MozillaZine

Ten features I would like to see in Firefox 2.0.

Discussion of features in Mozilla Firefox
aryayush
 
Posts: 3
Joined: October 28th, 2006, 4:59 am
Location: West Bengal, India

Post Posted October 28th, 2006, 5:53 am

Hello!
I just downloaded Mozilla Firefox version 2.0 for Macintosh an hour ago and have been using it for a while now. I must say that I am quite impressed and it has almost succeeded in switching me over from Opera. However, I would like to see the following features added:
1. Make a trash can similar to Opera on the right side of the tab bar. Navigating to 'History >> Recently Closed Tabs' is just a mouse movement and click too many.
2. When I create a custom search, I would prefer it to be added to the searches drop down menu too.
3. New tabs should open next to the active one, not at the extreme right of the tab bar. At least give us an option to do so.
4. Add drag-and-drop functionality for moving tabs between two open Firefox windows. It is there at present too, but we can only copy a tab to another window (not move it) and it re-loads the page instead of just using the already open page.
5. When you open too many tabs in Firefox, it moves them out of the windows and two buttons appear for displaying the hidden tabs. This can be pretty cumbersome. It should just keep resizing the tabs like Opera.
6. When you right click on an image and select 'Save Image As...', it opens the transfers windows and the image is downloaded again to the selected location. Why can't the browser just copy the cached image to the selected location in the background?
7. In Opera, you can view the source of a page and edit it and then select 'Reload from cache'. The page will be re-loaded to reflect the changes you made to the code. It's a good feature that is lacking in Firefox.
8. The most space efficient way to view the progress in detail while a page is being opened is to set the option to show the progress bar inside the address bar in Opera. Another feature I cannot live without and is absent in Firefox.
9. Choosing 'Open All in Tabs' from any folder in the Bookmarks list opens all the bookmarked items on top of the already open tabs. What sort of a crappy implementation is this? How intelligent do you have to be to understand that the user needs the open tabs too! This feature has practically been rendered useless, thanks to the shoddy modus operandi.
10. This last one is a Macintosh specific demand. Apple's native applications (such as Safari) resize the windows to the size of the contents on pressing the green plus (+) button (i.e. the zoom button) but Firefox doesn't. Selecting any word and right clicking on it should have the option 'Look Up in Dictionary' and Firefox lacks this too.
I would be very thankful if someone told me how to access some of the features I mentioned if it is possible and I have overlooked it. Any extensions or plug-ins that enable any of the above mentioned features are also welcome.
Thank you! :)

casey1992
 
Posts: 696
Joined: December 10th, 2003, 1:20 am

Post Posted October 28th, 2006, 9:20 am

aryayush wrote:3. New tabs should open next to the active one, not at the extreme right of the tab bar. At least give us an option to do so.

I agree that the option to do this should be provided in the core browser and in the preferences interface, even if it isn't the default. The <a href="https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/1956/">Tabs Open Relative</a> extension gives you this choice.

aryayush wrote:5. When you open too many tabs in Firefox, it moves them out of the windows and two buttons appear for displaying the hidden tabs. This can be pretty cumbersome. It should just keep resizing the tabs like Opera.

I think the new tab overflow feature beats the old one, but apparently the developers liked it so much that they picked a pretty large minimum tab size. ;) Go to <a href="http://kb.mozillazine.org/About:config">about:config</a> and change "browser.tabs.tabMinWidth" to a smaller number that suits your needs. Changes take effect the next time you open a new window.

aryayush wrote:7. In Opera, you can view the source of a page and edit it and then select 'Reload from cache'. The page will be re-loaded to reflect the changes you made to the code. It's a good feature that is lacking in Firefox.

Give the <a href="https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/394/">View Source With</a> extension a whirl.

aryayush wrote:9. Choosing 'Open All in Tabs' from any folder in the Bookmarks list opens all the bookmarked items on top of the already open tabs. What sort of a crappy implementation is this? How intelligent do you have to be to understand that the user needs the open tabs too! This feature has practically been rendered useless, thanks to the shoddy modus operandi.

I think there's a way to accomplish this, but I've never been successful at it. :(

aryayush wrote:10. This last one is a Macintosh specific demand. Apple's native applications (such as Safari) resize the windows to the size of the contents on pressing the green plus (+) button (i.e. the zoom button) but Firefox doesn't. Selecting any word and right clicking on it should have the option 'Look Up in Dictionary' and Firefox lacks this too.

Firefox 3 will interact much more with the OS, so I wouldn't be surprised if the green button worked much more to your expectations at that point.

There are some dictionary extensions out there, but I'm not finding one quickly. Maybe someone else can chime in with that. Outside of those, the <a href="https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/240/">Context Search</a> extension may suit you. It lets you highlight text and search for it via any of the search engines you have installed. Just make sure you have a dictionary among them. (You can add search engines via "Manage Search Engines..." at the bottom of the Search Box menu.)

aryayush
 
Posts: 3
Joined: October 28th, 2006, 4:59 am
Location: West Bengal, India

Post Posted October 28th, 2006, 10:53 pm

Actually I wanted the word to be searched in Mac OS X's in-built system-wide dictionary.
Anyway, thanks for the links to the extensions. They are pretty useful. I now have new tabs opening next to the active one and multiple tabs staying on the same page. :)

the-edmeister

User avatar
 
Posts: 32186
Joined: February 25th, 2003, 12:51 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Post Posted October 29th, 2006, 12:15 am

casey wrote:aryayush wrote:
9. Choosing 'Open All in Tabs' from any folder in the Bookmarks list opens all the bookmarked items on top of the already open tabs. What sort of a crappy implementation is this? How intelligent do you have to be to understand that the user needs the open tabs too! This feature has practically been rendered useless, thanks to the shoddy modus operandi.

I think there's a way to accomplish this, but I've never been successful at it.
Type about:config in the URL bar and hit Enter
Pref Name = browser.tabs.loadFoldersAndReplace Right-click and select toggle to False
Restart Firefox


Ed
A mind is a terrible thing to waste. Mine has wandered off and I'm out looking for it.

pile0nades
 
Posts: 756
Joined: May 15th, 2005, 2:31 am

Post Posted October 29th, 2006, 12:35 am

Many people disagree with the Open All in Tabs default setting. It was done based on a usability study that was never released to the public.
Linkify bug numbers - test: bug 258287

casey1992
 
Posts: 696
Joined: December 10th, 2003, 1:20 am

Post Posted October 29th, 2006, 2:30 am

the-edmeister,

The pref was spelled wrong, but I added it and got it to work. :)

The correct pref is <strong>browser.tabs.loadFolderAndReplace</strong> (no 's' on folder).

I had to add this pref. For aryayush's benefit, here's what to do. In about:config, right-click (control-click) anywhere in the preference list, then choose New > Boolean. Paste in <em>my</em> spelling of the preference and follow the prompts to choose false. A restart wasn't necessary for me.

Another preference, browser.tabs.loadGroup, also purports to do this and happens to be in my list. That's the one that I was always unsuccessful in getting to work.

pile0nades,

I don't see a need to take sides on what the default should be. I'm just happy I got this thing to work after messing around with it (periodically) for so long. There are a couple of other defaults I might be willing to battle about, though. :)

casey1992
 
Posts: 696
Joined: December 10th, 2003, 1:20 am

Post Posted October 29th, 2006, 2:36 am

aryayush wrote:Actually I wanted the word to be searched in Mac OS X's in-built system-wide dictionary.

Due to Firefox's cross-platform nature, I wouldn't hold out hopes for that feature being in the core browser. However, with better OS integration in Firefox 3, I could see the possibility of someone being able to come up with an extension to provide that access.

From what I understand, among other things, the developers are looking at <ul><li>OS X widgets (I'm not sure if that means the 'real' ones or imitations)</li><li>Keychain access (possibly coupled with the choice of still using Firefox's password system)</li><li>The ability to use stuff in the Services submenu</li></ul>

bmix
 
Posts: 37
Joined: November 19th, 2005, 3:59 pm
Location: Budapest/Hungary

Post Posted October 29th, 2006, 9:42 am

Instead of implementing a Widget system into FF it would be nice if Mozilla.org could evaluate the benefits about modularizing the services so, that other applications may benefit as well.

For one, there is the spell-checkers. As it seems now, Firefox, Thunderbird and OpenOffice use the same technique. I do much more spell-checking in an Office app than in an email app and I nefer Zpell-Chek ven writiik on the wep. Thus, my most powerful user.dict will be in the office-app. The way it is now I have to enter all exceptions in Thunderbird extra.

Now, that OpenOffice.org wants to bundle Thunderbird and make it their default mailapp, maybe the groups could agree on a spell-checking service ? So even more applications could use it, like text-editors.

Same for bookmarks. It would be nice to layer this out of the applications and have a generic bookmark-backend offering a nice API. So Mozilla would deliver a default backend and an APi, but other backends could be implemented (ie: LDAP).

A download-manager service, that is addressable from any other application due to a well documented and easy API. This could take over the downloads of all updates to Mozilla applications and extensions, the Firefox downloads as well as generic downloads.

And, instead of tying the widget system to a web browser (call that bloat, please), why not have it intependantly ? Hopefully this will come with XULRunner.
Andreas

Eygte450

User avatar
 
Posts: 179
Joined: July 20th, 2006, 12:52 pm

Post Posted October 29th, 2006, 1:47 pm

Couldn't agree more with 1, 2, 3, 4, 7 and 8

old zeniko
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted October 29th, 2006, 3:21 pm

aryayush wrote:1. Make a trash can similar to Opera on the right side of the tab bar. Navigating to 'History >> Recently Closed Tabs' is just a mouse movement and click too many.

Extension: Undo Closed Tabs Button.

aryayush wrote:3. New tabs should open next to the active one, not at the extreme right of the tab bar. At least give us an option to do so.

This request has been denied by the core devs (see bug 262459).

aryayush wrote:4. Add drag-and-drop functionality for moving tabs between two open Firefox windows. It is there at present too, but we can only copy a tab to another window (not move it) and it re-loads the page instead of just using the already open page.

Extension: Copy Dragged Tab

aryayush wrote:8. The most space efficient way to view the progress in detail while a page is being opened is to set the option to show the progress bar inside the address bar in Opera.

Extension: Fission

aryayush wrote:9. Choosing 'Open All in Tabs' from any folder in the Bookmarks list opens all the bookmarked items on top of the already open tabs.

Since the devs don't want to be unfair to Firefox's adversaries, they intentionally mis-implement certain UI details... ;) Additionally this forces you to either get an extension or get to know about:config, so that you're already one step closer to become a dev yourself... ;) Anyway, I'm sure there's a reason for this...

casey1992
 
Posts: 696
Joined: December 10th, 2003, 1:20 am

Post Posted October 29th, 2006, 6:04 pm

aryayush wrote:3. New tabs should open next to the active one, not at the extreme right of the tab bar. At least give us an option to do so.

I should have mentioned that if one prefers, <a href="https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/32/">FLST</a> does this, too. I believe this extension is a bit more comprehensive than <a href="https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/1956/">Tabs Open Relative</a> and can probably be toggled on and off within its preferences.

aryayush wrote:6. When you right click on an image and select 'Save Image As...', it opens the transfers windows and the image is downloaded again to the selected location. Why can't the browser just copy the cached image to the selected location in the background?

Everyone's glossed over this one so far, but I think Firefox already does this. I'm on dialup and I think I'd notice if a large image had to be downloaded twice. For me, saves are almost instant. I'm betting aryayush is simply being misled by the download manager popping up during the save process.

Looks like we're doing pretty will with aryayush's checklist:<ol><li><a href="https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/3082/">Undo Closed Tabs Button</a> :)</li><li>None :(</li><li><a href="https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/1956/">Tabs Open Relative</a>, <a href="https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/32/">FLST</a> :)</li><li><a href="http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=372494">Copy Dragged Tab</a> :)</li><li>about:config ... "browser.tabs.tabMinWidth" :)</li><li>I think this gets a smiley.</li><li><a href="https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/394/">View Source With</a> :)</li><li><a href="https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/1951/">Fission</a> :)</li><li>about:config ... ("browser.tabs.loadFolderAndReplace" :)</li><li>Nothing does exactly what aryayush asks for, but various extensions will provide the Opera dictionary functionality. :(</li></ol>
Last edited by casey1992 on October 29th, 2006, 6:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

casey1992
 
Posts: 696
Joined: December 10th, 2003, 1:20 am

Post Posted October 29th, 2006, 6:05 pm

zeniko wrote:Extension: Copy Dragged Tab

You mentioned that this code would fit into "one single onLoad statement". Is there something simple that I could just paste into <a href="https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/748/">Greasemonkey</a> that would do the same thing? Would it worked if I pasted the stuff between the script tags in copydraggedtab.xul into a Greasemonkey script?

I don't know beans about javascript, but I can copy and paste. :)

old zeniko
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted October 29th, 2006, 11:37 pm

@casey1992: Sure, just paste <a href="data:text/javascript,%2F*%20%3A%3A%3A%3A%3A%3A%3A%3A%20Drag'n'Duplicate%20%3A%3A%3A%3A%3A%3A%3A%3A%3A%3A%3A%3A%3A%3A%3A%20*%2F%0A%0AgBrowser.duplicateTab%20%3D%20function(aTab)%20%7B%0A%09var%20ss%20%3D%20Components.classes%5B%22%40mozilla.org%2Fbrowser%2Fsessionstore%3B1%22%5D.getService(Components.interfaces.nsISessionStore)%3B%0A%09var%20state%20%3D%20ss.getWindowState(aTab.ownerDocument.defaultView)%3B%0A%09state%20%3D%20eval(%22(%22%20%2B%20state%20%2B%20%22)%22)%3B%0A%09state.windows%5B0%5D.tabs%20%3D%20state.windows%5B0%5D.tabs.splice(aTab._tPos%2C%201)%3B%0A%09ss.setWindowState(window%2C%20state.toSource()%2C%20false)%3B%0A%09%0A%09return%20document.getAnonymousElementByAttribute(this%2C%20%22linkedpanel%22%2C%20this.mPanelContainer.lastChild.id)%3B%0A%7D%3B%0A%0AgBrowser.__preDnD_onDrop%20%3D%20gBrowser.onDrop%3B%0AgBrowser.onDrop%20%3D%20function(aEvent%2C%20aXferData%2C%20aDragSession)%20%7B%0A%09if%20(aDragSession.sourceNode%20%26%26%20aDragSession.sourceNode.localName%20%3D%3D%20%22tab%22)%0A%09%7B%0A%09%09var%20oldTab%20%3D%20aDragSession.sourceNode%3B%0A%09%09if%20(aEvent.ctrlKey)%0A%09%09%7B%0A%09%09%09var%20tab%20%3D%20this.duplicateTab(oldTab)%3B%0A%09%09%09if%20(oldTab.parentNode%20!%3D%20this.mTabContainer)%0A%09%09%09%7B%0A%09%09%09%09this.selectedTab%20%3D%20tab%3B%0A%09%09%09%7D%0A%09%09%09this.moveTabTo(tab%2C%20this.getNewIndex(aEvent))%3B%0A%09%09%09return%3B%0A%09%09%7D%0A%09%09if%20(oldTab.parentNode%20!%3D%20this.mTabContainer)%0A%09%09%7B%0A%09%09%09this.selectedTab%20%3D%20this.duplicateTab(oldTab)%3B%0A%09%09%09this.moveTabTo(this.selectedTab%2C%20this.getNewIndex(aEvent))%3B%0A%09%09%09oldTab.ownerDocument.defaultView.gBrowser.removeTab(oldTab)%3B%0A%09%09%09window.focus()%3B%0A%09%09%09return%3B%0A%09%09%7D%0A%09%7D%0A%09gBrowser.__preDnD_onDrop(aEvent%2C%20aXferData%2C%20aDragSession)%3B%0A%7D%3B%0A%0AgBrowser.__preDnD_onDragOver%20%3D%20gBrowser.onDragOver%3B%0AgBrowser.onDragOver%20%3D%20function(aEvent%2C%20aFlavour%2C%20aDragSession)%20%7B%0A%09if%20(aDragSession.sourceNode%20%26%26%20aDragSession.sourceNode.localName%20%3D%3D%20%22tab%22%20%26%26%20aDragSession.sourceNode.parentNode%20!%3D%20this.mTabContainer)%0A%09%7B%0A%09%09aDragSession%20%3D%20%7B%20canDrop%3A%20aDragSession.canDrop%2C%20sourceNode%3A%20this.selectedTab%20%7D%3B%0A%09%7D%0A%09this.__preDnD_onDragOver(aEvent%2C%20aFlavour%2C%20aDragSession)%3B%0A%7D%3B%0A">these lines</a> into your userChrome.js and you should have pretty complete tab drag&drop functionality (note that this code only works for Firefox 2 since it depends on the built-in session restore component).

vonslack
 
Posts: 22
Joined: April 5th, 2006, 9:28 pm

Post Posted October 30th, 2006, 9:15 am

I get 3. with Tab Mix Plus under 1.5.0.7 Is that gone in 2.0?

casey1992
 
Posts: 696
Joined: December 10th, 2003, 1:20 am

Post Posted October 30th, 2006, 9:34 am

Is there anything that would prevent me from using this script in Greasemonkey, or doesn't Greasemonkey 'do' chrome stuff? I'm thinking in terms on not having to add another extension if one I already have installed might do the trick.

Greasemonkey isn't reading the code at all. <a href="data:application/x-javascript,%2F%2F%20%3D%3DUserScript%3D%3D%0D%0A%2F%2F%20%40name%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20Drag'n'Duplicate%0D%0A%2F%2F%20%40namespace%20%20%20%20%20%20http%3A%2F%2Fwww.mozilla.org%2Fkeymaster%2Fgatekeeper%2Fthere.is.only.xul%0D%0A%2F%2F%20%40description%20%20%20%20Copy%20Dragged%20Tab%20to%20new%20window%0D%0A%2F%2F%20%40include%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20*%0D%0A%2F%2F%20%3D%3D%2FUserScript%3D%3D%0D%0A%0D%0AgBrowser.duplicateTab%20%3D%20function(aTab)%20%7B%0D%09var%20ss%20%3D%20Components.classes%5B%22%40mozilla.org%2Fbrowser%2Fsessionstore%3B1%22%5D.getService(Components.interfaces.nsISessionStore)%3B%0D%09var%20state%20%3D%20ss.getWindowState(aTab.ownerDocument.defaultView)%3B%0D%09state%20%3D%20eval(%22(%22%20%2B%20state%20%2B%20%22)%22)%3B%0D%09state.windows%5B0%5D.tabs%20%3D%20state.windows%5B0%5D.tabs.splice(aTab._tPos%2C%201)%3B%0D%09ss.setWindowState(window%2C%20state.toSource()%2C%20false)%3B%0D%09%0D%09return%20document.getAnonymousElementByAttribute(this%2C%20%22linkedpanel%22%2C%20this.mPanelContainer.lastChild.id)%3B%0D%7D%3B%0D%0DgBrowser.__preDnD_onDrop%20%3D%20gBrowser.onDrop%3B%0DgBrowser.onDrop%20%3D%20function(aEvent%2C%20aXferData%2C%20aDragSession)%20%7B%0D%09if%20(aDragSession.sourceNode%20%26%26%20aDragSession.sourceNode.localName%20%3D%3D%20%22tab%22)%0D%09%7B%0D%09%09var%20oldTab%20%3D%20aDragSession.sourceNode%3B%0D%09%09if%20(aEvent.ctrlKey)%0D%09%09%7B%0D%09%09%09var%20tab%20%3D%20this.duplicateTab(oldTab)%3B%0D%09%09%09if%20(oldTab.parentNode%20!%3D%20this.mTabContainer)%0D%09%09%09%7B%0D%09%09%09%09this.selectedTab%20%3D%20tab%3B%0D%09%09%09%7D%0D%09%09%09this.moveTabTo(tab%2C%20this.getNewIndex(aEvent))%3B%0D%09%09%09return%3B%0D%09%09%7D%0D%09%09if%20(oldTab.parentNode%20!%3D%20this.mTabContainer)%0D%09%09%7B%0D%09%09%09this.selectedTab%20%3D%20this.duplicateTab(oldTab)%3B%0D%09%09%09this.moveTabTo(this.selectedTab%2C%20this.getNewIndex(aEvent))%3B%0D%09%09%09oldTab.ownerDocument.defaultView.gBrowser.removeTab(oldTab)%3B%0D%09%09%09window.focus()%3B%0D%09%09%09return%3B%0D%09%09%7D%0D%09%7D%0D%09gBrowser.__preDnD_onDrop(aEvent%2C%20aXferData%2C%20aDragSession)%3B%0D%7D%3B%0D%0DgBrowser.__preDnD_onDragOver%20%3D%20gBrowser.onDragOver%3B%0DgBrowser.onDragOver%20%3D%20function(aEvent%2C%20aFlavour%2C%20aDragSession)%20%7B%0D%09if%20(aDragSession.sourceNode%20%26%26%20aDragSession.sourceNode.localName%20%3D%3D%20%22tab%22%20%26%26%20aDragSession.sourceNode.parentNode%20!%3D%20this.mTabContainer)%0D%09%7B%0D%09%09aDragSession%20%3D%20%7B%20canDrop%3A%20aDragSession.canDrop%2C%20sourceNode%3A%20this.selectedTab%20%7D%3B%0D%09%7D%0D%09this.__preDnD_onDragOver(aEvent%2C%20aFlavour%2C%20aDragSession)%3B%0D%7D%3B%0D%0D%0A%0D%0A">Here's what I've done</a>.

------------------------
EDIT:
I think one problem is that I'm not properly installing scripts into Greasemonkey. I'll look into that.

Return to Firefox Features


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests