How to remove the "Go" button?

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
User avatar
Clued2it
Posts: 240
Joined: June 27th, 2004, 8:30 am

How to remove the "Go" button?

Post by Clued2it »

Using Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1b2) Gecko/2006082101 Firefox/2.0b2.

When I go into Customize mode and I drag the "Go" button to remove it from the toolbar, the address locator is removed as well. Is there a different way to remove this button from the toolbar?
User avatar
RaiseMachine
Posts: 1764
Joined: December 6th, 2004, 6:05 pm
Location: England

Post by RaiseMachine »

Add to userChrome.css

Code: Select all

#go-button { display: none; }
"Doesn't the idea of making nature against the law seem to you a bit... unnatural ?" - Bill Hicks
"Money is the Schrodinger's Cat of economics." - Robert Anton Wilson
"It's not a bug, it's two features having a fight in the pub car-park." - Me
User avatar
Clued2it
Posts: 240
Joined: June 27th, 2004, 8:30 am

Post by Clued2it »

Thank you for the suggestion, but it didn't work. :(
Old Bozz
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post by Old Bozz »

User avatar
Clued2it
Posts: 240
Joined: June 27th, 2004, 8:30 am

Post by Clued2it »

Thank you bozz. I'll take a look at that thread.
User avatar
RaiseMachine
Posts: 1764
Joined: December 6th, 2004, 6:05 pm
Location: England

Post by RaiseMachine »

Clued2it wrote:Thank you for the suggestion, but it didn't work. :(

There's no reason why it shouldn't as it works for me. The link from bozz is about the search go button *not* the URL bar go button.
"Doesn't the idea of making nature against the law seem to you a bit... unnatural ?" - Bill Hicks
"Money is the Schrodinger's Cat of economics." - Robert Anton Wilson
"It's not a bug, it's two features having a fight in the pub car-park." - Me
User avatar
Clued2it
Posts: 240
Joined: June 27th, 2004, 8:30 am

Post by Clued2it »

RaiseMachine wrote:The link from bozz is about the search go button *not* the URL bar go button.

Oh, you are right.
I copied and pasted your suggested entry into my userChrome.css to make sure there would be no typos. Could it have anything to do that I use the same profile as for the previous beta?

EDIT: Answering my own question. I created a new profile and simply added the entry in userChrome.css. The Go button is... gone. However, I dread to have to create a complete profile from scratch. Is there a shortcut way to do it?

By the way my userChrome.css (with the problem) contains the following:

/* Make the Search box flex wider
(in this case 160 pixels wide) */
#search-container { width: 160px !important;
}
/* #searchbar {
-moz-box-flex: 200 !important;
} */

/* Remove extra padding from the Navigation Bar */
.toolbarbutton-1, .toolbarbutton-menubutton-button {
padding: 2px 3px !important;
}
.toolbarbutton-1[checked="true"], .toolbarbutton-1[open="true"],
.toolbarbutton-menubutton-button[checked="true"],
.toolbarbutton-menubutton-button[open="true"] {
padding: 4px 1px 1px 4px !important;
}

/* Make menus XP style */
menupopup, popup {
border: 1px solid ThreeDShadow !important;
-moz-border-left-colors: ThreeDShadow !important;
-moz-border-top-colors: ThreeDShadow !important;
-moz-border-right-colors: ThreeDShadow !important;
-moz-border-bottom-colors: ThreeDShadow !important;
padding: 1px !important;
background-color: Menu !important;
}
menubar > menu {
border: 1px solid transparent !important;
padding: 2px 5px 2px 7px !important;
margin: 0 !important;
}
menubar > menu[_moz-menuactive="true"] {
background-color : Highlight !important;
color: HighlightText !important;
}

/* reduce height of toolbars */
toolbarbutton {
padding:0 1px !important; border:0 1px !important;
}
.toolbar-holder{
padding:0 !important; max-height:28px !important;
}
menubar > menu {
padding: 0 5px !important; border-width: 1px 2px !important;
}
.menulist-editable-box {
margin-top:-2px;
}
#linktoolbar {
max-height:18px;
}
/* Code Ends Here */


/* Make throbber work with TabMix and Trunk builds */
tab[busy] .tab-icon {
list-style-image: url("chrome://browser/skin/Throbber-small.gif") !important;
/* Code Ends Here */

/*Remove Go button */
#go-button { display: none; }
/* Code Ends Here */
Old xfsunolesphp
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post by Old xfsunolesphp »

Why not to use customize toolbar?

Open customize toolbar.
Drag Go button to that customize toolbar window.
Click Done
User avatar
RaiseMachine
Posts: 1764
Joined: December 6th, 2004, 6:05 pm
Location: England

Post by RaiseMachine »

Clued2it wrote:By the way my userChrome.css (with the problem) contains the following:

There's a missing closing brace:

/* Make throbber work with TabMix and Trunk builds */
tab[busy] .tab-icon {
list-style-image: url("chrome://browser/skin/Throbber-small.gif") !important;
}
/* Code Ends Here */

/*Remove Go button */
#go-button { display: none; }
/* Code Ends Here */
"Doesn't the idea of making nature against the law seem to you a bit... unnatural ?" - Bill Hicks
"Money is the Schrodinger's Cat of economics." - Robert Anton Wilson
"It's not a bug, it's two features having a fight in the pub car-park." - Me
Old Bozz
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post by Old Bozz »

RaiseMachine wrote:There's no reason why it shouldn't as it works for me. The link from bozz is about the search go button *not* the URL bar go button.

Sorry. This must be something new after the build I'm using. I don't see anything in my userChrome about it. I guess I had better try a later build and catch up.
User avatar
Clued2it
Posts: 240
Joined: June 27th, 2004, 8:30 am

Post by Clued2it »

Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU RaiseMachine! =D>

The closing brace was the culprit. The Go button is gone and I'm very pleased indeed.
User avatar
ColdFusion650
Posts: 2186
Joined: December 5th, 2004, 1:12 pm
Location: Below the Mason-Dixon

Post by ColdFusion650 »

xfsunolesphp wrote:Why not to use customize toolbar?

Open customize toolbar.
Drag Go button to that customize toolbar window.
Click Done

because the go button is attached the location bar. if you drag off the go button, the location bar comes to.
User avatar
Uncle Spellbinder
Posts: 3523
Joined: May 28th, 2004, 4:52 pm
Location: Highland, IN - U.S.A.
Contact:

Post by Uncle Spellbinder »

Click the image below the install the extension:

Image

Or visit http://webdesigns.ms11.net/chromeditp.html and scroll about half way down the page.
“Without music, life would be a mistake.”Friedrich Nietzsche
User avatar
ColdFusion650
Posts: 2186
Joined: December 5th, 2004, 1:12 pm
Location: Below the Mason-Dixon

Post by ColdFusion650 »

that extensions only useful if you want to have the go button somewhere other than at the end of the location bar. if you want it gone, the css is an easier solution. any word from mozilla if this is an accidental or intentional screw up?
User avatar
Uncle Spellbinder
Posts: 3523
Joined: May 28th, 2004, 4:52 pm
Location: Highland, IN - U.S.A.
Contact:

Post by Uncle Spellbinder »

ColdFusion650 wrote:that extensions only useful if you want to have the go button somewhere other than at the end of the location bar. if you want it gone, the css is an easier solution. any word from mozilla if this is an accidental or intentional screw up?


I think not. I can remove it completely and have no go button or move it where i choose. The extension is the easier solution.

Image
“Without music, life would be a mistake.”Friedrich Nietzsche
Post Reply