MozillaZine

Firefox not even trying

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Confused2006
Guest
 

Post Posted July 19th, 2006, 10:02 am

Apologies if this has been asked before, but I don't really know what to search for.

Sometimes, it seems like Firefox has decided that a webpage/URL is unavailable, and WILL NOT try to find it, regardless of how many times I try to refresh or reload. If I push the "Try Again" button, the status bar instantly returns "Done" and the "Unable to connect" page remains.

Most of the time, the page will at least TRY to connect (Looking up, or Loading), but just occasionally FF will simply refuse to even bother..

This is not an external problem or related to any particular website.

I have tried clearing the cache. I have tried the "Repair" button on my Network Connections. The only thing that seems to work is shutting down Windows and restarting - not something I'm particularly keen on, when I have a load of things running.

I have experienced a similar phenomenon with IE in the past.

Can anyone please help?

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52693
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted July 19th, 2006, 10:24 am

Could be a caching of bad DNS entries.
Try to flush the DNS cache:
Start > Run: ipconfig /flushdns

See: http://kb.mozillazine.org/Error_loading_some_websites

VanillaMozilla
 
Posts: 13808
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 11:26 am

Post Posted July 19th, 2006, 10:27 am

It sounds like it might be a DNS problem, compounded by a Windows bug. It may be Windows that is just giving up without trying again.

Look here: http://kb.mozillazine.org/Error_loading_any_website . See section on DNS.

Instead of rebooting try flushing the DNS cache. Enter
ipconfig /flushdns
in a command window (Start > Run > cmd).

VanillaMozilla
 
Posts: 13808
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 11:26 am

Post Posted July 19th, 2006, 10:34 am

Aw, rats. The section on DNS is on the wrong KB page. It's actually in the link I gave, but it should be in "Error loading some websites".

By the way, Confused, when you get two almost identical answers that cross in the mail, you'd better believe it. That's as good as it gets around here. :)

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52693
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted July 19th, 2006, 11:06 am


VanillaMozilla
 
Posts: 13808
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 11:26 am

Post Posted July 19th, 2006, 4:08 pm

If you are interested in doing it or advocating it, you might check the discussion and check with NP first. There are indications already in the discussion that support your point of view. People are confused when it is supposed to be random and isn't, etc.

Alice

User avatar
 
Posts: 2627
Joined: April 23rd, 2003, 11:47 am

Post Posted July 19th, 2006, 4:19 pm

dickvl wrote:Some should combine the three articles to one:
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Error_loading_any_website
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Error_loading_some_websites
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Websites_rand ... n%27t_load

They overlap and sometimes it is not clear which to point to.

Someone made an attempt to at least point people in the right direction:
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Error_loading_websites

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52693
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted July 19th, 2006, 4:28 pm

Yes, I know: "name already taken" did that (haven't seen posts lately).

I don't want to confuse the posters too much, I like to be as precise as possible when pointing to a solution. So I have to check which one applies to the situation if I can't remember.

Alice

User avatar
 
Posts: 2627
Joined: April 23rd, 2003, 11:47 am

Post Posted July 19th, 2006, 5:15 pm

VanillaMozilla wrote:Aw, rats. The section on DNS is on the wrong KB page. It's actually in the link I gave, but it should be in "Error loading some websites".

Actually, the DNS cache issue IS in the "Error loading some websites" article, but that article only gives links instead of including the fix given in the http://kb.mozillazine.org/Error_loading_any_website#DNS article. (I just edited the "some websites" article to include the "Start -> Run -> ipconfig /flushdns" fix.)

dickvl,
I think it's a great idea to combine all three articles into one "superarticle". In fact, you can use the Error loading websitesarticle for that, just copy everything into it, minus the overlap, then redirect the three articles to the "superarticle".

P.S. I started a discussion page here:
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Talk:Error_loading_websites

Confused2006
Guest
 

Post Posted July 19th, 2006, 8:23 pm

Problem solved!

Thank you all very much for your help.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52693
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted July 20th, 2006, 10:23 am

Confused2006:
What was the solution?

Confused2006
Guest
 

Post Posted July 21st, 2006, 4:32 am

I flushed out the DNS cache, hit Shift-Reload ...... and it worked.

I also had a read through some of the linked pages above. Some very useful stuff, now bookmarked.

Thanks again.

VanillaMozilla
 
Posts: 13808
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 11:26 am

Post Posted July 21st, 2006, 9:53 am

If you have continued problems with the DNS system, those links give alternatives. You can also disable caching of negative lookup results. At least there's a workaround for this Windows misfeature.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests