MozillaZine

SSL problem with Firefox/2.0.0.2 on W9x systems

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
PhilMarkey
 
Posts: 23
Joined: February 26th, 2007, 9:58 am
Location: UNITED KINGDOM

Post Posted February 26th, 2007, 10:13 am

I've never had any problems with Firefox before. But I got the automatic update the other day and straight away I noticed that I could no longer access any site that requires a Secure Socket Layer SSL encryption. I can still browse the web.

Now whenever I open the browser I get this start-up message:
<b>"Could not initialize the browser's security. The most likely cause is problems with files in your browser's profile directory. please check that this directory has no read/write restrictions and your hard disk is not full or close to full. it is recommended that you exit the browser and fix the problem. If you continue to use this browser session, you might see incorrect browser behavior when accessing security features."</b>
And I get an error message every time I try to access a SSL page.

I've tried uninstalling the browser and re-installing again to no avail. Also, the automatic update is also none functional I think. It displays this message:
<b>"There were problems checking for, downloading or installing this update. Firefox could not be updated because:

AUS: Update XML File Malformed (200)"</b>

The problem is not my firewall. Or at least it's not for browsing. It may have effected the download at that time.

If anyone can point me in the right direction with this I would be most appreciative. I've wasted a whole work day messing with this.

Thanks!

[edit]added "W9x" to the subject. trolly (moderator)[/edit]

[edit]
This is the link to the reported bug:
<a href="https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=372478">Bug 372478 – Latest security updates break SSL on W9x systems</a> (Phil)
[/edit]
Last edited by PhilMarkey on March 13th, 2007, 2:48 am, edited 2 times in total.
I'm the owner of the <a href="http://www.trebrown.com">Trebrown Nurseries</a>' dynamic HTML website http://www.trebrown.com with the drag and drop e-commerce functions and other unique functions. I sell rare palm seeds worldwide.

trolly
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39905
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post Posted February 26th, 2007, 10:30 am

Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.

PhilMarkey
 
Posts: 23
Joined: February 26th, 2007, 9:58 am
Location: UNITED KINGDOM

Post Posted February 26th, 2007, 1:18 pm

Yes, well the only thing on that list that might work is "Delete the cert8.db file in your profile folder and try again." But I've installed an earlier browser now and got it working again.
I'm suprised that nobody else has noticed this bug.

Phil
I'm the owner of the <a href="http://www.trebrown.com">Trebrown Nurseries</a>' dynamic HTML website http://www.trebrown.com with the drag and drop e-commerce functions and other unique functions. I sell rare palm seeds worldwide.

Andreas_dk
 
Posts: 22
Joined: June 16th, 2004, 11:28 am

Post Posted February 26th, 2007, 1:24 pm

Well thats because it doesn't happen to everybody. SSL works fine for me and for most users running the new version. If SSL had truly been crippled in the new release the forum would have been flooded with threads about it.

trolly
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39905
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post Posted February 26th, 2007, 1:33 pm

The other chance is that your firewall blocks only the internal connection of the new firefox. You can try to remove firefox from your firewall and try again.
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.

PhilMarkey
 
Posts: 23
Joined: February 26th, 2007, 9:58 am
Location: UNITED KINGDOM

Post Posted February 26th, 2007, 2:31 pm

Tried it!
I'm the owner of the <a href="http://www.trebrown.com">Trebrown Nurseries</a>' dynamic HTML website http://www.trebrown.com with the drag and drop e-commerce functions and other unique functions. I sell rare palm seeds worldwide.

trolly
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39905
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post Posted February 26th, 2007, 2:32 pm

Result?
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.

PhilMarkey
 
Posts: 23
Joined: February 26th, 2007, 9:58 am
Location: UNITED KINGDOM

Post Posted February 26th, 2007, 2:45 pm

No! Obviously that was one of the first things I tried. I wouldn't have posted the message if it had been that easy to cure.
I'm the owner of the <a href="http://www.trebrown.com">Trebrown Nurseries</a>' dynamic HTML website http://www.trebrown.com with the drag and drop e-commerce functions and other unique functions. I sell rare palm seeds worldwide.

PhilMarkey
 
Posts: 23
Joined: February 26th, 2007, 9:58 am
Location: UNITED KINGDOM

Post Posted February 26th, 2007, 3:03 pm

I think you need to understand that I spent all day working on this problem. I've tried several installs both with the firewall operating and without. I've installed with all other programs shut down. And I've also completly removed the previous install, shut down and re-started before trying the next install. I know it is a fault in the new build. I've also downloaded the executable several times so it's not just the one download. I've now installed an earlier version, and all is working fine again. The probelm is most definately in the new build. So why is nobody else suffering this?

Phil
I'm the owner of the <a href="http://www.trebrown.com">Trebrown Nurseries</a>' dynamic HTML website http://www.trebrown.com with the drag and drop e-commerce functions and other unique functions. I sell rare palm seeds worldwide.

Old madperson
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted February 26th, 2007, 3:08 pm

have you already tried creating a new profile?

PhilMarkey
 
Posts: 23
Joined: February 26th, 2007, 9:58 am
Location: UNITED KINGDOM

Post Posted February 26th, 2007, 3:11 pm

No not tried that! But how would that help?
I'm the owner of the <a href="http://www.trebrown.com">Trebrown Nurseries</a>' dynamic HTML website http://www.trebrown.com with the drag and drop e-commerce functions and other unique functions. I sell rare palm seeds worldwide.

a;skdjfajf;ak

User avatar
 
Posts: 17002
Joined: July 10th, 2004, 8:44 am

Post Posted February 26th, 2007, 3:14 pm

@PhilMarkey
We have all seen strange things creep into Profiles that defy explaination, and issues that are only fixed with a new profile, no matter how much you try to troubleshoot the broken one.

It only takes a minute to create a new profile and test your SSL connections. If that works, then there are instructions available to assist you in migrating your settings over into the new one.

You don't have to touch the old profile just yet, leave it there... it won't bother anything.

trolly
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39905
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post Posted February 26th, 2007, 3:15 pm

If some setting (or extension) has screwed up a new profile will create a new fresh start point.
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.

PhilMarkey
 
Posts: 23
Joined: February 26th, 2007, 9:58 am
Location: UNITED KINGDOM

Post Posted February 26th, 2007, 3:24 pm

Well I guess installing the earlier version created a new profile from the newer version's one. So I have a new profile. I don't want to try the new version again just now that I have a version that works. But when I have time to try the latest build again, and if it has the same problem I will try creating a new profile. Likewise I will try deleting the cert8.db file and install again. But for now, if it ain't broken don't fix it!

Thanks!
Phil
I'm the owner of the <a href="http://www.trebrown.com">Trebrown Nurseries</a>' dynamic HTML website http://www.trebrown.com with the drag and drop e-commerce functions and other unique functions. I sell rare palm seeds worldwide.

Macgyver139
Guest
 

Post Posted February 27th, 2007, 7:48 pm

Same issue that started at the same time.

I tried a new profile and no luck. I will try the cert file.

Any other ideas?

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests