MozillaZine

Post the extensions you want compatible with SeaMonkey

Talk about add-ons and extension development.
vladmir
 
Posts: 315
Joined: October 18th, 2004, 9:47 am

Post Posted December 19th, 2006, 9:54 pm

Last edited by vladmir on December 24th, 2006, 12:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

h8uthemost
 
Posts: 128
Joined: October 17th, 2006, 10:18 pm

Post Posted December 20th, 2006, 12:24 am

Thank you DerBaer for the info on bookmarklets. And thank you BenoitRen for getting Form Filler up and running.

Thanks guys

Philip Chee

User avatar
 
Posts: 6475
Joined: March 1st, 2005, 3:03 pm

Post Posted December 20th, 2006, 1:25 am

h8uthemost wrote:I have been trying and try to get Download Statusbar and Linkification to work, but I just can't without some kind of guide. It's nothing like just bumping an out of date extension. It's a little complicated
The newer versions of Download Statusbar uses an interface in Firefox which isn't exposed to javascript in SeaMonkey. Somebody here reported that the old 0.8 version still works in SeaMonkey.

Phil

h8uthemost
 
Posts: 128
Joined: October 17th, 2006, 10:18 pm

Post Posted December 20th, 2006, 2:51 am

Cool, thank you for the info Philip. I just found 0.8, and installed it.

Thanks again

Philip Chee

User avatar
 
Posts: 6475
Joined: March 1st, 2005, 3:03 pm

Post Posted December 20th, 2006, 3:20 am

BenoitRen wrote:Form Filler - needed an install.js, a regular contents.rdf and a skin contents.rdf. Works fine, with one unimportant glitch: it creates an empty space on the right of the status bar, as if wanting to put an icon there, but there's no icon, and clicking on it doesn't do anything.
In formfiller.xul there is this:
Code: Select all
  <statusbar id="status-bar">
     <statusbarpanel id="formfillerDebugPanel">
        <label id="formfillerDebug" value=""/>
     </statusbarpanel>
  </statusbar>
but nothing in the .js files references this statusbar item. Looks like something left over from the authors development testing. It's probably safe to delete these lines.
BenoitRen wrote:
so in the install.rdf currently the min/max version is set to 0/0 for SM. Could you change this to 1.0/1.5 ?

Could you clarify where I have to change them? I see 0/0 for some IDs, but can't make out anything from them.
Valid GUIDs: https://addons.mozilla.org/faq.php
More information: http://developer.mozilla.org/en/docs/Install_Manifests#targetApplication
BenoitRen wrote:
Yeah, I've repackaged extensions into JARs too. Less messy. But eventually I bit the bullet and wrote: install-flat-template.js.

So that's what it's for!
Be warned, it's not very well tested unlike the standard install-template.js you and I are using.

Phil

Philip Chee

User avatar
 
Posts: 6475
Joined: March 1st, 2005, 3:03 pm

Post Posted December 20th, 2006, 4:14 am

therube wrote:Ditto for Named Anchors 0.3.
namedanchors-0.3.xpi
I have Named Anchors 0.2.1 installed and working. According to the change log at http://jpeters.no-ip.com/extensions/?page=fx_na, the only difference in v0.3 is the removal of Mozilla support and the addition of a bunch of languages I don't understand so I've never bothered to mod v0.3.

Phil

BenoitRen

User avatar
 
Posts: 5926
Joined: April 11th, 2004, 10:20 am
Location: Belgium

Post Posted December 20th, 2006, 1:47 pm

Fission installs fine in my SeaMonkey 1.1 but doesn't work even if xSidebar is installed. The adress bar disappears.

miniT Tabscroll installs fine but doesn't work.

Thanks for testing them. Hadn't tested miniT Tabscroll yet because I don't have a scroll wheel on this PC's mouse.
Aardvark 2.0 will no longer work as its. No install.js ...

We have lost another one... There's no older version anywhere either! It has been completely rewritten, so I can only hope it doesn't use Firefox-specific functions.
It's probably safe to delete these lines.

Done. I've also updated every install.rdf for SeaMonkey 1.5 where I could understand how to format it.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17733
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted December 20th, 2006, 3:09 pm

Aardvark ... There's no older version anywhere either!

I've got a couple versions I can upload if someone cares to host it.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

ireneshusband
 
Posts: 1
Joined: January 10th, 2004, 1:35 pm

Post Posted December 20th, 2006, 3:10 pm

Any chance of getting Performancing working with SeaMonkey?

This is a particularly important extension for Linux/*BSD users who blog because there are no full-featured blog clients for X11. For instance it is only in Performancing that I can keep multiple drafts on the go at the same time, which is essential for anyone who has more than one blog.

At the moment I have to use Firefox to blog, even though I use SeaMonkey for everything else.

The following threads at http://performancing.com address SeaMonkey support:
http://performancing.com/node/2110
http://performancing.com/node/1355

DaComboMan

User avatar
 
Posts: 351
Joined: May 14th, 2006, 6:28 pm
Location: Arkansas

Post Posted December 20th, 2006, 5:41 pm

Infolister
https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/447/

Bookmark Duplicate Detector
https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/1553/

Foxmarks Bookmark Synchronizer
https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/2410/
-Todd wrote to me saying there would be no problem if anyone would like to tackle the job.

Thanks guys!

-Daniel

-BTW, can we make Theme requests too?!

Philip Chee

User avatar
 
Posts: 6475
Joined: March 1st, 2005, 3:03 pm

Post Posted December 20th, 2006, 6:06 pm

DaComboMan wrote:Infolister
https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/447/

-BTW, can we make Theme requests too?!
Infolister gets it's information from the tookit Extension/Addons manager. I have Infolister working in SuiteRunner 1.5a:
Image
But until the toolkit version of SeaMonkey is released, Infolister will not work in SeaMonkey.

Themes are a whole different matter. You would be more likely to get an answer in the Themes forum.

Phil

BenoitRen

User avatar
 
Posts: 5926
Joined: April 11th, 2004, 10:20 am
Location: Belgium

Post Posted December 20th, 2006, 6:37 pm

Damn, my reply didn't show up here! Oh well, it missed some information anyway.

Customize Google - the usual. install.js + contents.rdf modification. The locale directory structure was weird in this extension, though. I had to edit the core install code to make it work. There's no UI for accessing the settings, though, so you'll have to type/paste chrome://customizegoogle/content/options.xul in the location bar.

Warning: If you do on your only window with only one tab, it will close your window when you click on OK or Cancel, and hence close SeaMonkey.

Note: I've noticed that ever since installing this extension, SeaMonkey crashes after closing it. There must be some syntax error.

Already haxx0red. It was the second extension I ever converted. See my extensions list. ;)

DaComboMan

User avatar
 
Posts: 351
Joined: May 14th, 2006, 6:28 pm
Location: Arkansas

Post Posted December 20th, 2006, 7:28 pm

Philip Chee wrote:
DaComboMan wrote:Infolister
https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/447/

-BTW, can we make Theme requests too?!
Infolister gets it's information from the tookit Extension/Addons manager. I have Infolister working in SuiteRunner 1.5a:
Image
But until the toolkit version of SeaMonkey is released, Infolister will not work in SeaMonkey.

Themes are a whole different matter. You would be more likely to get an answer in the Themes forum.

Phil


Thanks Phil.
Just have to be a bit more patient.

It would be better if you some of the "big brass" would start the thread for Theme update requests. Not from some little unknown like myself.

Philip Chee

User avatar
 
Posts: 6475
Joined: March 1st, 2005, 3:03 pm

Post Posted December 20th, 2006, 10:57 pm

BenoitRen wrote:There's no UI for accessing the settings, though, so you'll have to type/paste chrome://customizegoogle/content/options.xul in the location bar.
In the content/contents.rdf file you have added attribute in the form of
Code: Select all
chrome:settingsURL="chrome://customizegoogle/content/prefs.xul"
and xSidebar will pick this up and display a menu option to open the customizegoogle settings. Open the xsidebar sidebar and click on the gear (settings) icon. In addition to xSidebar's own settings, other extensions that have this attribute in their contents.rdf will appear in the dropdown.

Also in customizegoogle's browser.xul overlay there is this:
Code: Select all
<menupopup id="menu_ToolsPopup">
   <menuitem id="customizegoogle-options" insertafter="devToolsSeparator" accesskey="&cgtoolsOptions.accesskey;" label="&cgtoolsOptions.title;" oncommand="cg_openprefs();"/>
</menupopup>
For SeaMonkey the menupopup id should be "taskPopup" so here you can do this:
Code: Select all
<menupopup id="taskPopup">
   <menuitem id="customizegoogle-options"
   insertafter="devToolsSeparator"
   accesskey="&cgtoolsOptions.accesskey;"
   label="&cgtoolsOptions.title;"
   oncommand="cg_openprefs();"/>
</menupopup>
But a better way which maintains Firefox compatibility is:
Code: Select all
<menupopup id="menu_ToolsPopup">
   <menuitem id="customizegoogle-options">
</menupopup>

<menupopup id="taskPopup">
   <menuitem id="customizegoogle-options">
</menupopup>

<menuitem id="customizegoogle-options"
   insertafter="devToolsSeparator"
   accesskey="&cgtoolsOptions.accesskey;"
   label="&cgtoolsOptions.title;"
   oncommand="cg_openprefs();"/>

Phil

Philip Chee

User avatar
 
Posts: 6475
Joined: March 1st, 2005, 3:03 pm

Post Posted December 20th, 2006, 11:00 pm

DaComboMan wrote:It would be better if you some of the "big brass" would start the thread for Theme update requests. Not from some little unknown like myself.
In the greater scheme of things (which includes the Themes forum) we are both small unknown brine-shrimps. :)

Phil

Return to Extension Development


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests