MozillaZine

Troubles getting updates to take (Minefield)

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
ffextensionguru

User avatar
 
Posts: 518
Joined: May 11th, 2005, 9:08 pm
Location: Gilbert, Arizona

Post Posted December 30th, 2006, 11:42 pm

After about four or so attempts I was finally able to update from the 122406 build to this build:

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9a2pre) Gecko/20061230 Minefield/3.0a2pre ID:2006123004 [cairo]

However I kept getting invalid memory reference errors every time I exited Minefield and when it tried to apply the update. I am actually surprised I was able to get the Nightly on that last attempt. I looked through Knowledge Base but couldn't really find anything in regards to the updates not taking. Suggestions?

ffextensionguru

User avatar
 
Posts: 518
Joined: May 11th, 2005, 9:08 pm
Location: Gilbert, Arizona

Post Posted December 30th, 2006, 11:51 pm

Now of course when I want it to give me that error message so I can get a screen shot, it won't produce it. If I run into troubles again, I'll be sure to get a screen shot.
_________________
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9a2pre) Gecko/20061230 Minefield/3.0a2pre ID:2006123004 [cairo]

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 44159
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted December 31st, 2006, 12:53 am

Sounds like your profile may be heading out the door. Welcome to the nightly tester fun :D
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

ffextensionguru

User avatar
 
Posts: 518
Joined: May 11th, 2005, 9:08 pm
Location: Gilbert, Arizona

Post Posted December 31st, 2006, 10:19 am

malliz wrote:Sounds like your profile may be heading out the door. Welcome to the nightly tester fun :D

Well, I am not very attached to that profile so I can easily create a new one.

ETA: just updated to:
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9a2pre) Gecko/20061231 Minefield/3.0a2pre ID:2006123104 [cairo] with no problems. As usual, complaining enough about the problem fixed it. :P

ffextensionguru

User avatar
 
Posts: 518
Joined: May 11th, 2005, 9:08 pm
Location: Gilbert, Arizona

Post Posted December 31st, 2006, 10:29 am

Spoke too soon, as I exited Minefield I was greeted by this error:

Image

Old DAC324
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted January 3rd, 2007, 8:48 am

Do you have the Talkback extension installed and enabled? I get a similar error sometimes when I update with Talkback enabled. Try disabling the Talkback extension.

ffextensionguru

User avatar
 
Posts: 518
Joined: May 11th, 2005, 9:08 pm
Location: Gilbert, Arizona

Post Posted January 8th, 2007, 3:34 pm

DAC324 wrote:Do you have the Talkback extension installed and enabled? I get a similar error sometimes when I update with Talkback enabled. Try disabling the Talkback extension.


I'll have to check on that next time I go into Minefield

oldtimer
 
Posts: 827
Joined: July 9th, 2004, 1:48 pm

Post Posted January 8th, 2007, 9:39 pm

This might be a long shot but I think a solution used on a older seemingly no-fix problem will work here.

Read this comment and everything below it to get a full understanding. Then, this comment to summarize it all. Using that findold tool is something I think might fix this whole thing... Basically does it show anything?

I know this is being pegged as Talkback related but it'd be nice to know if this remedies it. [-o<
Current: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9b2pre) Gecko/2007112000 Minefield/3.0b2pre
For kicks: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.0.6) Gecko/20060728 Firefox/1.5.0.6

ffextensionguru

User avatar
 
Posts: 518
Joined: May 11th, 2005, 9:08 pm
Location: Gilbert, Arizona

Post Posted January 9th, 2007, 2:04 pm

Disabling talkback seemed to have fixed the problem. Findold didn't find anything.

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests