MozillaZine


[Feature Request] "show image" command

Discussion of features in Mozilla Firefox
SANAFABICH

User avatar
 
Posts: 51
Joined: December 2nd, 2006, 4:19 am
Location: Nosgoth

Post Posted December 2nd, 2006, 4:38 am

Internet explorer has a very useful right-click command that I wish were in Firefox.
When for some reason a picture didn't load correctly or at all, you can right-click on it and select the "show image" command. In IE, this command reloads JUST the image, it doesn't take you to the image URL like firefox does when clicking on "see image". This is most useful in IE because sometimes you just want to reload some of the images that didn't load, but in Firefox the only thing you can currently do is right-click on the missing image and go to the image's URL, then you click on the back button in order to return to the webpage you were looking at, but the image is still missing.
So, I kindly request a right-click command that reloads just the desired image ON the webpage we're looking at.

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27856
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted December 2nd, 2006, 5:11 pm

How about the Show Image extension?

http://showimage.mozdev.org/ (0.4.2 version updated for Firefox 2)
https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/373/ (older 0.4.1)

SANAFABICH

User avatar
 
Posts: 51
Joined: December 2nd, 2006, 4:19 am
Location: Nosgoth

Post Posted December 2nd, 2006, 8:58 pm

I <3 James :D Thanks. Although a native solution would be better. Still, this willl do for now. Thanks!
Alas, poor Nupraptor, I knew him well... well... not really - Kain

SANAFABICH

User avatar
 
Posts: 51
Joined: December 2nd, 2006, 4:19 am
Location: Nosgoth

Post Posted December 3rd, 2006, 5:13 am

awwww there's still one problem with this add-on: the "show image" command is only available when the image failed to load completely. If the image is only half-loaded, then the "show image" command won't appear :(
Alas, poor Nupraptor, I knew him well... well... not really - Kain

SANAFABICH

User avatar
 
Posts: 51
Joined: December 2nd, 2006, 4:19 am
Location: Nosgoth

Post Posted December 4th, 2006, 6:28 pm

bump
Alas, poor Nupraptor, I knew him well... well... not really - Kain

SANAFABICH

User avatar
 
Posts: 51
Joined: December 2nd, 2006, 4:19 am
Location: Nosgoth

Post Posted December 10th, 2006, 4:48 am

bump!1

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53667
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted December 10th, 2006, 7:31 pm

There is a pref for the Show Image extension to add a 'Reload' item to the context menu.
In the url bar, type: about:config <enter>
Filter: extensions.showimage.display_reload_image_context_menu -> true (double click to toggle)

SANAFABICH

User avatar
 
Posts: 51
Joined: December 2nd, 2006, 4:19 am
Location: Nosgoth

Post Posted October 28th, 2007, 6:45 pm

I just realized you replied to my message. Thanks! will try that
Alas, poor Nupraptor, I knew him well... well... not really - Kain

Return to Firefox Features


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests