Tb. When saving, store remote images locally

Talk about add-ons and extension development.
Post Reply
dave_is_sexy
Posts: 595
Joined: January 7th, 2005, 8:03 am

Tb. When saving, store remote images locally

Post by dave_is_sexy »

Yes I have made this point for years, and alas no one has written the thing yet. I'm sure I could do it no problem if I was in the know and not travelling the world, but that's not the situation right now.

It would just be so damn useful for saving newsletters and feeds from engadget.

c'mon smart guys


Edit: In this subject Google still only brings up me!

http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic ... 49c1568ff2
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic ... bd531eba65
NB: If this is solved in Tb 3 or newer, I'd still like a Tb 2 solution. Cheers.
dave_is_sexy
Posts: 595
Joined: January 7th, 2005, 8:03 am

Post by dave_is_sexy »

*bump bump bump*
NB: If this is solved in Tb 3 or newer, I'd still like a Tb 2 solution. Cheers.
einare
Posts: 159
Joined: October 22nd, 2006, 1:16 pm
Location: Iceland
Contact:

Post by einare »

Sounds like it could be useful. I'll look into it, might take a few days though. I'll post back here when I've done something.
Try my javascript card games, Hearts, Idiot and Crazy Eights
einare
Posts: 159
Joined: October 22nd, 2006, 1:16 pm
Location: Iceland
Contact:

Post by einare »

Hmm, I always meant to reply back to this thread when I had finished but totally forgot :) anyway, I did this quite some time ago, it's called Remote Image Cache and can be found at https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... tails/4846 .
Try my javascript card games, Hearts, Idiot and Crazy Eights
User avatar
netMASA
Posts: 617
Joined: July 26th, 2006, 3:21 pm
Location: On the internet
Contact:

Post by netMASA »

Check out ThunderBrowse, the browser for Thunderbird. Donate to ThunderBrowse!
dave_is_sexy
Posts: 595
Joined: January 7th, 2005, 8:03 am

Post by dave_is_sexy »

Hi Einare

Wow this is an oldie. Nice to hear back on this :)

I can't wait to try it out. Thanks for working on it!

Dave
NB: If this is solved in Tb 3 or newer, I'd still like a Tb 2 solution. Cheers.
einare
Posts: 159
Joined: October 22nd, 2006, 1:16 pm
Location: Iceland
Contact:

Post by einare »

Oops, yes, didn't mean to give a link to my internal developer page :)

The correct AMO url is: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/4846

and my own url if you don't feel like using the sandbox: http://tech.einaregilsson.com/download/remote_image_cache.xpi
Try my javascript card games, Hearts, Idiot and Crazy Eights
User avatar
Philip Chee
Posts: 6475
Joined: March 1st, 2005, 3:03 pm
Contact:

Post by Philip Chee »

I've ported it to SeaMonkey at http://xsidebar.mozdev.org/modifiedmisc.html#remoteimagecache

Here are some things I noticed:

Code: Select all

-overlay chrome://messenger/content/messenger.xul    chrome://remoteimagecache/content/overlay.xul
overlay chrome://messenger/content/mailWindowOverlay.xul    chrome://remoteimagecache/content/overlay.xul
You don't need to overlay messenger.xul if you are overlaying mailWindowOverlay.xul. This is probably why you are getting the event twice.

Code: Select all

-                for (var i in images) {
+                for (var i = 0; i < images.length; i++) {
The <code>for (var i in ...)</code> construct all ways returns one more image than exists, the last item being null. e.g. if there are 16 images, your code loops 17 times.

Code: Select all

-content ricfiles file:../../RemoteImageCache/
+content ricfiles file:../../chrome/RemoteImageCache/
....
         var folder = prop.get("ProfD", Ci.nsIFile);
 
+        folder.append("chrome");
         folder.append("RemoteImageCache");
         return folder;
I've moved the cache directory down into the %profile%/chrome/ No reason, just a personal preference. I've also changed all your permissions settings from "420" to "0644"

Phil
Last edited by Philip Chee on December 12th, 2007, 6:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
einare
Posts: 159
Joined: October 22nd, 2006, 1:16 pm
Location: Iceland
Contact:

Post by einare »

Thanks for porting to Seamonkey. I'll fix those things you mentioned if I ever get around to updating this extension :)
Try my javascript card games, Hearts, Idiot and Crazy Eights
Wang Xiao Ming
Posts: 25
Joined: May 22nd, 2009, 7:10 am

Re: Tb. When saving, store remote images locally

Post by Wang Xiao Ming »

Remote Images Cache addon is no longer compatible with Thunderbird 3.*

This addon is needed for the following:
1. Allows viewing emails as they were intended even though the images are no longer available on the server side.
2. Privacy: The remote server only gets to know that you read the email the time you allow showing remote content.
3. It is more efficient and faster to retrieve images from local storage than over the internet.

Thunderbird cache is just not enough because there is no control over it. An end user can't decide whether to keep or not images on cache nor decide for how long.

Could someone please make it compatible with TB3?. Can't move to TB3 without it.

The addon is still available at the developer's site. Download on the abandoned projects section.
Post Reply