MozillaZine

keyconfig 20110522

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
grool
 
Posts: 27
Joined: September 12th, 2006, 9:31 am

Post Posted March 11th, 2007, 8:58 pm

I've recently (finally) updated from Firefox 1.5.0.10 to 2.0.0.2 as a clean install and found that the new keyconfig 20060828 wouldn't work anymore for three setups. I'm using codes found in the Mozillazine Knowledge Base Article found here - http://kb.mozillazine.org/Keyconfig_extension:_Firefox

1. Close Tab, focus Left — set as CTRL+[

Code:
user_pref("keyconfig.main.xxx_key__Close Tab & Focus to the left", "!][][][var tab = gBrowser.mCurrentTab; if(tab.previousSibling) gBrowser.mTabContainer.selectedIndex--; gBrowser.removeTab(tab);");

2. Close Tab, focus Right — set as CTRL+]

Code:
user_pref("keyconfig.main.xxx_key__Close Tab & Focus to the right", "!][][][var tab = gBrowser.mCurrentTab; if(tab.nextSibling) gBrowser.mTabContainer.selectedIndex++; gBrowser.removeTab(tab);");

And

3. Close Tab — simply reassigned key as "`"

If there are overlap keystrokes with FF defaults, I don't know which ones. And I've also noticed that when I copy the codes from the Mozillazine webpage into keyconfig sometimes the pasted text gets truncated, like it only paste half of what I highlighted, wherein I have to copy the other half again. Please help me.

Thanks.
____________________________________________________

<b><u>UPDATED</u></b>

I reinstalled my old FF 1.5.0.10, put back my old profile and looked into the old setup. The code provided by the MozillaZine keyconfig article was somehow different at the beginning part. It should be just this:

1. Close Tab, focus Left — set as CTRL+[

<u>Code:</u>
var tab = gBrowser.mCurrentTab; if(tab.previousSibling) gBrowser.mTabContainer.selectedIndex--; gBrowser.removeTab(tab);

2. Close Tab, focus Right — set as CTRL+]

<u>Code:</u>
var tab = gBrowser.mCurrentTab; if(tab.nextSibling) gBrowser.mTabContainer.selectedIndex++; gBrowser.removeTab(tab);

3. Close Tab — simple reassignment to "`"

The third one turns out that I forgot to click "Apply".


That's it. My bad.

pmorch
 
Posts: 2
Joined: September 11th, 2003, 3:33 pm

Post Posted March 14th, 2007, 3:19 am

May I humbly request that this extension be easier to find?

When hitting "Get Extensions" from Firefox's Add-Ons page, I get to
https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/extensions/
but here the keyconfig extension isn't to be found at all. A "Functions for keyconfig" extension is mentioned and has a link to http://www.extensionsmirror.nl/index.php?showtopic=254 in one of the comments but this times out.

http://extensionroom.mozdev.org/more-info/keyconfig (found by google) has only version
20050313 - which doesn't support Firefox 2.0.*

Finally, I found http://mozilla.dorando.at/ with a good version of keyconfig. I love this extension and have used it on other installations, and always find it difficult to find. And that is such a shame!!! At least now I know I can always find this post! :D

(Or is there a particular reason for not wanting to update https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/extensions/ ?)

dorando
 
Posts: 1203
Joined: January 9th, 2004, 9:57 am

Post Posted March 17th, 2007, 12:38 pm

A few of the reasons had been posted to the undoclosetab thread, and so far not enough has changed to reevaluate the situation, considering the still missing <a href="https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=371210" title="Check add-ons for security vulnerabilities at submission">security auditing</a> (search the addons.mozilla.org component for execute or JSON for some examples). Sadly there are even <a href="https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=369417" title="[broken add-on] onFocusReload (3655)">indications</a> that some extensions are not tested at all.

chirpy_7
 
Posts: 165
Joined: March 19th, 2007, 6:24 am

Post Posted March 19th, 2007, 6:45 am

dorando wrote:
Jim001 wrote:Is there any way to disable keyboard shortcuts?
Yes, by clicking the 'Disable' button.

Jim001 wrote:For example [...] apostrophe (') [...]
This shortcut is not defined by a <key> but by an event handler. Those shortcuts cannot be modified with keyconfig.

Jim001 wrote:Anyway, Dorando's extension doesn't work for the latest version, [...]
Uhm, <a href="http://mozilla.dorando.at/keyconfig.xpi">keyconfig</a> does work with the latest version...


Hi!

Cuz I have a German keyboard, both the apostrophe ' and the fwd slash / are only accessible via a {shift + '} or {shift + /} combination.

This is quite regrettable as I really like the "quickfind" feature which is connected to these two keys in Firefox, and they become less quick / less intuitive / less direct if I can't get the quickfind with a single stroke.

I've been googling around and found nothing intrinsically helpful.

Got both Keyconfig and Functions for Keyconfig installed. I've managed to do some minor adaptions, but now I'm not even sure if what I want is "possible".

If, as you say, the apostrophe is an "event handler" and hence cannot be modified via Keyconfig, how, if at all, can I change it, say, to the hash # ?

Any help: much appreciated!!!!!!!!!

chirp.

dorando
 
Posts: 1203
Joined: January 9th, 2004, 9:57 am

Post Posted March 20th, 2007, 11:36 am

Add a new key with following code
Code: Select all
gFindBar.openFindBar(true);
gFindBar.setFindMode(FIND_TYPEAHEAD);
gFindBar.selectFindBar();
gFindBar.focusFindBar();
and assign a shortcut to it.

chirpy_7
 
Posts: 165
Joined: March 19th, 2007, 6:24 am

Post Posted March 21st, 2007, 5:06 am

dorando wrote:Add a new key with following code
Code: Select all
gFindBar.openFindBar(true);
gFindBar.setFindMode(FIND_TYPEAHEAD);
gFindBar.selectFindBar();
gFindBar.focusFindBar();
and assign a shortcut to it.
Well,

I meant quickfind, not the general find, vide supra. To which does your code apply?

Moreover, the SEARCHHOTKEYS extension is an excellent solution.

chirp.

dorando
 
Posts: 1203
Joined: January 9th, 2004, 9:57 am

Post Posted March 22nd, 2007, 2:15 am

chirpy_7 wrote:I meant quickfind, not the general find, vide supra. To which does your code apply?
Quick Find uses the same code as the standard Find, it just sets the the UI to Minimal (the 'true' in the first line) and sets the mode to FIND_TYPEAHEAD (Apostrophe uses FIND_LINKS).

reevuur
 
Posts: 362
Joined: September 13th, 2004, 2:02 pm

Post Posted March 22nd, 2007, 10:45 am

I upgraded my FF to 2.0.3 and Keyconfig is disabled again.

What can I do to reactivate keyconfig and let it work with FF 2.0.3?

Thanks in advance.

dorando
 
Posts: 1203
Joined: January 9th, 2004, 9:57 am

Post Posted March 23rd, 2007, 4:59 am

Compatibility information for Firefox 2.0.0.3 had already been updated, you likely need to 'Find Updates' from the 'Add-ons' manager. You can avoid this by adding a boolean extensions.checkCompatibility to about:config.

reevuur
 
Posts: 362
Joined: September 13th, 2004, 2:02 pm

Post Posted March 23rd, 2007, 5:49 am

thank you dorando.
Find updates from the Add-ons manager did not give any new update.
I downloaded the keyconfig.xpi again and installed it again.
Now everything works fine.

Thank you again for your great extension and fantastic support!!!

DynaBMan

User avatar
 
Posts: 383
Joined: November 15th, 2003, 9:46 pm
Location: Oklahoma

Post Posted April 7th, 2007, 6:13 am

I have a key set up to show the calendar in Thunderbird. I just hit "C" and the calendar shows up. I would like to have a keyboard shortcut to close the calendar and go back to what was open before the calendar. Is this possible?
LJ
My best friend is my wife!!
Political Realities

dorando
 
Posts: 1203
Joined: January 9th, 2004, 9:57 am

Post Posted April 8th, 2007, 4:54 am

Assuming openLightningKey from Lightning 0.3.1 following toggle seems to work:
Code: Select all
if(gMsgFolderSelected || !gPrevSelectedFolder) {
 gPrevSelectedFolder = gMsgFolderSelected;
 keyconfig.focusedElement = document.commandDispatcher.focusedElement;
 ltnMinimonthPick(document.getElementById('ltnMinimonth'))
} else {
 SelectFolder(gPrevSelectedFolder.Value);
 if(keyconfig.focusedElement)
  keyconfig.focusedElement.focus();
 else if(!IsMessagePaneCollapsed())
  window.setTimeout(SetFocusMessagePane,0);
}

DynaBMan

User avatar
 
Posts: 383
Joined: November 15th, 2003, 9:46 pm
Location: Oklahoma

Post Posted April 8th, 2007, 5:13 am

Thanks, dorando. That even works on Lightning 0.5pre. I appreciate the help.
LJ
My best friend is my wife!!
Political Realities

Toran
 
Posts: 5
Joined: January 22nd, 2006, 9:52 pm

Post Posted April 14th, 2007, 10:04 am

Hey guys!

Is there a way to set up a keyconfig command to set a shortcut that will cycle my cursor focus through all the text input boxes on a page? (this is something I would absolutely love. I would never have to use my mouse to browse again.)

dorando
 
Posts: 1203
Joined: January 9th, 2004, 9:57 am

Post Posted April 15th, 2007, 5:43 am

Answered in the other thread.
Support mozilla.dorando.at through donations/contributions.

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest