firefox 1.5.x and older versions,
we were able to create a new String in about:config named
"app.extensions.version"
then we can put a version number.

Then we can install or enable extensions and Firefox will act as though it is of that version number.

EDIT:
Here's the page for "app.extensions.version"
http://kb.mozillazine.org/App.extensions.version



This was a great and simple way to make extensions work
while waiting for the extension authors to bump up their maxversion.


"app.extensions.version" doesn't seem to work anymore in 2.0b1.


Was it replaced by something else or renamed to something else?

Or was it just simply removed? (which would be quite a shame)
Last edited by Jheriko on July 12th, 2006, 5:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Firefox user since Firebird 0.7

Schrade

User avatar
 
Posts: 1187
Joined: March 17th, 2004, 12:24 am

Post Posted July 12th, 2006, 5:20 pm

Use MR Tech Local Install or Nightly Tester Tools. Both offer a feature when you install extensions you can check a box to bump the maxVersion. You can also right click on disabled extensions in the extension window and 'Make Compatible' them.
"Linux is for those who hate Windows, BSD is for those who love Unix." -Some Guy
Try my themes: QuBranch and QuTrunk
Fix Firefox's Resized image scrolling speed: <b>Bug 163975</b>

pal-moz
 
Posts: 5937
Joined: September 23rd, 2005, 5:40 pm
Location: Tokyo , Japan

Post Posted July 12th, 2006, 5:29 pm

Jheriko wrote:For Firefox 1.5.x and older versions,
we were able to create a new String in about:config named
"app.extensions.version"
then we can put a version number.
Then we can install or enable extensions and Firefox will act as though it is of that version number.
This was a great and simple way to make extensions work
while waiting for the extension authors to bump up their maxversion.
"app.extensions.version" doesn't seem to work anymore in 2.0b1.
Was it replaced by something else or renamed to something else?
Or was it just simply removed? (which would be quite a shame)

1) set "extensions.checkCompatibility" to "false"
2) rewrite maxversion/minversion in install.rdf to "2.0b1"

[off-topix]
MR Tech *** sometimes will cause a problem, take care.

Jheriko
 
Posts: 224
Joined: March 13th, 2004, 4:07 am

Post Posted July 12th, 2006, 5:43 pm

Schrade
"Use MR Tech Local Install or Nightly Tester Tools. Both offer a feature when you install extensions you can check a box to bump the maxVersion. You can also right click on disabled extensions in the extension window and 'Make Compatible' them."



Yes, I've heard of those before,
but I wonder if there was a simple way in about:config like "app.extensions.version".

Because I've always used that method.

Still, thanks for the suggestions.
Last edited by Jheriko on July 12th, 2006, 5:50 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Firefox user since Firebird 0.7

Jheriko
 
Posts: 224
Joined: March 13th, 2004, 4:07 am

Post Posted July 12th, 2006, 5:48 pm

pal-moz:
"set "extensions.checkCompatibility" to "false" "


This seems to work!

There's now a yellow bar in Addons that says,
"Add-on compatibility checking is disabled. You may have incompatible add-ons. [Enable] [x]"
but this is no big problem.


I'll post again if there are any further issues.

Thanks!
Firefox user since Firebird 0.7

Robert S.

User avatar
 
Posts: 4399
Joined: April 24th, 2004, 3:04 am
Location: Bay Area, CA

Post Posted July 12th, 2006, 8:19 pm

As a side note... Mossop - the author of Nightly Tester Tools - is the person that wrote the excellent patch that removed app.extensions.version and added extensions.checkCompatibility. Using app.extensions.version would cause problems with extensions if the version set in the pref was lower than the minVersion of an installed extension.

pal-moz
 
Posts: 5937
Joined: September 23rd, 2005, 5:40 pm
Location: Tokyo , Japan

Post Posted July 12th, 2006, 8:28 pm

Robert S. wrote:patch that removed app.extensions.version and added extensions.checkCompatibility.

"extensions.checkCompatibility" exist by default. no need the patch.

EVanVickle

User avatar
 
Posts: 72
Joined: October 19th, 2005, 4:52 am

Post Posted July 12th, 2006, 8:47 pm

I tried this and I do not think I did it correctly. Could we be more specific? I am fairly PC literate but regedit, and about:config worry me
I put that text in there and I did not have any luck. Heh I only want ONE extension to work that isn't working yet. Minimize to Tray. LOL if it was that simple!!! Thanks ahead of time.
V

Landonian

User avatar
 
Posts: 65
Joined: February 27th, 2005, 2:43 pm

Post Posted July 12th, 2006, 8:47 pm

The patch added it in by default ;)

Landonian

User avatar
 
Posts: 65
Joined: February 27th, 2005, 2:43 pm

Post Posted July 12th, 2006, 9:01 pm

evanvickle wrote:Could we be more specific?

To disable compatibility checking:
Open up a browser window> Hit Ctrl+T or File-New Tab> type "about:config" without the quotes into the address bar> hit Enter or press the Go button> In the Filter field at the top type in "extensions.checkCompatibility" again without the quotes> right click on the only line now showing and select "Toggle". There you're done! You can now install any extension without it yelling at you about it not working.

Using an extension:
MR Tech's extensions could have changed since the last time I tried them but they were pretty buggy when i last tried them so I use NTT (Nightly Tester Tools) which can be found <a href="http://users.blueprintit.co.uk/~dave/web/firefox/nightly/index.html">here</a>. Simply install that extension and then make sure you click the check mark box in the install dialog of the extension that isn't working to force the extension to install.

Be cautious though as some extensions haven't had their maxversion bumped for a reason...they actually don't work!

Jheriko
 
Posts: 224
Joined: March 13th, 2004, 4:07 am

Post Posted July 12th, 2006, 9:26 pm

Landonian,
I think "extensions.checkCompatibility" was NOT there by default.

Personally, I had to create it myself.

Anyways, evanvickle,
if you don't see "extensions.checkCompatibility" in about:config
right click anywhere in the list, then choose New > Boolean
type in extensions.checkCompatibility
then choose false and OK

If your Addons window was open already, close and reopen.

Should work now.
ANY extension can be installed now.
Firefox user since Firebird 0.7

Robert S.

User avatar
 
Posts: 4399
Joined: April 24th, 2004, 3:04 am
Location: Bay Area, CA

Post Posted July 12th, 2006, 9:37 pm

pal-moz wrote:
Robert S. wrote:patch that removed app.extensions.version and added extensions.checkCompatibility.

"extensions.checkCompatibility" exist by default. no need the patch.

I was referring to the extension manager patch that removed the use of app.extensions.version and added the use of extensions.checkCompatibility... it was written by Mossop.
<a href='https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=330895'>#330895</a> [Firefox]-Remove the use of the app.extensions.version pref [All]

Also, the pref does not exist by default and has to be added as a type boolean with a value of false.

pal-moz
 
Posts: 5937
Joined: September 23rd, 2005, 5:40 pm
Location: Tokyo , Japan

Post Posted July 12th, 2006, 10:12 pm

sorry, my fault.
it's from NTT.

QQFarmer

User avatar
 
Posts: 22
Joined: August 16th, 2005, 9:25 pm
Location: NYC

Post Posted July 12th, 2006, 10:53 pm

Good news for users of "Tab Mix Plus". If you are using FF Beta 1, go here to get the latest Tab Mix Plus Dev-Build: http://tmp.garyr.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2582.
Losing all hope is freedom.

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests