How to remove the "Go" button?
- Clued2it
- Posts: 240
- Joined: June 27th, 2004, 8:30 am
How to remove the "Go" button?
Using Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1b2) Gecko/2006082101 Firefox/2.0b2.
When I go into Customize mode and I drag the "Go" button to remove it from the toolbar, the address locator is removed as well. Is there a different way to remove this button from the toolbar?
When I go into Customize mode and I drag the "Go" button to remove it from the toolbar, the address locator is removed as well. Is there a different way to remove this button from the toolbar?
- RaiseMachine
- Posts: 1764
- Joined: December 6th, 2004, 6:05 pm
- Location: England
Add to userChrome.css
Code: Select all
#go-button { display: none; }
"Doesn't the idea of making nature against the law seem to you a bit... unnatural ?" - Bill Hicks
"Money is the Schrodinger's Cat of economics." - Robert Anton Wilson
"It's not a bug, it's two features having a fight in the pub car-park." - Me
"Money is the Schrodinger's Cat of economics." - Robert Anton Wilson
"It's not a bug, it's two features having a fight in the pub car-park." - Me
-
- Posts: 0
- Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm
- RaiseMachine
- Posts: 1764
- Joined: December 6th, 2004, 6:05 pm
- Location: England
Clued2it wrote:Thank you for the suggestion, but it didn't work.
There's no reason why it shouldn't as it works for me. The link from bozz is about the search go button *not* the URL bar go button.
"Doesn't the idea of making nature against the law seem to you a bit... unnatural ?" - Bill Hicks
"Money is the Schrodinger's Cat of economics." - Robert Anton Wilson
"It's not a bug, it's two features having a fight in the pub car-park." - Me
"Money is the Schrodinger's Cat of economics." - Robert Anton Wilson
"It's not a bug, it's two features having a fight in the pub car-park." - Me
- Clued2it
- Posts: 240
- Joined: June 27th, 2004, 8:30 am
RaiseMachine wrote:The link from bozz is about the search go button *not* the URL bar go button.
Oh, you are right.
I copied and pasted your suggested entry into my userChrome.css to make sure there would be no typos. Could it have anything to do that I use the same profile as for the previous beta?
EDIT: Answering my own question. I created a new profile and simply added the entry in userChrome.css. The Go button is... gone. However, I dread to have to create a complete profile from scratch. Is there a shortcut way to do it?
By the way my userChrome.css (with the problem) contains the following:
/* Make the Search box flex wider
(in this case 160 pixels wide) */
#search-container { width: 160px !important;
}
/* #searchbar {
-moz-box-flex: 200 !important;
} */
/* Remove extra padding from the Navigation Bar */
.toolbarbutton-1, .toolbarbutton-menubutton-button {
padding: 2px 3px !important;
}
.toolbarbutton-1[checked="true"], .toolbarbutton-1[open="true"],
.toolbarbutton-menubutton-button[checked="true"],
.toolbarbutton-menubutton-button[open="true"] {
padding: 4px 1px 1px 4px !important;
}
/* Make menus XP style */
menupopup, popup {
border: 1px solid ThreeDShadow !important;
-moz-border-left-colors: ThreeDShadow !important;
-moz-border-top-colors: ThreeDShadow !important;
-moz-border-right-colors: ThreeDShadow !important;
-moz-border-bottom-colors: ThreeDShadow !important;
padding: 1px !important;
background-color: Menu !important;
}
menubar > menu {
border: 1px solid transparent !important;
padding: 2px 5px 2px 7px !important;
margin: 0 !important;
}
menubar > menu[_moz-menuactive="true"] {
background-color : Highlight !important;
color: HighlightText !important;
}
/* reduce height of toolbars */
toolbarbutton {
padding:0 1px !important; border:0 1px !important;
}
.toolbar-holder{
padding:0 !important; max-height:28px !important;
}
menubar > menu {
padding: 0 5px !important; border-width: 1px 2px !important;
}
.menulist-editable-box {
margin-top:-2px;
}
#linktoolbar {
max-height:18px;
}
/* Code Ends Here */
/* Make throbber work with TabMix and Trunk builds */
tab[busy] .tab-icon {
list-style-image: url("chrome://browser/skin/Throbber-small.gif") !important;
/* Code Ends Here */
/*Remove Go button */
#go-button { display: none; }
/* Code Ends Here */
-
- Posts: 0
- Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm
- RaiseMachine
- Posts: 1764
- Joined: December 6th, 2004, 6:05 pm
- Location: England
Clued2it wrote:By the way my userChrome.css (with the problem) contains the following:
There's a missing closing brace:
/* Make throbber work with TabMix and Trunk builds */
tab[busy] .tab-icon {
list-style-image: url("chrome://browser/skin/Throbber-small.gif") !important;
}
/* Code Ends Here */
/*Remove Go button */
#go-button { display: none; }
/* Code Ends Here */
"Doesn't the idea of making nature against the law seem to you a bit... unnatural ?" - Bill Hicks
"Money is the Schrodinger's Cat of economics." - Robert Anton Wilson
"It's not a bug, it's two features having a fight in the pub car-park." - Me
"Money is the Schrodinger's Cat of economics." - Robert Anton Wilson
"It's not a bug, it's two features having a fight in the pub car-park." - Me
-
- Posts: 0
- Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm
RaiseMachine wrote:There's no reason why it shouldn't as it works for me. The link from bozz is about the search go button *not* the URL bar go button.
Sorry. This must be something new after the build I'm using. I don't see anything in my userChrome about it. I guess I had better try a later build and catch up.
- ColdFusion650
- Posts: 2186
- Joined: December 5th, 2004, 1:12 pm
- Location: Below the Mason-Dixon
- Uncle Spellbinder
- Posts: 3523
- Joined: May 28th, 2004, 4:52 pm
- Location: Highland, IN - U.S.A.
- Contact:
Click the image below the install the extension:
Or visit http://webdesigns.ms11.net/chromeditp.html and scroll about half way down the page.
Or visit http://webdesigns.ms11.net/chromeditp.html and scroll about half way down the page.
“Without music, life would be a mistake.” ― Friedrich Nietzsche
- ColdFusion650
- Posts: 2186
- Joined: December 5th, 2004, 1:12 pm
- Location: Below the Mason-Dixon
- Uncle Spellbinder
- Posts: 3523
- Joined: May 28th, 2004, 4:52 pm
- Location: Highland, IN - U.S.A.
- Contact:
ColdFusion650 wrote:that extensions only useful if you want to have the go button somewhere other than at the end of the location bar. if you want it gone, the css is an easier solution. any word from mozilla if this is an accidental or intentional screw up?
I think not. I can remove it completely and have no go button or move it where i choose. The extension is the easier solution.
“Without music, life would be a mistake.” ― Friedrich Nietzsche