Set Firefox as Default browser using batch script

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Post Reply
jebensberg
Posts: 2
Joined: August 15th, 2006, 10:35 am

Set Firefox as Default browser using batch script

Post by jebensberg »

I have a Windows 2003 network with Active Directory. I encourage users to use Firefox. I use the MSI files for deployment from FrontMotion. All users run under limited user rights for security purposes. After deploying Firefox... IE becomes the default browser again. I want to build a batch script to run at login that will set Firefox as the default browser. Right now I'm using the following script for testing.

cd C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox
pause
firefox.exe -silent -nosplash -setDefaultBrowser

I run this as local admin. The problem is that this will not work so I use the following instead.

cd C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox
pause
firefox.exe -silent -setDefaultBrowser

This works! However, when I click a link in an email it launches TWO Firefox windows... so I corrected that by running

firefox.exe -nosplash

But... that launches firefox... Any suggestions on what switches I need to pass in order to set the default, NOT launch firefox and prevent two windows from launching?

I'm running 1.5.0.6

Thanks!!
User avatar
trolly
Moderator
Posts: 39851
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post by trolly »

Where do you get that options from? The local list ( http://kb.mozillazine.org/Command_line_arguments ) does not know any of them.
Maybe one of the tools mentioned here can do it.
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Default_brows ... ty_utility

Otherwise find the key in the registry and change it by installing a .reg file.
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.
jebensberg
Posts: 2
Joined: August 15th, 2006, 10:35 am

Post by jebensberg »

Thanks for the reply trolly. I found the switches at http://kb.mozillazine.org/Setting_Your_ ... he_default

I think I'll try the registry change option...

Thanks!
Post Reply