MozillaZine

[Ext] Extension Developer's Extension 0.3.0.20060726

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
Ted Mielczarek
 
Posts: 1269
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 7:32 am
Location: PA

Post Posted August 1st, 2006, 7:57 am

After much delay, a new version of Extension Developer's Extension is here!

Homepage
Direct XPI Link

I have tested it on Firefox 1.5 and trunk, Thunderbird 1.5, Seamonkey 1.0, and Flock 0.7.

New features:
  • Updated JS Shell and JS Environment to latest versions
  • JS Environment, Live XUL Editor, Live HTML Editor all have Load and Save buttons now
  • JS Environment has a scope selector
  • Added JRX - JavaScript Real-Time RegEx Evaluator
  • Added Interactive XPath Tester
  • Updated Extension Builder to work with FF 1.5+ extensions -- works like asqueella's build.sh
  • Added window icons for all tools so you can distinguish their windows
Known problems:
  • JS Shell sucks in Thunderbird
  • Xpath Evaluator broken in Thunderbird
  • Extension builder might not work on all extension layouts, feedback needed


-Ted

Philip Chee

User avatar
 
Posts: 6475
Joined: March 1st, 2005, 3:03 pm

Post Posted August 6th, 2006, 6:30 am

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.0.6) Gecko/20060803 SeaMonkey/1.0.4
extensiondev-0.3.0.20060726.xpi

Enable Debugging Preferences turns on: "nglayout.debug.disable_xul_cache".
But this causes SeaMonkey to max the CPU usage to 99% making it effectively unusable.

Phil

Ted Mielczarek
 
Posts: 1269
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 7:32 am
Location: PA

Post Posted August 7th, 2006, 2:51 am

I tested it with Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.0.2) Gecko/20060404 SeaMonkey/1.0.1, and I don't see the same problem. Can anyone else reproduce this? Do you have any other extensions installed that could be causing the problem? Extension development is so much harder without that pref on that I can't imagine not setting it.

Philip Chee

User avatar
 
Posts: 6475
Joined: March 1st, 2005, 3:03 pm

Post Posted August 7th, 2006, 3:13 am

Ted Mielczarek wrote:I tested it with Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.0.2) Gecko/20060404 SeaMonkey/1.0.1, and I don't see the same problem. Can anyone else reproduce this? Do you have any other extensions installed that could be causing the problem? Extension development is so much harder without that pref on that I can't imagine not setting it.
This is in a profile I use to test all the Firefox extensions I've ported to SeaMonkey as part of my xSidebar project. So basically I've all those extensions loaded up in this profile. I guess I'll create a new empty profile and see how it goes. But I have to say I've never had to disable the XUL cache when working on either Flashblock or xSidebar or any of my extension ports. Remind me again why I have to disable the cache?

Phil

Zoolcar9

User avatar
 
Posts: 2225
Joined: November 9th, 2004, 6:45 pm
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia (UTC+7)

Post Posted August 7th, 2006, 10:55 am


Hi, Ted, I edit xuledit.xul and added a button to inspect the content with DOMI as asqueella requested.

Image
Code: Select all
<button label="Inspect" id="inspect" onclick="window.openDialog('chrome://inspector/content/', '_blank', 'chrome,all,dialog=no', document.getElementById('content').contentDocument)"/>

My Firefox information | Add-ons | GitHub

"With great power, comes great desire to show it off."

Ted Mielczarek
 
Posts: 1269
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 7:32 am
Location: PA

Post Posted August 14th, 2006, 7:00 am

Pretty nice, although I don't think that's exactly what asqueella wanted. Maybe I'll add it to the next version.

-Ted

tastywheat
 
Posts: 9
Joined: June 6th, 2005, 3:15 am

Post Posted November 11th, 2006, 1:05 am

Sorry to rekindle such an old thread, but I think it's important (or at lease relevant).

When I use the bookmarklet version of JS Environment and I print out window.location I get the URL of the current web page. When I use the installed version I always get something starting with 'chrome://'. Is it supposed to be like that? If so, how am I supposed to write scripts without executing at the HTMLDocument level?

No complaints with JS Shell though. Using enumerateWindows() I get a lot more options for the scope. It actually includes web pages and not just windows.

Browser: Firefox 2.0
OS: Windows XP SP2
Ext. Version: 0.3.0.20060726

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests